Chicago Marathon Training: Week 5

Screen Shot 2016-07-11 at 9.47.42 PM

Week 5 of training is in the books. There was some good, some great, some bad, and some ugly! A well-rounded week of training 🙂 Here are all the details!

Screen Shot 2016-07-25 at 3.09.26 PM

The black is what I had planned, the purple is what I actually did.

  • Monday: Rest + Yoga. Gotta love Mondays!
  • Tuesday: Speedwork – 3 x 1600 (6:44, 6:42, 6:44)  I was on top of the world after this amazing track workout. This was my happy (and very sweaty) face after running my fastest 3 x 1 mile workout ever! I was pretty tight and sore to start even despite my rest day and yoga the previous day, so I extended my warmup a bit and ran 1.5 miles rather than just 1. This really helped loosen me up and I felt much better afterwards. I ran mile splits of 6:44, 6:42, 6:44 with half mile recovery between each plus a half mile cooldown at the end. Excuse my language but WTF, I have no idea how I’m pulling these paces out lately but it’s happening! My fastest mile splits to date, and even at 6:00 PM during the brutal heat and humidity of summertime. As always, I was so thankful for the ladies in my Moms Run This Town group, for their endless cheers and encouragement on our Track Tuesdays!

13690846_1726757034252879_8765868273024488239_n

  • Wednesday: Easy Run (with double stroller) – 3 miles @ 9:04 + Upper Fix. The stroller brigade took over the town today! I love running with these strong ladies, seeing them all push so much weight and having fun with their kiddos! I ran 3 easy miles with my friend who I haven’t been able to run with in a while. We were both pregnant at the same time so it was fun to get our little ones together to play again too. I am loving my Wednesday morning stroller runs with these ladies.

13776024_1727105787551337_230623012261612115_n

  • Thursday: Tempo Run – 1 easy, 3 @ 7:35, 2 easy. On this day I had a tempo run on the schedule. I was hoping to repeat the workout I did a few weeks ago: 1 mile easy, 5 @ tempo, 1 easy. I was feeling motivated and ready to take on the challenge. However, my body had other plans. By the time I dropped the kids off at daycare and got outside it was a little past 8 AM. The temperatures and humidity were supposedly lower than earlier that week, but it didn’t feel like it to me and I struggled. I chose a flat route over shade and there wasn’t a single cloud in the sky. I hung on to my tempo pace for 3 miles and then made the decision to stop there rather than go for 5 tempo miles. My heart rate was just getting too high, I was overheating, and it felt like too much stress on my body. I finished by running 2 easy miles, and I couldn’t help feeling a little angry. Most of my days lately are okay, some are even good. But I still have times where I fall back into anger. I kept thinking about this time last year, when I had the freedom to go out before sunrise to knock out my hard workouts. It was so much easier and I felt a lot stronger when I was able to get my runs done early in the morning. This year I don’t have that as a single mom and it bothers me, because it feels like yet another sacrifice I am making when running is the only thing I do for myself. After letting myself be angry for a few minutes I decided I needed to get over it and be proud of the 3 tempo miles I did run. I saw a turtle on the side of the road which made me happy (LOL) then I finished by walking down to the river to sit and relax. Pity party over. I know I’ll get it next time.

13723978_1728150967446819_6637214188204441363_o

  • Friday: Easy Run – 2 miles (with double stroller) @ 9:25 + Lower Fix. On Friday I went to a local park with my boys to do some exploring and a little run. We walked (and little Kevin helped push the stroller) 1.5 miles around a little trail on an island, looking at the plants and the animals and the water. Afterwards I finally convinced Kevin to get back in the stroller so that I could run 2 easy miles. We went home after a few threenager meltdowns and one epic wrestling match to get him into the carseat (is this stage over yet?!) and it was a fight to get him to take a nap. Once both boys were asleep I did Lower Fix for some strength training, showered, and took a nap too! Whew! It was quite a day.

13767288_1728150974113485_5597178373107723713_o

  • Saturday: Easy Run – 3 miles (with double stroller) @ 9:32. Both boys were up before 6:00 AM. I knew it was going to be a hot day with a heat advisory, so after breakfast we went outside for a run and some playground time before the heat got to be too much. I did 3 easy miles with the stroller on a local running path, and was able to read motivational messages that our Moms Run This Town chapter leader wrote along the way for those of us who were running today. She wrote 10 miles worth of messages, which I thought was so amazing! Little Kev was begging to get out and run so I let him out for the last half mile before we walked over to the playground. We also ran into some friends who were finishing their 11 miles. I was glad we got out when we did because the rest of the day had a heat index of over 100 degrees!

13708156_1728151004113482_163572246907762408_o

  • Sunday: Long Run – 15 miles @ 9:00. Ouch! This one hurt a bit for a few reasons! I met some friends for my long run at 6 AM. It was humid and warm from the start and we were dripping with sweat within a few minutes. My friend Andria and I ran the length of the Fredericksburg Battlefield (9 miles) and then went down to another nearby trail for a few more. Right before mile 11 I got stung by something that felt like it hit me at 100 mph. I finished the run with my left side very tingly and swollen. I took a picture of it right after (as you can see below) but it continued to swell and got MUCH bigger than that later on. My hand did too, and I had to move my watch to the other arm. I wasn’t exactly sure what that meant because I haven’t been stung by anything in like 20 years. I like to think I have a pretty high pain tolerance (hello, 10 marathons and two drug-free births!) but this stupid sting hurt like hell! I couldn’t believe it! I took some Benadryl when I went home and eventually the swelling went down, but I think there might be part of a stinger left in there still because even today (Monday) it’s turned into a huge welt and really itchy. On a positive note, I ran all 15 miles with only Tailwind for the first time and I loved it! I used a raspberry caffeinated sample that I got from a friend and felt entirely fueled and hydrated the entire time. I did bring my chews with me but didn’t need them at all. I just ordered the sample pack of the other flavors to try (including non-caffeinated) before I buy a bigger bag of one of them. My time for this run did include some walking breaks, but I stopped my watch a couple times to deal with the sting/swelling. I am proud of myself for getting my miles in however I could despite the tough conditions! At the end I looked like I had been swimming in a pool. As you can see in the bottom left picture, I was soaked. Yuck. A shower and cold post-run smoothie never felt so good!

13737522_1728597824068800_5186029598683734820_o

Week 5 Totals

  • Run: 35 miles (8 miles w/ double stroller)
  • Strength Training/Cross Training: Upper Fix, Lower Fix, Yoga, lots of stretching and foam rolling. Woo hoo!

My successes this week were that I really got my nutrition in check. For a while I didn’t have the energy or motivation to eat much at all, let alone eat well. I would just pick off the kids plates and eat what they didn’t finish, or just eat something quick and easy. This week I got back to my meal planning/prep and it felt so good. Here’s a sneak peek of some of the delicious food I made, but I will be writing a separate food post soon with all the yummy recipes!

Screen Shot 2016-07-25 at 9.58.23 PM

My challenges this week were definitely the weather. The heat and humidity were so unbelievable at times. Summer running is tricky because it can be hard to see yourself progressing under such difficult conditions. I just have to trust and believe that this summer training is doing it’s job to make me stronger and that it will all pay off this fall! My goals for the upcoming week are to continue to do the best I can despite this crazy heat wave that is hitting most of the country.

My thought of the week. This could not be more true. I’m so thankful for running and how it helps to balance all the other things happening in my life. It definitely helps me remember what it feels like to be”me” in a time when everything else is unknown and changing.

13100830_10153456966736987_6891396008180324149_n

Ready for week 6! This is going by so fast!

Previous Chicago Marathon Training updates

PS. I try to post daily updates on my runs on my blog’s Facebook page, so follow me there if you want updates in “real” time 🙂

6 responses to “Chicago Marathon Training: Week 5

  1. Pingback: Chicago Marathon Training: Week 6 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: Chicago Marathon Training: Week 7 | Run Inspired

  3. I have been following this page for a while since I had my baby and I just came here now to say that I saw your photo on your facebook page and I think that you look most beautiful than ever.

  4. Pingback: Chicago Marathon Training: Week 8 | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: Chicago Marathon Training: Weeks 8 & 9 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

