MB Marathon 2016 Training: Week 10 & 11

Screen Shot 2015-11-28 at 9.38.59 PMLong time no training update! I am still here and still training, but the blizzard and its aftermath definitely broke some of the momentum I had built up. Then some personal life stuff happened and I had to shift around my priorities. Running/blogging got put on a back burner and my motivation suffered. I now feel like I’m in a little bit of a slump, which is really unfortunate since this is peak training time. Here’s what I had planned vs. what I actually did for week 10 and 11. Lots and lots of modifications as you can see.

Screen Shot 2016-02-08 at 8.17.39 PM

And here is the detailed rundown!

WEEK 10

Monday: Rest Day.

Tuesday: Easy Run – 2 miles / 18:57 + Dirty 30After we had over 2 feet of snow dumped on us here in Northern Virginia, I knew it would be really difficult for me to do a speed workout, tempo run and a 20 mile long run outside this week. There was a ton of melting and refreezing, and some roads that hadn’t even been touched by a plow. I knew it would also be very tough to do those runs on a treadmill. So I decided to be a bit flexible and prioritize which runs were the most important. Rather than do two speed workouts this week, I chose to skip my Tuesday intervals and focus on my tempo run later that week. Instead I just did an easy 2 mile run plus a strength workout.

IMG_5282

Wednesday: Easy Run – 3 miles / 27:48. Another easy run – but this one was outside, yay! It felt good to get some fresh air! The roads near my house were pretty good but there was definitely a lot of water/slush that I knew would refreeze overnight.

12552824_10110096743961054_8663950897789586176_n

Thursday: Tempo Run – 1 easy, 2 @ tempo pace, 1 easy [4 total / 35:08]. Treadmill- 1, Me- 0. It beat me on this night. My 8 mile tempo workout turned into a 4 mile strugglefest with a few breaks. I had a tough day and a bad headache for most of it. I probably should have skipped my run but the weather had forced me to adapt a lot of my training and I wanted to at least give it a shot. This was all I had on this night, but I knew it wasn’t the end of the world and that tomorrow was a new day.

IMG_5663

Friday: Rest. 

Saturday: Easy Run – 3 miles /  + 21 Day Fix Abs. 3 easy treadmill miles while both kids were napping and my husband was at work. This little one woke up just as I finished and then he watched me do my ab workout 🙂

IMG_5662

Sunday: Long Run – 20 miles / 2:58:35. 20 miles! I can’t even explain how it feels to have this run under my belt. It was such a beautiful morning too. I was so happy that one of my running buddies was able to start my run with me, and then Laura met me later on for some of the middle miles. For the most part I felt good, but I did have a little twinge in my knee that I was 95% sure was due to my old shoes. I’m ready to retire them but my new ones weren’t quite ready for a 20 mile long run. Lesson learned! Also- very thankful for the town of Fredericksburg, VA. They made sure that not only the streets were plowed but so were the running paths and most of the sidewalks.

12592696_10110115917492144_5134498332831272820_n

Week 10 Totals:

  • Run: 32 miles
  • Strength Training/Cross Training: 1 strength workout + 1 ab workout

WEEK 11

Monday: Rest Day. I finally went back to work after a week and a half off due to snow and it was rough! Lots to catch up on left me feeling exhausted. I was very thankful to have a rest day.

Tuesday: Speedwork Ladder – 400, 800, 1200, 800, 400 w/ 400 recovery + WU/CD [5 miles total / 43:13] . Nothing like a late night treadmill speed session to burn off some steam from a long, tough day of work followed by class. I wasn’t feeling up to doing my planned 5 x 1 mile repeats on the treadmill, so I did a little ladder workout instead and ran by effort level rather than pace (which I really enjoy!). 1 mile warmup, 400, 800, 1200, 800, 400, all with 400 recovery between, then .75 cooldown. No thumbs down after my treadmill workout this week. I’m feeling a lot better now!

12669556_10110128641927274_3311347774009575995_n

Wednesday: Easy Run – 2 miles / 19:12 + Upper Fix. I came home from work and immediately changed into my running clothes before I could talk myself out of it. I ran an easy mile on the treadmill, then did Upper Fix, followed by another easy mile. And then I sat my butt on the couch to catch up on the Bachelor with some popcorn and a glass of wine. Guilty pleasure!

12661896_10110132775423714_1070306785936368383_n

Thursday: Rest. This was supposed to be a progression run, but I was tired and not feeling up for it. I decided to go to bed early instead and get some rest.

Friday: Easy Run – 4 miles / 36:02. Where did all the snow go? So weird that it’s pretty much all gone now after the huge blizzard! I’m not complaining though. I’ll take the clear sidewalks! 4 refreshing, stress-relieving miles after work right before the sun went down. TGIF!

IMG_5661

Saturday: Long Run – 15 miles / 2:17:30. My Moms Run This Town running group planned a group run around Washington DC this morning, and I was so excited for it! DC is only about 40 minutes from my house but we don’t go often to visit because of traffic. Luckily traffic and parking in the city is super easy early on weekend mornings! I ended up running 15 miles (it was a cutback week for me) with two friends. It was so fun and beautiful to run next to the monuments and the White House, and finish along the Potomac River.

Screen Shot 2016-02-08 at 8.40.35 PM

Sunday: Easy Run – 3 miles / 27:41. Just 3 easy miles to finish out the week. I’m so happy that my new shoes are feeling a lot better and aren’t as stiff now. I didn’t have a single trace of the knee pain I had last week. I really think it was shoe related!

IMG_5638

Week 11 Totals:

  • Run: 29 miles
  • Strength Training/Cross Training: 1 strength workout

My successes this week were definitely fitting in my long runs. At this point in training they are my highest priority workout, so I’m really happy I was able to make them both happen and that they went well for the most part! My challenges were more mental this week. I had to allow myself to be okay with adapting my plan and skipping some workouts. I honestly did the best I could, and I know that is enough for now. My goals for this upcoming week are to prep mentally and physically to run 22 miles this weekend – my longest training run ever! I also want to at least get one quality speed workout in. We are supposed to get some more snow so that might throw things off again a bit. I have had to sit down and look at the last few weeks of my training plan, adjusting some things based on what I know is realistic with all that I have going on right now. It is what it is and that’s fine!

Some wise words I wanted to share for the thought of the week. I need to get out of my own head and out of this running funk!

12654269_10153253644126987_5955786224082287790_n

4 weeks and counting until I run marathon #10!

Previous MB Marathon 2016 Training Posts

One response to “MB Marathon 2016 Training: Week 10 & 11

  1. Pingback: MB Marathon 2016 Training: Week 12 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

