Mom & Baby #2: Week 9

What a week! Kyler has officially passed the 2 month mark and we are currently on our first real family vacation! So much to share. Here are all the details about us in week 9.

Amazing how much 2 boys can change in only 2 months!

Amazing how much 2 boys can change in only 2 months!

Baby

This week Kyler officially hit the 2 month mark! I cannot believe how fast my baby boy is growing!

Screen Shot 2015-07-25 at 9.44.24 PM

I took him to the pediatrician for his 2 month visit and he weighed in at 11 pounds 9 ounces, and is 23.5 inches long. That is two pounds and an inch more than Kevin was at his age. So crazy! I think he may outgrow his brother someday.

DSCN4587

The appointment went well and Kyler is one healthy baby boy. The pediatrician did point out that he is a little flatter on the right side of his head, due to him preferring that side when he sleeps. We just need to keep an eye on it and encourage him to not always go to that side, do tummy time and baby wear and other activities that keep his head up. He also got 3 shots and 1 oral vaccine and was not a happy boy for the rest of the day. We had lots of snuggle time.

11014821_10109115866891564_2892762330820813457_n

Speaking of sleep, it’s getting better again now that we’re totally out of his Wonder Week. He is back to a 5-6 hour long stretch before a couple smaller stretches of 2-3 hours. It feels great to get a little more sleep now! I’m hoping it continues to get more and more consistent as I prepare to go back to work next month. While he still likes to sleep during the day, I noticed he’s not taking as many little catnaps as he was. The naps he takes are getting a little longer and he’s super alert in between them. Hopefully this will start to turn into more of a predictable “schedule” like Kevin fell into on his own when he was around this age.

Attempting to take a nap with Kyler but he wanted to play instead :)

Attempting to take a nap with Kyler but he wanted to play instead 🙂

One new development has been Kyler’s bad gas. The pediatrician even commented on it when we were there for his appointment. I have no idea why it smells horrible all of a sudden, but I do think it has something to do with the fact that he is pooping less often. I haven’t suddenly changed anything in my diet so I am not sure why this is happening. It doesn’t really seem to bother him though – he’s still a happy boy and doesn’t cry or struggle to relieve the gas. It may just be that his digestion is changing as he gets older, but I’m going to keep an eye on it and see.

Even though he has bad gas he sure is cute!

Even though he has bad gas he sure is cute!

This week Kyler had two big firsts when it came to water – first time in a pool and first time at the beach! We went to the pool last weekend and while he wasn’t sure about the water at first (check out that face below!), he warmed up to it pretty quickly.

11752336_10109097093817954_2688162757917465745_n

Screen Shot 2015-07-25 at 9.44.53 PM

Then later on in the week we headed south to Myrtle Beach, where my in-laws live. We went to the beach on our first full day there and both boys had a blast. Kyler really is such an easy-going, flexible baby. He passed right out on a blanket in our tent and just went with the flow of everything we were doing. I love it!

11800410_10109125617216834_7586037208227762559_n

Another water milestone this week was that he has really started to like taking showers, just like Kevin did. We even recreated a photo we took when Kevin was around 8/9 weeks old. Check out the similarities! Kyler just has darker hair and is a couple pounds heavier 🙂

11750669_10152879183717245_6278318949396565316_n

One of Kyler’s new favorite things to do is stick out his tongue. He is starting to do this all the time and it’s so cute! He’s also continuing to love his hands. He will stare at them, practice moving them in different ways, and they are constantly in his mouth… which leads to lots and lots of baby drool!

11755785_10109125617840584_4866253686664939635_n

He also has starting to bat at his toys on his playmat, which is a new skill that is supposed to emerge after the Wonder Week he just completed. It blows my mind how accurate they are!

Screen Shot 2015-07-25 at 9.33.03 PM

Body

I’m actually feeling pretty good about my body this week. Thanks to bumping up my running a bit, doing some T25 workouts with my hubby, and making an effort to eat better I feel like I’m starting to make some good progress. I am noticing a difference in photos as well as how my clothes are fitting. Yeah!

DSCN4622  DSCN4623

Last weekend I ran my longest post-baby distance to date (6 miles) with a group of ladies from some local Moms Run This Town chapters. I wasn’t sure how this new distance would feel, but thanks to a new route and good company I felt great! It (almost) doesn’t feel like I had a baby recently except for my slower pace, which makes me excited for the future!

IMG_3321

I did have an issue with my new Brooks Adrenalines though. Last week I wrote about how I discovered that the new 15 model was cut differently than previous models, so I exchanged my normal size for another half size up. It worked great at first, but then I started noticing that since they are larger my socks would fall down in the back a little bit which was giving me a little blister. Ugh. I decided to experiment with different lacing techniques based on this chart to see if it would help. I tried #2 and it worked perfectly! No slippage or blisters whatsoever since then. Yay!

10411769_10109112752497834_2607944449403155212_n

Mind

The week started off a bit rocky with some ups and downs. I was able to get together with two of my close friends who had babies within a few months of me, which was so nice. It was great to see all of the babies together and think about how 10 years ago we were about to start our sophomore year of college and move into an apartment together. Right after our get-together I had to leave Kyler for the first time to go to a meeting at work. I left him at the friend’s house that I was visiting, since she lives right down the road from the school I work at and she really wanted to be the one to watch him for me. I was only gone for two hours but it was tough. I thought about him the entire time, and it made me really nervous to go back to work in a few weeks.

Kyler "playing" with his friend Ava while I was at work

Kyler “playing” with his friend Ava while I was at work

In the days that followed I had some drama with Kevin, who has decided he is not going to wait until his birthday in September to become a “three-nager.” In the span of 2 days he got upset because I ate the leftover quinoa that he apparently wanted (LOL). Then at bedtime he had an epic meltdown because we had to take his shark nightlight away since it was just recalled for being a fire hazard. This morning he cried because a piece of his sidewalk chalk broke and I couldn’t fix it. Then we went to the library to return his Thomas movie before our trip and he threw a huge fit. Sigh… and I used to think taking care of an infant was hard!

11755764_10109119704211544_2061082434062872947_n

“Fix the chalk mama!” 😦

Then we were off to the beach! Roadtripping with two kids was… interesting. We left around 5:30, and the drive takes about 6 hours from where I live. We had to make a few stops for stretching, bathroom, and nursing breaks, and Kevin decided he didn’t want to stop talking or sleep until we were almost there, but we made it!

Before we left

Before we left

Making a pit-stop

Making a pit-stop

Now that we’re actually here I’m feeling great. It’s so nice to have family time, and it’s awesome to have grandparents who want to do lots of baby holding and babysitting. My husband and I have welcomed the break with open arms! It is also really special to be down here in Myrtle Beach with our kids, because we have a lot of memories down here. The first time we came down here was about 8 months into our relationship back in 2010. Now it’s 5 years later and we’re married with two kids. Crazy! Our hands are definitely fuller now but so are our hearts.

11703049_10109126696683574_444236618671357707_n

11745862_10109125616937394_328655814675116804_n

And that’s a wrap on week 9. Life has been so busy lately, which is why my only posts have been these updates. I have a list of posts I want to write but can’t seem to find the time to do them right now. We are actually already a few days into week 10 since I’m late writing this post, so I’ll have more vacation pictures and stories to share next week!

Previous Mom & Baby posts:

10 responses to “Mom & Baby #2: Week 9

  1. Pingback: Mom & Baby #2: Week 10 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: Mom & Baby #2: Week 11 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: Mom & Baby #2: Week 12 | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 4 Months | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 5 Months | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 6 Months | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 7 Months | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 8 Months | Run Inspired

  9. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 9 Months | Run Inspired

  10. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 10/11 Months | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

