Mom & Baby #2: Week 10

Another week has come and gone. We spent most of it still on vacation at the beach, which was so nice and much needed! Here are all the details about us in week 10.

DSCN4626

Baby

Kyler loved his time at the beach this week! He’s still a little unsure about the water, but I think by this time next year he will love it just like his brother.

DSCN4633

One thing he’s gotten down is sleep. This kid can truly sleep anywhere. We had a nice tent that my friend let us borrow and it was great on the beach. We just laid him down in there with our little fan blowing on him and he was good to go! I have noticed that he is started to take less short catnaps, and he now takes about 3 longer naps per day, which is nice. At night his long stretch is still 4.5 – 6 hours.

DSCN4624

Nursing is (clearly) going well… check out the cheeks on this kid! He just keeps growing! His 0-3 size clothes are starting to get snug. It’s so different having a big baby. Kevin basically fell off his growth chart by this age due to his reflux and then my supply issues, and I felt so much guilt over that. This boy is the complete opposite. He eats on average 8-9 times a day and always eats on both sides. In addition to nursing I pump about 5-6 extra ounces per day that I freeze. I now have 210+ ounces frozen! I just hope that my supply stays this way when I go back to work in a few weeks and start having to rely on my pump more.

Look at those cheeks!

Look at those cheeks!

The issue we had last week with his bad gas and not pooping has gotten better. It took a few days, but eventually the super smelly gas stopped and he started pooping regularly again. I’m still not sure what triggered it (if anything) but I’m keeping my eye on it. In the meantime my happy baby is back!

IMG_4699

Here are some more of my favorite pictures from the week:

Sink bath with Mamaw

Sink bath with Mamaw

11145067_10109148731570484_7810611561443894422_n

Beach bumming!

Thumbs up for vacation!

Thumbs up for vacation

IMG_4673

I love this face

My boys

My boys

Body

I was pretty proud of myself this week. I went to the beach at 10 weeks postpartum and wore a bikini. I won’t lie and said I felt amazing and super confident, but I did it and didn’t obsess about it. That is a big deal to me, especially with the past body issues I have had. I’m 10 pounds above pre-pregnancy weight, have a jiggly belly and my linea negra is still there. My boobs are big and have lots of blue veins all over them. I don’t have a lot of muscle tone anymore and my arms and legs have keratosis pilaris bumps from postpartum hormones. But you know what? I wasn’t even thinking about those things when I was on the beach playing with my boys. All that mattered was making memories with my family and seeing how happy they were, which made me really happy too.

DSCN4629

I am continuing to add miles onto my long run.  I actually did two long runs during this week, a 7 miler on Sunday at the beach and an 8 miler on Friday (since we’re going out of town today for the weekend- more on that later). Both of them felt really good. I really don’t feel very different from my pre-baby self, except for a slower pace, but I’m slowly getting back to where I was.

Screen Shot 2015-07-28 at 8.32.29 PM

Yesterday’s 8 mile run was amazing. About halfway through the run I was in a really good groove and realized that I was running negative splits. I felt great so I decided to try to keep it up. My splits were 9:41, 9:28, 9:25, 9:16, 9:12, 9:02, 8:51 and 8:38. It was a hilly route too! I’m really liking progression runs because they are re-teaching my legs how to run faster without doing intense intervals or tempo runs, which I’m not quite ready for yet.

11796319_10109162388871144_2841165826178876076_n

Aside from my long runs I had some other really great runs this week. I’m just feeling stronger over and I love it. Now I really need to start adding strength training back in, and I know it will help me even more. I’m really looking forward to the Hartwood 10 Miler in two weeks, which is one of my favorite local races. I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to do it but since I hit 8 miles today I’m going for it. So exciting!

DSCN4640  DSCN4642

Mind

This week I felt relaxed and stress-free for the most part since we were on vacation. I just love being near the ocean, and I have so many memories starting from childhood until now with family and friends and my husband that have taken place at different beaches. To be there now with my own little family just felt really special. We spent some time at the beach, relaxing at my in-laws house, at the splash pad and the kids amusement park. It was so much fun.

A lazy morning on vacation with my family :)

A lazy morning on vacation with my family 🙂

My mom & me on the left, Kevin & me on the right.

My mom & me on the left, Kevin & me on the right.

While we were there I was able to have some one-on-one time with my hubby. We went on a sunrise run together and a date night while my in-laws stayed with the boys. It was so nice, since we haven’t had any alone time since Kyler was born. We definitely need to try to have more date nights now that Kyler is getting a little older and takes a bottle well. It is so important!

Screen Shot 2015-07-27 at 1.25.34 PM

11750722_10152889522352245_6597451587142671933_n  11813475_10109136423111734_4176486768994032804_n

My hubby and I did take a BIG step though, when we went back home and left Kevin at the beach for a few more days with his grandparents. This was really difficult for me, to say the least. I was very emotional about it because the only time we’d been away from him was the night Kyler was born – and that was only about 12 hours. This was going to be 4 days, and he was going to be 6 hours away from us. I’m an anxious person and a worrier by nature, so I got pretty stressed out about it at first not knowing how he would do with it. However, it turned out to be much harder on us than it was on him. He had a blast and didn’t seem to miss us at all, haha. We were able to FaceTime him a couple times each day and my mother-in-law sent us lots of pictures and videos as well.

Screen Shot 2015-07-31 at 3.25.35 PM

11822843_10207697083451849_8330720494422972799_n

11800533_10109164226368784_891037604395293457_n

Even though we really missed Kevin, it was nice to have a couple relaxing days with Kyler. It’s amazing how easy a newborn is in comparison to a newborn + toddler! I even got to go to my husband’s trivia night that he hosts. I have never been able to go before because it’s past Kevin’s bedtime.

Double duty: trivia host & daddy!

Double duty: trivia host & daddy!

We have another busy and fun week ahead, including a weekend trip to Raleigh, North Carolina and I have to go back to work for one day for a conference! Eek! Wish me luck as I sent Kyler to daycare for the first time 😦 See you in week 11!

11753731_10109139876246624_975028557646555942_n

My family ❤

The boys and their grandparents

The boys and their grandparents

Previous Mom & Baby posts:

9 responses to “Mom & Baby #2: Week 10

  1. Pingback: Mom & Baby #2: Week 11 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: Mom & Baby #2: Week 12 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 4 Months | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 5 Months | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 6 Months | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 7 Months | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 8 Months | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 9 Months | Run Inspired

  9. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 10/11 Months | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

