Baby 2.0 – 38 Weeks

Eeeee!!! I am officially more pregnant than I have ever been! I had Kevin at 7:49 AM the day I turned 38 weeks, so I’m already past that point! I have thought this whole time that I’d go longer with this baby than I did with Kevin. Now that I actually have it’s kind of exciting to see what’s going to happen next! Remind me of that if/when I pass my due date… 🙂 Here are all the details about week 38!

DSCN4374

Baby

This week baby is the size of a pumpkin…uuhhhh, what? He is anywhere from 6.2 – 9.2 pounds and 18 – 21 inches long. At this point, he’s starting to shed the vernix that covers his skin, but if he were to be born soon he might still have some of it on (Kevin did and he was born at exactly 38 weeks). He is also continuing to grow hair, and could possibly have an inch or so already! Basically, he’s just getting bigger and stronger and waiting for the perfect time to make his debut 🙂

FullSizeRender  FullSizeRender-1

Body

Oh this baby boy is getting SO LOW and I am feeling it! I have a lot of random pelvic pain. It’s happening more and more often and sometimes at awkward times- like when I’m walking down the hall at school or in the grocery store. Haha. Other than that I am continuing to have Braxton Hicks contractions, mucusy discharge (TMI alert), and my body has started doing some ‘cleaning out’ if you know what I mean. I’ve also been cleaning and prepping everything in sight.

DSCN4366  DSCN4368

I haven’t really done anything proactive to prep my body for labor this time, except for starting to drink Red Raspberry Leaf Tea to tone my uterus. You can read about the benefits of it here. I am not taking evening primrose oil like I did last time starting at 36 weeks (as recommended by my former doctors/midwives). My new midwives have said this could have been a factor in why my water broke semi-early (37 weeks 6 days) before my body really seemed ready to be in labor. I don’t know if that is true or not, but since I’m trying to avoid that happening this time I am skipping it. Since I was already 60% effaced at 36 weeks and continue to have signs of a thinning cervix like mucusy discharge, my midwives have said they don’t think I need it anyway. I’m just letting my body progress and get ready on it’s own at this point, and I feel good about that. We’ll see how that changes if I’m still pregnant in a few weeks!

DSCN4372  DSCN4370

Mind

I am a LOT less stressed now that this past work week is over. At this point, everything is finally officially ready at home AND at work, woo hoo! It is a wonderful feeling, and I feel like I can finally relax. I honestly do feel prepared for this baby to come and it’s becoming more and more real. We have two kid rooms in our house, two car seats in the car, and this week we received our double BOB stroller in the mail. Little Kev immediately fell in love and insisted we take it out for a walk, showing us the whole time where baby Kyler is going to go 🙂 So adorable. We’re ready for you, baby boy!

11188310_10108609433543054_4012708067469245182_n

Food

I did not eat the best this week. I indulged in ice cream, Chipotle, soft pretzels (It was National Soft Pretzel Day, yum!!!), and more… but I feel like my metabolism must be in overdrive or something because I am still not gaining weight- despite a larger stomach every week! I guess baby is taking all of the food for himself, which makes me wonder how big he’s going to be… eek! I’m going to make sure to clean it up in terms of nutrition this week. These foods are not going to fuel me well for labor!

11119759_10108597364599314_186174665689621927_n

Fitness

Another amazing week of running. My two best runs from the weekend were my amazing 5 miler on Saturday with Laura, and the quarter-mile Caboose Run with my little boy on Sunday.

DSCN4355

I am so thankful that my body has allowed me to run through both of my pregnancies. It has kept me sane emotionally and strong physically. In the photo below on the left, I was 37 weeks during Kevin’s pregnancy and the photo on the right was taken this past Saturday right before 38 weeks. I can’t wait to meet my newest running buddy!

  • Monday – 2 miles (untimed)
  • Tuesday – rest day
  • Wednesday – ​3 miles @ 10:56 pace
  • Thursday – 1.5 miles w/ kids at running club (untimed)
  • Friday – 2.5 miles @ 10:43 pace
  • Saturday – 5 miles @ 10:47 pace
  • Sunday – Body Pump + .25 miles of a very slow run/walk with Kevin 🙂
  • Run – 14.25 miles
  • Strength – 1x
Running @ 37 weeks, last time and now!

Running @ 37-38 weeks, last time and now!

Week 38 Summary

  • Weight gained this week: +0.0 lbs.
  • Total weight gained: +26.0 lbs
  • Belly button status: Actually not as tender as it was, but it’s definitely out at this point.
  • Linea negra status: Starting to see a faint line from my belly button up now, rather than just underneath.
  • Stretch mark status: Still none, but I check every day!
  • Best part of the week: By far- running with my little boy this weekend!
  • Looking forward to: having this baby! LOL
  • # of days until my next appointment: 1. My appointments are every Tuesday now.
Leave a Reply

