Mom & Baby: 4 Months

I can’t believe how much has happened since I last updated on Kyler almost a month and a half ago! He turned 4 months old on September 22nd, and my last update was when he was 12 weeks old. Life has been VERY busy for both baby and myself. In fact, I’ve been working on this post for over a week now but haven’t had the time to finish it until now. Here are all the details!

12049534_10109489402493224_8142271697741846390_n

Baby

First and foremost – the growth! Kyler has grown so much! While both of my boys seem to be on the tall and thin side, Kyler continues to exceed his older brother in length and height at this age. He didn’t have a well check at 3 months but I did take him to the doctor because I was concerned about the side of his head being a little flat (more about that later). At 3 months he weighed 13 lb. 3 oz. and was 24.5 inches. At his 4 month well visit he was 14 lb. 5 oz. and 25.5 inches. He’s following his growth charts consistently and is 3 pounds bigger than Kevin was at 4 months!

12049178_10109495478182494_5942852956994320887_n

We just moved him out of 3 month clothes and into the 6 month size. It makes me sad to pack away the smaller sizes, knowing that we most likely will never put another baby in clothes that little ever again. I go back and forth about whether or not another child is in our future. Some days I want one and other days I feel done, but we’re not ready to decide for sure.

12006353_10109435607224374_3970304444112993188_n

I feel SO LUCKY to have such an easy baby this time. Kyler has been laid-back and low-maintenance since birth. I mean, he did wait 2 1/2 weeks longer than his brother to come out, so I’m not entirely surprised! He lets Kevin play with him and pull on him and act like a toddler all around him and isn’t even fazed. It’s going to be so fun to see them grow up together.

12004896_10109464446914404_7503590740296497632_n

He is a good sleeper too. Since my last update some new sleep developments have happened though. We now put him to bed in his crib between 8 and 8:30 and let him sleep rather than waking him up for a dream feed. He will usually sleep somewhere between 7 and 9 hours, waking anywhere from 3 to 5 AM, yeah! During the day he takes about 2 longer naps and a couple shorter ones here and there. We don’t have him in a set daytime routine yet when it comes to naps but I am sure we’ll get there eventually.

Fell asleep while playing on his mat!

Fell asleep while playing on his mat!

In the last week or so his sleep has been a little more inconsistent for a few reasons. 1) He learned how to roll over and wants to practice it all night long, 2) Rolling over means we can’t swaddle him like he likes us to, and 3) He’s had a couple little colds since I returned to work, which make sleeping and breathing a bit difficult at times. I know it’s just temporary and it’s already starting to get better but ugh, I can’t wait for it to get back to how it was! Despite less sleep and a snotty nose, he’s still as happy as can be. Look at that smile! It puts me in a good mood instantly!

11903804_10109329418103224_437882116806117225_n

Since we dropped one night feeding Kyler eats 7x a day very consistently. He has pretty much fallen into his own schedule. He has his first morning feeding between 3 and 5 AM, and then I feed him again before he goes to daycare, around 6:30 AM. At daycare he gets three bottles (4 oz. each), at around 9:30, 12:30, and 3:30. Once we are home I feed him around 6:00 and 8:00 before he goes to bed. He is still a GREAT eater, and has no issues switching from the boob to the bottle anymore. I also pump before I go to bed, around 9:45-10:00.

12049390_10109481760482874_499077755213200138_n

My supply is amazing this time around. I know we’re only 4 months in, but by this time with Kevin I was already supplementing so I feel really good about that. I am pumping on average 20 oz. a day and he eats 12 oz. so I’m able to put quite a bit away. I have over 400 ounces frozen right now – woo hoo! It’s pretty obvious that breastfeeding is going better this time around based on the cheeks, belly and rolls this kid has!

DSC07026

Kyler has gotten really interactive with people and with his toys. His hand-eye coordination has improved and he’s really good and grabbing things and holding onto them. He has also started putting everything he can get his hands on in his mouth, and he’s drooling like crazy.

12063774_10109494828609244_3893703712937195940_n

Kyler loves his floor time, especially now that he can roll in both directions (back to belly, belly to back). We really amped up his tummy time after the doctor pointed out that the side of his head was a little flat, due to him preferring to sleep on that side. When I brought him back to the pediatrician to get it checked at 3 months, she said the muscles in his neck were also starting to get tight from him always turning his head to that side, so we were sent home with a bunch of stretches to do daily and started doing a lot more tummy time at home and daycare. At his 4 month appointment our pediatrician was really happy with the improvement, which is great news. I was worried because having a flat side can cause the skull and brain to develop incorrectly, but it seems as though we’ve fixed the problem, thankfully! He also loves doing little mini-crunches when he is lying down on his back, like he’s trying to sit himself up. He’s a strong boy!

11891227_10109340737289484_7861124524302079942_n

He loves cuddling and being close to us, either in our arms or in a baby carrier. He is also super ticklish and cracks up when we put his socks on his feet, take off his onesie or change his diaper.

11891233_10109329412299854_7579851110523503448_n

Babywearing at the Farmers Market

Babywearing at the Farmers Market

Kyler is totally infatuated with water and loves taking baths and showers. He smiles the entire time and puts on a pouty face when it is time to get out. He’s my little water baby, which is awesome since that’s where he was born!

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 2.23.32 PM

Here are a few other pictures from the past month that I love!

Bouncing himself in his seat

Bouncing himself in his seat


Kyler loves going for walks outside

Kyler loves going for walks outside


My boys are already totally attached to each other :)

My boys are already totally attached to each other šŸ™‚


Hanging out with his friend Autumn- the daughter of my running buddy Laura who is 4 months older.

Hanging out with his friend Autumn- the daughter of my running buddy Laura who is 4 months older.


Kyler got to meet Leighton & Chanda when they visited from Germany!

Kyler got to meet Leighton & Chanda when they visited from Germany!


Dressed by daddy

Dressed by daddy

Body

Since my last update a little over a month ago I have gone from 137 pounds to 133, putting me 3 pounds above my pre-pregnancy weight. I think I’ve lost a few more pounds for a couple reasons. First, I have been so hungry and eating so much. A lot of the time what I’m grabbing isn’t the best food because I’m so busy, so it’s pretty unbelievable that I’m losing weight at all. Second, now that I’m back to work I am moving literally all day long. It’s pretty crazy how active I am this year. Finally, I have been running more as I work to increase my mileage and build up a base for marathon training later this year. It’s hard to fuel the body enough for running and breastfeeding and working, but I’m a work in progress! I totally forgot to take a 4 month postpartum photo of myself, so I’ll do that tomorrow and insert it below!

In other body news, in the last month I ran the Hartwood 10 Miler, my first longer distance race after baby. It was a good race that got me really excited for the fall racing season. As the weather cools down and time passes, I am starting feel like my pre-pregnancy self more and more. My “easy” run paces and speedwork paces are slowly getting back to where they were and it feels great! I’m still listening to my body to ensure I recover fully and don’t do too much too soon, but I’m also starting to push myself more and I love it.

And the not so good side… post-partum hormones really do a number on me! My skin is going crazy and breaking out, right on my chin which is where I always get hormonal acne. I’m also losing big chunks of hair. Pretty soon I’ll be sporting the lions mane as it starts growing back. I also have those little keratosis pilaris bumps on my arms and legs, that my dermatologist is a result of hormones and will go away eventually. So glamorous! But the good thing is that I know it’s all temporary and will eventually go away as my body continues to get back to normal. And these cute little faces are worth all of it!

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 2.24.22 PM

Mind

My biggest challenge emotionally this month was going back to work. It was a huge adjustment for me when I had to go back after Kevin was born at only 8 weeks postpartum. This time around I had another month, since Kyler was born at the end of the school year. Having that extra time made it a little easier, but it still broke my heart to drop them at daycare the first couple of weeks. It still does hurt sometimes when I think about how I’m spending the days with other peoples’ kids instead of my own, but I have accepted that this is how it is for now and that they’re very much loved and well taken care of – even if it’s not by me. Plus, my days are so insanely busy this year that the days fly by super fast, and before I know it I’m holding my boys in my arms again.

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 7.46.24 PM

Along with going back to work comes pumping. Oh, how I have a love/hate relationship with pumping. I love it because it allows me to stay connected to Kyler while I’m at work and give him the healthiest food for his little growing body. But it’s just so hard sometimes to find the time and energy in my super busy day to pump 3 times. However, not having to worry about supply (yet) is a huge blessing and I’m so thankful for that. I’m pumping more than he eats right now, which is amazing. I just need to make sure I don’t let myself get too stressed, and remember to drink water during the day and I think I’ll be good.

Pumping in a storage closet!

Pumping in a storage closet!

As if a new baby and a demanding job wasn’t enough, I decided to take on yet another challenge this year by taking a class. We meet on Tuesday evenings after work from 4:30 – 7:30. I really love what I’m learning about and I know it’s making me a better teacher, but it’s still hard to be away from my kids for basically an entire day. There’s no way I could have done this without my amazing husband, who encouraged me to go for it. He knew I had been waiting for an opportunity to take part in this course for a long time, and when my principal offered it to me I couldn’t turn it down. So while I’m off learning and when I’m doing work in the evenings, daddy is holding down the fort at home – and I must say he is great at it! I am a very lucky woman to have him as my partner!

12049228_10109484808649324_180028902091899212_n

Kyler & Daddy

Kyler & Daddy

This next month should be an exciting one for us – we have our annual trip to French Creek coming up, my first post baby #2 half marathon and more coming up. But for now, this tired mama needs to get to bed!

Previous Mom & Baby posts:

6 responses to “Mom & Baby: 4 Months

  1. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 5 Months | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 6 Months | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 7 Months | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 8 Months | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 9 Months | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 10/11 Months | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

