A Day in the Life with a Toddler & a Newborn

Life has changed quite a bit since my last Day in the Life post [back in January]! I’m still getting the hang of having two kids under the age of 3, especially when my husband is at work and I’m flying solo. But I wanted to capture a 24 hour snapshot into our lives while things are still new so that I have this to look back on later. Here is what happened from Tuesday, June 16th to Wednesday, June 17th, when Kevin was 2 years and 9 months old and Kyler was 3 1/2 weeks old.

5:45 a.m. Kyler wakes up. I feed him, burp him and change his diaper. I like to use the Baby Connect app to track his feedings and nighttime sleep. He is a great eater and usually will eat for a while on both sides.

IMG_0403

6:30 a.m.  I try to get him back to sleep for a little while longer. He usually sleeps for one last stretch of two hours or so in the morning. He looks around for a few minutes and then falls asleep, yeah! During this time my hubby wakes up and starts getting ready for work.

IMG_0402

6:35 a.m. I pump. I have been pumping after his morning feeding for about a week now to try to build my stash. I get about 2 ounces from each side, not bad considering how long he just ate!

IMG_0405

6:45 a.m. I start getting myself ready for the day (“get ready” as in throw my hair up and put on whatever clothes I can find) and drink coffee that my amazing hubby brought upstairs for me.

7:00 a.m. I go downstairs to start making breakfast. Kevin wakes up and my husband goes to get him and changes his diaper. He asks to play with his tablet (a gift from my in-laws when Kyler was born). He has quickly become obsessed with it but only gets to play on it for 30 minutes a day.

IMG_0406

7:15 a.m. My hubby leaves for work. I go upstairs to get Kyler who is still sleeping, and put him in the swing so he can continue to sleep. I get my breakfast (oatmeal, coffee, placenta pills… yum) and take it into the living room to eat with the boys and watch the news.

FullSizeRender

7:55 a.m. Kevin’s ready for his breakfast. He’s rarely hungry when he first wakes up and likes to play a little bit first. I make him some pancakes with banana on the side. While he eats I empty the dishwasher then do the dishes. Kyler is still sleeping through it all.

FullSizeRender-2  IMG_0415

8:20 a.m. Kyler woke up after almost 2 hours. I feed him while Kevin plays with  his trucks.

IMG_0421

8:55 a.m. I change both kids diapers and get them dressed, pack up diaper bag and get ready to leave the house for story time at the library.

9:30 a.m. Arrive at the library right on time. Kevin is so excited and runs right into where they are having story time. He loves to listen to the books that are being read, play with the instruments and dance when they sing songs. It’s so cute to watch! I have Kyler in the Moby wrap and he’s asleep once again. After story time we go pick out a few books to take home and play in the kids room.

FullSizeRender-1

10:30 a.m. We manage to leave the library without any meltdowns, which is a first! Kyler is still snoozing away.

10:45 a.m. We arrive back home. I change Kyler’s diaper and then feed him while Kevin and I read his new books.

FullSizeRender-3

11:30 a.m. After Kyler is fed, burped and happy it’s time to change Kevin’s diaper. Most days I feel like I’m on a diaper changing assembly line. I can’t wait until Kevin is potty trained! We go into the kitchen and I make Kevin lunch. He has a peanut butter and honey sandwich with pineapple. Kyler is hanging out in the bouncy chair loving life, and I eat two hard boiled eggs for a snack. While Kevin eats we FaceTime daddy who is at work. We try to do this everyday.

IMG_0445  IMG_0456

12:15 p.m. Kyler has a massive blowout and I clean him (and the bouncy chair) up.

12:30 p.m. Naptime! We go upstairs and all 3 of us lie down in Kevin’s bed. I set the timer on my phone for 5 minutes, which has become very necessary since Kevin loves to drag everything out these days. The timer is my best friend lately! Kevin insists that his brother lies right next to him and gives him lots of kisses. It’s really sweet 🙂 When the timer goes off he puts up a fight but eventually lets us go.

IMG_0472

12:40 p.m. Kevin’s asleep upstairs, Kyler’s asleep in the swing… it’s a miracle! I make myself lunch. I defrost some of the zucchini ‘crab’ cakes that a friend gave us when Kyler was born. They don’t really have any crab in them (they’re vegetarian) but they taste like it and are amazing! I also have a piece of toast with avocado spread on it. Yummy!

IMG_0482

1:05 p.m. All finished eating. I go to the basement to get the freezer meal we are going to eat tonight, then do some more dishes and clean up the morning’s messes. I also make a second cup of coffee (necessary!).

1:30 p.m. Kyler wakes up. I nurse him and change his diaper, and then we have some nice snuggle time. I love getting one-on-one time with him during Kevin’s nap, since I spend most of the day giving Kevin my attention.

IMG_0483

2:10 p.m. Kevin’s awake after an hour and a half, which is a little shorter than usual. Sometimes a shorter nap leads to a rough afternoon and evening, so we’ll see! I change his diaper and the 3 of us have some playtime.

FullSizeRender-4

3:00 p.m. Kyler falls asleep, so I go upstairs with Kevin. I put Kyler’s newborn clothes away and replace them with 0-3 month size. I can’t believe he’s already outgrowing them and it makes me sad! While I do this Kevin plays (a.k.a. makes a mess in Kyler’s room).

3:45 p.m. Kevin and I head back downstairs. We both have a snack- I have a Larabar and Kevin has some goldfish.

4:00 p.m. Kyler has another big poop! Then it’s time to nurse again.

IMG_0555

4:40 p.m. By this time of day I start counting down the minutes until my husband comes home. Kevin’s getting a little restless and I can tell he didn’t take a full nap. I surrender and put on Mickey Mouse Clubhouse.  I hate doing this but some days it’s just necessary. Kyler, on the other hand, is in a great mood, giving me smiles and cooing away. Once Mickey is over it’s back to trucks, puzzles, and books.

image1

5:30 p.m. My husband is home! Thank goodness! He takes over playing with Kevin while I go make dinner. We are having homemade pizzas on naan bread, with pineapple, vegetarian sausage, peppers and cheese. I love cheese, but I used vegan cheese on mine because cheese doesn’t always love me. While I work on dinner Kevin eats his. Many nights we eat together as a family, but sometimes the timing doesn’t work out. Our dinner wasn’t ready yet and he was hungry, so he went ahead and ate.

6:20 p.m. I nurse Kyler and then my husband and I eat our dinner.

IMG_0732

7:00 p.m. My husband takes Kevin upstairs for a bath and to get him ready for bed. I used to do the bedtime routine with him but we started having my husband do it, since I knew I would not always be able to once Kyler was here. Now it’s something they both look forward to each night. I’m glad they can have that special time together. I watch them cuddling in Kevin’s big boy bed on the monitor and it’s so sweet.

7:45 p.m. Kevin’s asleep, husband is back downstairs and wants to have some time with his other boy now! Kyler is sleeping so he holds him for a bit while we watch some TV and share a beer 🙂

IMG_0743

8:05 p.m. Kyler is awake and hungry! I feed him while we continue to watch our show.

9:00 p.m. We all start getting sleepy, so we head upstairs to get ready for bed. It’s been a few days since Kyler has had a bath so we go ahead and give him one. He has dry, sensitive skin so we only like to bath him about twice a week. He’s not a huge fan of baths yet but we’re getting there.

IMG_0755

9:45 p.m. After bath, lotion and pajamas, Kyler is ready for bed. He wants to nurse again but doesn’t stay on for too long since he had just eaten not too long before. It was mostly just for comfort which is fine with me right now. I’ll take the snuggles any day!

10:03 p.m. Baby is asleep. I pump a little bit since he didn’t eat much and I know it will be a while until he wakes up again. His first sleep stretch of the night is usually the longest and I wake up REALLY full.

10:15 p.m. Time for me to sleep!

2:54 a.m. I wake up to Kyler’s baby sounds. He doesn’t really cry very much in the middle of the night, but will wake up and start to whimper a little bit. This was a good sleep stretch for him- almost 5 hours! Not bad at all for being almost a month old! I feed him and then daddy changes his diaper. He gets the hiccups so it takes him a little while to fall back asleep.

IMG_0759

3:50 a.m. Kyler falls back asleep and so do we.

6:34 a.m. And he’s up again! He slept for about 2 hours and 45 minutes this time. He’s not looking too happy, but he was after I fed him 🙂 Kevin also woke up around this time while I was feeding Kyler.

Clearly not a morning person!

Clearly not a morning person

And that was a 24 hour snapshot in our lives with two kids under the age of 3! Life is good and we are very thankful for that!

Previous “Day in the Life” posts (before Kyler):

2 responses to “A Day in the Life with a Toddler & a Newborn

  1. Pingback: A Day in the Life: End of Summer Vacation | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: A Day in the Working Mama Life | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

