MB Marathon 2016 Training: Week 9

Screen Shot 2015-11-28 at 9.38.59 PMWell, as expected, the big blizzard of 2016 threw my training plan for a loop this week! We got more than two feet of snow dumped on us and I haven’t been to work in almost a week! But I’m doing the best I can despite the circumstances. I was able to swap some runs around and had to adapt some things, but oh well. I still think I beat the blizzard! Here’s what I had planned vs. what I actually did.

Screen Shot 2016-01-26 at 8.47.07 PM

And here is the detailed rundown!

Monday: Rest Day. We traveled back to Virginia from South Carolina all day and were welcomed by freezing temperatures! I enjoyed this rest day for sure 🙂

Tuesday: Easy Run – 2 miles / 18:57 + Lower FixAfter a long day of travel the day before and a rough night of sleep I didn’t have it in me to do my speed intervals on Tuesday morning. Plus, temperatures were in the negatives due to the wind chill and I just couldn’t do it. So I swapped my runs around and did an easy 2 mile run and Lower Fix strength workout instead.

IMG_4677

Wednesday: Speedwork – 5 x 1600m w/ 800m recovery + WU/CD [8 miles total / 1:02:31]. I was less than enthusiastic about this speed workout after a long day of work. I tried to think of excuses to skip or shorten it. It’s too cold, it’s getting dark, I’m tired, I’m sore from yesterday’s strength training, I’ll just do 3 mile repeats rather than 5, etc. Well, I’m so glad I sucked it up and just did the damn thing because It. Was. Awesome! I went to a middle school track right after work and it really wasn’t bad once I got through my warm up. I did 5 x 1 mile with half mile recovery between. This was my first time doing 5 repeats and the first time I got them all under 7 minutes per mile! Splits were 6:59, 6:54, 6:58, 6:56, 6:55. I still have a hard time believing I can run like this. It feels like yesterday that I started running and couldn’t even make it around the block without giving up. It’s such an awesome journey!!!

Screen Shot 2016-01-26 at 2.17.22 PM

Thursday: Rest. It started snowing on Wednesday right after I got finished with my speed workout. It was a smaller storm but enough to close school the next day. Then on the news everyone was talking about this historic blizzard that was on it’s way, and it was making me nervous about fitting my long run in this weekend. They closed school the next day since they knew the snow would be starting around noon, so I decided to squeeze my long run in on Friday morning before it began. I ended up taking Thursday as a rest day to let my legs recover a bit from the speedwork I had done the day before.

Friday: Long Run – 18 miles / 2:43:33. I am so proud of myself for this run! I woke up at 4 AM, drank some coffee, fed the baby, and ate a quick bar before heading out the door at 5:00. It was really cold at first but I warmed up by the time I hit mile 3 or so. I was even able to meet up with Laura for 4 miles, which was so nice, and later on I saw a beautiful sunrise. My Camelback ended up freezing and I ran the last 11 miles without any water, but surprisingly I felt really good and strong. My pace felt comfortable, and the only reason why it wasn’t faster was because some roads still had snow/slippery spots from the little snowstorm that came through on Wednesday night. This also meant that I couldn’t really finish fast like I had originally wanted to, but that’s okay. It felt amazing to get 18 miles done by 7:45 when my husband had to leave for work!!!

Screen Shot 2016-01-26 at 2.17.06 PM

Saturday: Recovery Run – 2 miles / 19:20 + Upper Fix. And then we were snowed in! It snowed for over 36 hours straight, from mid-day Friday until late Saturday night. I did a quick recovery run to loosen up my legs from my long run the day before, followed by Upper Fix. I wore my new Adrenaline 16s and they felt great. My last pair was super stiff out of the box, but these felt better. My current shoes aren’t totally worn out yet but I want to ease myself into these a bit before they become retired.

12524322_10110075206063174_7407507860120744437_n

Sunday: Easy Run – 6 miles / 58:57. This was supposed to be a tempo run, since I ended up doing my long run on Friday, but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it on the treadmill when there was so much beautiful snow outside to run in! After my husband went out for a couple miles and said it wasn’t bad, I decided to go for it. I didn’t know how much I would be able to do, but I ended up running 6 snowy miles. I met Laura halfway between our houses and then we explored the neighborhood together. I cannot remember the last time I smiled this much on a run. It was so much fun, and not as hard as I expected it to be thanks to the snow being pretty packed from plows and cars in most places. This was the best run I’ve gone on in a long time!

IMG_5005

Week 9 Totals:

  • Run: 36 miles
  • Strength Training/Cross Training: 2 strength workouts. Foam rolling & stretching.

So many successes this week. I feel amazing! I conquered a tough speed workout, a cold and early morning 18 miler, and had an awesome run in the snow. I also fit in two strength workouts and did my foam rolling and stretching. My challenges were definitely figuring out a way to work with the snow. That will also be my goal for this upcoming week, since we’re still dealing with the after-effects of it. Here in Virginia, there isn’t much of a budget for snow and cleaning it up. It takes FOREVER to get the roads cleared and the schools reopened. I know this will affect some of my runs this week, because it will be really difficult for me to do a speed workout, tempo run and a 20 mile (!) long run outside. There’s been a ton of melting and refreezing, and some roads haven’t even been touched by a plow. It will also be very tough to do those runs on a treadmill. I’m going to have to be a bit flexible and prioritize which runs are the most important.

The thought of the week, just need to keep at it day after day and keep plugging away at my goals. 9 weeks down and only 6 to go!!!

12227673_10153133124106987_5132878566986958088_n

Previous MB Marathon 2016 Training Posts

2 responses to “MB Marathon 2016 Training: Week 9

  1. Pingback: MB Marathon 2016 Training: Week 10 & 11 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: MB Marathon 2016 Training: Week 12 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

