MB Marathon 2016 Training: Week 12

Screen Shot 2015-11-28 at 9.38.59 PMWell if you look at my week of training at a glance this looks like a big fat fail. In a way it was. I only ran twice this week. TWO FREAKING TIMES. During what what supposed to be my peak week of training. I did nothing on the other days. This is so unlike me, and I don’t want to make excuses, but I do have some reasons for it being this way. I’m definitely ready for life to settle down a little bit (or a lot). However, on the positive side, I had an amazing, confidence building, perfect 22 mile run. Isn’t that what’s most important anyway? That’s what I’m telling myself at least.

Here’s what I had planned vs. what I actually did for week 12. Ugh. It’s embarrassing. Bad running coach, I know.

Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 9.52.24 PM

Here is the detailed rundown (a.k.a. all my excuses).

Monday: Rest Day. I always take Monday as a rest day, so this one was planned. I was very thankful for that too, because Kyler was literally awake from 11:30 PM until I had to get up at 5:15 AM. It was ROUGH. I couldn’t figure out what was bothering him. I was exhausted the entire day at work.

Tuesday: Rest Day. Another rough night with my boy. I finally figured out what was going on. Turns out he has a tooth breaking through. It’s next to his bottom teeth where I didn’t even think to look, since usually the top teeth come next. I had my fingers crossed that he would finally have some relief, but needless to say, I wasn’t up for a run on this day. Especially since I also had class after work and didn’t get home until after 8:00, with a bad headache. So I went to bed 😦

Wednesday: Rest Day. I finally got a better night sleep and allowed myself to sleep in a bit to get rid of my headache. I planned to get my speedwork in that evening, and I was actually feeling motivated to do it. And then I went to pick up my kids from daycare and walked in to see something that really upset me. I don’t want to get into the details, but I immediately had to pull the kids from there and spent the rest of the night researching new places to send them. Talk about stressful.

Thursday: Easy Run – 4 miles / 37:40. I stayed home from work to figure out the daycare situation, and during Kevin’s nap time the baby allowed me to squeeze in a 4 mile treadmill run. I loved being able to look at his sweet smile the whole time. He put a smile on my face while I was feeling super stressed. Plus he just learned to clap and wave so he did that while he watched me. He’s my biggest fan! I thought about doing my speedwork, but I realized my long run this weekend was going to be tricky. I decided kind of last minute to go home to Pennsylvania to visit my family over the weekend, where it was going to be dangerously cold (temperatures in the single digits with negative wind chills). My dad gave me his treadmill so I didn’t have that option either. Plus, the thought of running 22 miles on a treadmill made me want to vomit. So I decided I would do it Friday morning before heading into work and before it got too cold. That’s why I kept Thursday’s run nice and easy.

12688338_10110172023999254_3635222894080391669_n

Friday: Long Run – 22 miles / 3:11:46. I wasn’t sure what to expect from myself while attempting to do my longest training run ever during a time that I’m constantly feeling super drained. But I did it!!  In all the years that I have been running I have never had a long run this amazing. Physically and mentally I felt so good. I can’t explain how much I needed this run to remind me that I am strong and can do hard things. I executed this long run exactly how I want to race. I started off a bit slower, picked up the pace around mile 13, then picked up the pace even more for the last 3 miles. My splits were [9:05, 8:50, 8:49, 8:44, 8:46, 8:51, 8:48, 8:51, 8:57, 8:47, 8:50, 8:36, 8:35, 8:34, 8:44, 8:37, 8:38, 8:37, 8:23, 8:32, 8:28]. The first 10 miles seemed to drag a bit and I kept finding myself thinking about how much I had left, but once I hit double digits I started feeling a lot better and the miles flew by. I started just focusing on running the mile I was in, rather than how much I had left to go. I also practiced a lot of visualization while I was running. I know the Myrtle Beach Marathon course really well, so I tried imagining myself out on the course at different points during the run. I picked a flatter route (like my race will be) with some multiple loops that had me looking at the same thing for a while, which is also how Myrtle Beach is when you run for 9 miles along the same road, so that was helpful. Finally, I practiced and nailed down a solid nutrition plan for the race, which includes eating a half pack of Honey Stingers at the hour mark and then every 40 minutes after that. It was the perfect amount of fuel and the perfect timing. I finished this run on cloud 9, I was so ecstatic!

12729354_10110174542671814_2585612327774945088_n

Saturday: Rest Day. I headed home to Pennsylvania after work on Friday with Kyler (the Kevins both stayed in Virginia) and got there late in the evening. I was hoping to squeeze in a run on Saturday at some point, but it was so cold in the morning and I knew I wasn’t going to be able to do it later in the day since we had company coming over. So instead I took yet another rest day. Sigh…

Sunday: Rest Day. Again, I was hoping to get a quick run in and leave Kyler with my dad or sister, but it felt like negative temperatures almost all day. Plus, Kyler seems to have developed some intense separation anxiety. All weekend, if I even walked across the room away from him or gave him to someone he would start to hysterically cry. I felt really bad leaving to run when he was that upset. Finally, the icing on the cake was that I ended up having to leave a day early to go back to Virginia, due to predicted snow and ice in the forecast. I thought about hitting the treadmill once I got home on Sunday night, but by then it was 10:00 PM and yeah… not happening!  I was sad to have to cut my trip short, but glad that I did when I woke up the next morning and saw this!

12742053_10110189701727944_5345598719317446727_n

Week 12 Totals:

  • Run: 26 miles
  • Strength Training/Cross Training: NONE. 😦

My successes this week were obviously my 22 miler. I have never done a training run that long after training for 9 marathons, and I think I really needed to have this experience not really for the physical benefits, but the mental side. Even with all of my marathon training and experience, I still struggle mentally the last 6 miles of the race. I now feel 100x more confident for Myrtle Beach. I KNOW I can finish the race this time, and hopefully finish feeling strong like I did after this long run. My big challenge was being able to fit my runs in this week with all the craziness of the weather, daycare, traveling, no sleep, etc., and all on top of the stress that I mentioned last week. My goal for the upcoming week is to just do better than this week. Haha, shouldn’t be too hard!

The thought of the week is very fitting.

12645096_10110139387772514_5302400248873180693_n

Let the taper begin!

Previous MB Marathon 2016 Training Posts

Leave a Reply

