Mom & Baby #2: Week 6

It’s been 6 weeks (+ 2 days) since we became a family of four! How is that possible? We had a really nice week together and even conquered our first road trip! Here are the details about week 6 and how we are all doing.

11702846_10108991853914564_1459454673158079410_n

Baby

Kyler is such an easygoing, flexible, happy baby. He is SUCH a joy. I don’t know how we got so lucky. Just look at this face!

DSCN4538

Kyler’s nighttime sleep isn’t consistent yet, which is to be expected since he’s still only 6 weeks old. Some nights we get a good stretch of 4 – 5 hours and other nights we get 2.5 – 3.5 hours. The sleep deprivation is starting to catch up to me. I’m finding myself needing to nap more, like my body is craving sleep after 6 weeks of not getting enough. However, we did have a big accomplishment this week – Kyler started taking some naps in his crib! I really wanted to start doing this earlier than we did with Kevin, since he was pretty much not in his crib ever for the first 6 months. Once we started putting him in there for naps and nighttime sleep he was NOT having it. Lesson learned! This time we want to get Kyler used to his crib earlier. It will be a while until he’s in there for nighttime sleep since he’s still eating frequently, it’s convenient, and honestly, I really like having him close to me at night. But we’ve been trying one nap a day in there right now and he’s doing great, even though it makes me a little sad 😦

11265183_10108996610751824_1998261561399181606_n

Another first this week was starting to give Kyler a bottle. I wasn’t in a big rush to introduce the bottle since I’m not going back to work until August and didn’t want it to affect our breastfeeding relationship. I felt like we were ready to do this now at 6 weeks since all is going well, and it would be nice to have a little more freedom. For example, I want to be able to meet my friend to run in the morning sometimes and if he’s not awake yet, I want to be able to pump and leave a bottle for him to have if he wakes up. He did amazingly well at taking the bottle from the first day that we tried it, even with me sitting right next to him. Kevin was the same way. I guess my kids aren’t picky about where the milk comes from as long as they get it! Since we’re just introducing it our routine is to give him 1 ounce in the bottle, then I feed him and pump afterwards. I wanted to pump after because he isn’t eating quite as much as he used to at that feeding, since he has an ounce in the bottle beforehand, and I don’t want his daily bottle to affect my supply. So far so good! It’s also been really nice for my husband and Kevin to finally be able to help feed Kyler. They both really enjoy it and it’s adorable to watch.

11709557_10109005411789474_7569196785831992961_n

Speaking of nursing, it is going really well! Kyler eats between 8 and 10 times a day. He eats every 2-3 hours during the day with some longer stretches at night. Occasionally he’ll cluster feed and wants to eat more frequently than every 2 hours. I just follow his lead and watch for his signals. My supply seems to be doing great, which is such a change from last time. My right side still produces more like it did with Kevin, which sometimes leads to an attractive lopsided look, but oh well. I know Kyler is getting plenty of milk because he is growing like a weed! I weighed him the other day by weighing myself, and then weighing myself again while holding him and he was over 10 pounds! I know it’s not the most accurate way to do it, but still! At 6 weeks Kevin was only 8 1/2 pounds, so this is different for us. Another awesome accomplishment for me this week was that I officially have 100 ounces of frozen milk in the freezer. Can I get a WOOO HOOOO for that!? I never was able to have that much frozen with Kevin, let alone in the first 6 weeks of his life. It makes me feel good 🙂

Screen Shot 2015-07-03 at 8.43.07 PM

I love the post-nursing snuggles so much!

Kyler has started to put himself into his own little routine. When I had Kevin I read a lot of baby sleep books because he was not a good sleeper at all. The only way I could really get him to sleep was by nursing him, which was nice in a way but also really draining, and it caused him to rely on me so much in order to fall asleep and stay asleep. I worked really hard to get him on the E-A-S-Y routine from The Secrets of the Baby Whisperer, which stands for eat-activity-sleep-“you time” (while baby sleeps). Kyler was pretty much born already doing this routine. He doesn’t generally nurse to sleep. Instead, he eats and then is wide awake for about 30 – 45 minutes, then he will fall asleep. When he wakes up he’s ready to eat again. It’s pretty awesome, however he also likes to do this in the middle of the night, so we’re working on that!

FullSizeRender

Sweet boy is still working on liking bath time, but he loves when it’s over!

Lately he has been looking at us and at things around him a lot more. He is also starting to do some tracking with his eyes. It’s so exciting! I like to put him on his play mat because he will stare intently at the toys that are hanging above him and smile at them 🙂

FullSizeRender-1

Kyler still loves being worn, and I love it too because it’s super easy to take him on all of our adventures! This week we went back to the library, to the park, on a walk as a family and out to get ice cream – all with him peacefully asleep in the Ergo. I’m learning that it’s key to have both hands free for toddler chasing!

11705344_10109007607983284_2439332227165795038_n

Body

I felt pretty good this week. We are still trying to focus on eating well and keeping healthy foods on hand. My body is craving calories lately and I’ve been extra hungry, even though I feel like I eat a ton. I had my bloodwork done for my hypothyroidism this week for the first time since I was about 36 weeks pregnant, so it will interesting to see how my levels come back. It feels like my metabolism is on overdrive, but I’m not losing any weight (still holding steady at about 10 pounds above pre-pregnancy weight of 130) so I must be eating enough to fuel my running and breastfeeding if I am coming out even. The last thing I want is my supply to be affected, so I’m fine with that.

DSCN4530  DSCN4532

I had a great running week! Not only did I run a new post-baby #2 distance over the weekend  (4 miles!) but I also finally got to run with my neighborhood running buddy Laura again! The stars aligned and I was even able to meet up with her in the morning before my husband went to work. Oh how I missed our 5:30 AM runs!  It was so nice to have company that I didn’t even notice we were running up the giant hills in our neighborhood.  We also realized that this was our first time running together without either of us being pregnant. When I met her last year she was pregnant and then I was a few months later. Now we have an (almost) 6 month old and a 6 week old! No wonder we felt so good! Can’t wait for more runs with my neighborhood running buddy.

11665386_10109000276071494_2136714718282727857_n

Here’s the postpartum body progress – I’m not changing very much lately so I’ll be comparing photos every other week or so rather than every week from now on. The below photo show week 1, week 3, and week 6. 

6wks

6wk2

Mind

Well, this week we survived our first road trip! We packed up and headed north to Pennsylvania for my cousin’s wedding. I wasn’t sure how it would go but it ended up going as well as it could have, I think. The weather was pretty bad on the way up with lots of rain, which made what should have been a 2 hour trip into a lot longer than that due to traffic and needing to stop to feed Kyler. Kevin got a little impatient too but we made it in one piece. We quickly checked into our hotel, changed our clothes, and got to the venue right when the wedding was about to start. Whew!

11659426_10108973528069704_5072435955038525666_n

 

Once we were there and settled it was a lot of fun. The boys were great during the wedding ceremony except for when Kyler cried for about 10 seconds and I put him on the boob. The reception was awesome. Kevin stole the show with his dance moves- he tried to dance with pretty much every girl that was there! I was proud of myself for being able to feed Kyler multiple times while we were there without removing myself from the fun. I just put my cover on and he ate while I continued to eat, drink and be merry 🙂

11694758_10108976834708174_7436859817726416504_n

 

It was also great to be able to see my family again and some of our family friends. I hadn’t seen my dad and sister in about a month since they came down to see us after Kyler was born. I missed them!

11701079_10108976389685004_4167282299262703236_n

How to dance at a wedding with a newborn 🙂

Other than our weekend away, this week I really enjoyed getting out in the summer sun! We spent some time at the park, had a picnic, went on walks, and visited daddy at work for a lunch date. Kevin’s behavior was actually pretty great this week too. He’s such a sweet boy and is starting to really embrace his big brother role. We still have some moments that test me, but they’re pretty few and far between at this point.

11665778_10108985020299184_8206535905102562817_n

11207323_10108995726109654_9175652112523474336_n

 

We’re already a few days into week 7, and it’s been an exciting one so far because we celebrated the 4th of July and I ran my first postpartum race! The details on that will have to wait until next week’s post and my race recap though 🙂

Previous Mom & Baby posts:

13 responses to “Mom & Baby #2: Week 6

  1. Pingback: Mom & Baby #2: Week 7 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: Mom & Baby #2: Week 8 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: Mom & Baby #2: Week 9 | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: Mom & Baby #2: Week 10 | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: Mom & Baby #2: Week 11 | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: Mom & Baby #2: Week 12 | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 4 Months | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 5 Months | Run Inspired

  9. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 6 Months | Run Inspired

  10. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 7 Months | Run Inspired

  11. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 8 Months | Run Inspired

  12. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 9 Months | Run Inspired

  13. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 10/11 Months | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

