MB Marathon 2016 Training: Week 3

Screen Shot 2015-11-28 at 9.38.59 PMWhew! Week 3 is over just like that! I am happy to say that we had a much better week. We were all relatively healthy and although work was stressful at times, I tried hard not to let it get to me and to choose my battles. It also helps that I see the light at the end of the tunnel… just one more week then I’ll be off for 16 glorious days with my family for Winter Break! We’ve already started doing lots of fun holiday things and it’s making me so happy. This past weekend we got to go on the Santa Train, and it was a blast! I’m glad to have a good balance of work and play 🙂

All aboard the Santa Train!

All aboard the Santa Train!

Here is the overview of the week – what I had planned vs. what I actually did.

Screen Shot 2015-12-13 at 9.59.32 PM

And here is the detailed rundown!

Monday: Rest Day 🙂

Tuesday: Speedwork – 6 x 800m w/ 400m recovery + WU/CD [6 miles total / 49:01]. Used my trusty lit up shopping center parking lot for speedwork again this morning. The plan was 6 x 800 and my goal was 3:21-3:29 for each. I only hit that in my first one. I don’t really know what happened but I felt kind of off and my stomach hurt. My effort level was there but the splits didn’t match up today- they were actually slower than what I usually do for mile repeats, which is weird. But it’s okay! I know training is all about progress, not perfection. And the important thing is that I got myself up at 4:45 AM and got it done. Splits: 3:29, 3:36, 3:34, 3:36, 3:33, 3:38. I’ll get it next time!!!

12274500_1647563822172201_1704435903085100265_n

Wednesday: 21 Day Fix – Lower Fix + 35 minute walk. What a fun evening! I did Lower Fix after work and then met my local Moms Run This Town group for a Christmas lights run/walk. Some people ran, but I walked with a few other ladies and pushed the boys in the stroller. Afterwards we all went inside for snacks and hot chocolate. It was really nice!

12347633_10153336775938831_5543634359179664552_n

Thursday: Tempo Run – 6 @ steady-state tempo pace / 47:12. I couldn’t get myself out of bed in time to do my tempo run, so I did it after work instead. I was a little nervous about that because I thought I would be drained and not be able to pull it off. I drove to a nearby running path that has some rolling hills and decided to go for it. I was going for 6 steady-state tempo miles within the range of 7:50-8:10. Steady-state runs can be challenging because you are supposed to go out at a certain pace and hold it the whole time, rather than doing an easy mile at the beginning and end of the workout. However, I felt really strong and my average pace was 7:52! I even got a little faster with almost each mile. Woo hoo!

12316497_1648164955445421_914664659499332342_n

Friday: Iron Strength for Runners. OMG. My friend let me borrow her “Iron Strength for Runners” DVD, and it totally kicked my butt! I got through all 50 minutes but it was not pretty and I had to do a lot of modifications. I can see how these strength moves would really help runners get stronger and faster though. On the website it says, “There’s no question that running is an excellent workout — for some of your muscles, like your calves, hamstrings, and quads. Others, such as your glutes, hips, and core, don’t see as much action yet are essential to providing stability. Weak muscles not only slow you by breaking down your form but also create an imbalance in your body, which can lead to injury and sideline your training.” Umm HELLO! This is exactly what my chiropractor told me when he was addressing some pain I was having in those exact areas- especially my glutes and hips. I’m really proud of myself for doing strength training twice this week and I really need to keep it up and make it a part of my routine.

12373160_1648328582095725_8687516318954644265_n

Saturday: Easy Run – 3 miles / 29:11. Our weather here has been really weird lately. It was in the 60s and 70s all weekend – really hard to believe it’s mid-December!  We decided to celebrate by going for an easy family run with the double stroller. Little Kev got out at the end and ran with us for the last minute or so. I am also proud of my husband, who has been working hard at building his running back up. He ran all 3 miles without stopping- yay!

12348109_10109847573730194_3519500490637561922_n

Sunday: Long Run – 14 miles / 2:06:09. This morning I met up with a friend to do my long run. I ran 10 with her and then 4 more solo… my longest run in 16 months! Actually, I have only ran 14 miles once since my marathon back in March 2014. It was last August, when I decided to build up my long run again to possibly train for a fall marathon. I found out I was pregnant a week later! It felt good overall, but toward the end I could feel that my body hasn’t done that distance in a while. My legs felt heavy and I probably should’ve taken another gel in the second half of the run, but I didn’t. Lesson learned!

Screen Shot 2015-12-13 at 9.25.26 PM

Week 3 Totals:

  • Run: 29 miles
  • Strength Training/Cross Training: 2 strength workouts (Lower Fix & Iron Strength for Runners)

My successes this week include my awesome long run and my tempo run. I am also really proud of myself for fitting in strength training twice. My challenges were definitely the speedwork that I felt like I struggled through, and lack of sleep. My goal this week is to get more sleep – at least 7 hours a night. This is also a cutback week (every 4 weeks I cut back), so between a little less mileage, easier effort workouts and more sleep, I’ll be able to go into the following week feeling strong and rested!

The thought of the week is a good one. My friend sent me this blog post all about time management vs. energy management, and it REALLY hit home for me. I am guilty of over scheduling, always saying yes, and letting things suck the energy out of me. After reading this post I spent a little time thinking about the sources of positive and negative energy in my life and how I can balance my energy scale more. It made a big difference in my day and the rest of the week… except for the no caffeine and sugar thing… I need those 🙂

3 weeks down, 12 to go!

Previous MB Marathon 2015 Training Posts

8 responses to “MB Marathon 2016 Training: Week 3

  1. Pingback: MB Marathon 2016 Training: Week 4 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: MB Marathon 2016 Training: Week 5 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: MB Marathon 2016 Training: Week 6 | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: MB Marathon 2016 Training: Week 7 | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: MB Marathon 2016 Training: Week 8 | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon 2016 Training: Week 9 | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: MB Marathon 2016 Training: Week 10 & 11 | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: MB Marathon 2016 Training: Week 12 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

