Baby 2.0 – 39 Weeks

I have officially written two more weekly updates than I did with Kevin! That is crazy to me. This week has definitely been a challenge physically and mentally, but I made it through.  Here are all the details about week 39!

IMG_7267

Baby

This week baby is the size of a watermelon… Ahh! He is probably at least 7 pounds and 19 inches. By now baby can flex his limbs, but he’s running out of room to do that! His movements have definitely become less pronounced, which my midwife said is common once they reach a certain point and are getting squished! While he continues to grow, his brain is also developing rapidly in there. Woo hoo!

FullSizeRender-4  FullSizeRender-3

Body

I said this week was challenging physically- oh boy, it definitely was! First, I am still dealing with allergies that leave me so stuffed up and congested. It’s miserable to deal with at any time, but especially at 39 weeks pregnant. It makes it difficult to breathe, talk, work and sleep. I actually ended up taking off last Tuesday because I was up almost all night with these issues, and so unbelievably exhausted that I couldn’t fathom actually going to work and dealing with people. I ended up getting a lot of sleep and rest and it was VERY needed. Since then I have felt a little better day after day, and my nighttime sleep has been getting a lot better too. However, despite getting more sleep I’m still pretty tired. I find myself dozing off on the couch, like in the photo below that Kevin captured 🙂 I guess my body is just trying to rest as much as possible to prepare for the big day.

IMG_7367

I’m still experiencing a lot of Braxton Hicks, along with some cramps that have gotten pretty uncomfortable at times. I know my body is warming up between those and the lightning crotch I’m still experiencing- it feels like he’s knocking on the door down there! This is why most of the time if I’m sitting at home it’s on my birth ball. It’s just the most comfortable place right now. Even little Kev wanted to join mommy and bounce on his own ball 🙂

IMG_7261

I’ve had some headaches that I just can’t shake despite drinking a ton of water, getting rest, and even taking Tylenol and using essential oils. I was worried about it at work this morning so I had the school nurse check my blood pressure and it was fine (108/80). I think it must be hormonal, but I hope it passes soon because it’s not fun. Other recent symptoms include on and off nausea, LOTS of bathroom trips (#1 and #2) and I lost part of my mucus plug this morning. Sorry for the TMI, but hey, it’s a pregnancy update and I’m a week away from my due date. Oh well. Just keeping it real!

DSCN4377  DSCN4379

I think I would feel a lot better if I didn’t have to work. I find myself wanting to hide out in my office because it’s such an active job and I’m constantly walking, carrying materials, and teaching all day long. It’s hard being on my feet for that long. I also want to hibernate to escape from people’s comments and questions. Sigh… but the county I work for says I must work until delivery unless I have a doctor’s note with a legitimate medical reason excusing me, which I don’t. I’ll just hang in there until the end I guess!

Mind

I fully believe and understand more than many people that pregnancy can and usually does last beyond 40 weeks. I know all the benefits of keeping baby in longer and fully agree that it’s what is best (in most situations at least). We even experienced some minor difficulties with Kevin being born 2 weeks early when it came to being able to breastfeed well and mucus/breathing issues- let alone the fact that I still don’t think my body was truly ready for labor, and my water just broke prematurely. I know all of these things and I know I’m not even due for another week- however, the fact that my baby was already a week old last time is eating at me a little bit and making me feel crazy. I have no reason to be impatient. I’m healthy, have no medical issues, and everything is good with the baby. But it’s hard when you only really have one previous experience to base pregnancy/childbirth on. I have had a feeling for a long time now that this baby would come later than Kevin, and that’s turning out to be right! I just need to accept it, relax and let my body do what it needs to do.

DSCN4381  DSCN4382

Luckily, I did have things happening this week that kept me busy. Probably the best part of the week was spending the entire weekend relaxing and taking it easy with my boys to celebrate Mother’s Day. We’ve gotten literally everything ready for baby at this point, and this was the first weekend that wasn’t packed with to-do lists and projects. It felt amazing! I was totally spoiled by my boys and it was a lot of fun.

11014902_10108662091246594_7048336654135008655_n

Food

I did not do very well cleaning up my diet this week like I wanted to, haha. I wanted all the food! However, unlike the last few weeks, it did show on the scale this time. I gained about a pound and a half after not gaining anything for a few weeks. Oh well! I’m almost to the finish line! The best was when Kevin knew I had a rough day and came home with all the ingredients to make me something special. He ended up making a peanut butter pie, and it was delicious! I munched on that throughout the week. Aside from that I did crave fresh fruit and anything cold (probably because it was in the 80s all week long- what happened to spring?).

IMG_7190

Fitness

My running was pretty much the only thing that made me feel great this week! Funny how that works! My two favorite runs were the family run we did on Saturday and my solo 4 miler on Mothers Day. I felt strong and happy on both of them. One thing I did skip out on this week was Body Pump. I just wasn’t feeling motivated to go and at this point I don’t think it’s really necessary to force myself. Instead of dragging myself there on Sunday morning like usual I slept a little later and then took myself on a great run. There will be plenty of time to get to Body Pump another day, even if it means after baby 🙂

  • Monday – rest day
  • Tuesday – 3 miles @ 10:46 pace
  • Wednesday – ​2 miles @ 11:11 pace
  • Thursday – 1 mile w/ kids at running club (untimed)
  • Friday – rest day
  • Saturday – 2 miles @ 10:28 pace
  • Sunday – 4 miles @ 10:37 pace
  • Run – 12 miles
  • Strength – 0x

10407207_10108658934652434_5336118758871875957_n

Week 39 Summary

  • Weight gained this week: +1.6 lbs.
  • Total weight gained: +27.6 lbs
  • Belly button status: Obviously poking out of my shirts now
  • Linea negra status: It’s there, but a lot more faint than it was with Kevin’s pregnancy
  • Stretch mark status: Still none, but I check every day!
  • Best part of the week: Mother’s Day 🙂
  • Looking forward to: Finally meeting this baby. Come on Kyler!
  • # of days until my next appointment: 1!

11120061_10108665026753814_3041824269649756914_n

Leave a Reply

