Stafford Hospital 5K

Yesterday I ran my 8th race of this pregnancy, the Stafford Hospital 5K. This is a local 5K that takes place at a hospital that is about 10 minutes from my house. I was loving the fact that it was close to home and started at 8:30 a.m.! I also loved that both of my Kevins came along and that my friend Laura was running too.

11111038_10108534316642924_8205404209097765718_n

The week before the race was a little rough in terms of my running, so I had no idea how it would go. It was really warm outside (in the 60s at the start) and the sun was strong with no clouds in the sky whatsoever. Laura had run this race last year and told me the course looped a few times and was hilly, so I figured due to all these factors I would just do the best I could and take it easy. I am 36 weeks pregnant after all 🙂

DSCN4298

The race started right on time and we all began with a nice downhill. Laura went ahead since she was trying to get a good baseline of where her fitness is right now at 3 1/2 months post partum, while I stayed back and ran my own pace. Since the course was looped I knew I’d be able to see my boys a bunch of times, and I saw them right away on the side of the road.  I love seeing them when I run- it’s the best!

DSCN4299

DSCN4300

I didn’t wear my watch so I had no idea what my pace was, I just ran by feel and thankfully I felt amazing! I did get warm pretty quickly due to the temperature and the sun, but I never had a moment of discomfort, pain or anything – even on the many hills!

DSCN4313  DSCN4307

The course had a few out and back segments where I was able to see Laura, who was killing it with her pace! I felt strong and so happy, I couldn’t peel the smile off my face. I walked through a water stop right before mile 2, but other than that I ran the entire time. While I was finishing my final loop Laura was crossing the finish line in just over 25 minutes- a new course PR for her! She’s a rockstar!

IMG_6729

Then it was my turn! I rounded the corner and expected to see about 33 minutes on the clock- assuming I was running around an 11 minute mile. I was shocked to see 30 minutes! I actually crossed the finish line asking Kevin and Laura, “Was that really my time?”

IMG_6726

Official Finish Time – 30:31 (9:49 average pace)

I was so excited to have run such a good race and felt so strong at 36 weeks pregnant. This is most likely my last pregnant race (maybe ever!) so I was really happy to finish on such a positive note.

FullSizeRender-2

11159500_10108534317027154_5078776502503168133_n

Depending on when this baby is born, I may have time to squeeze in a May race on Mothers Day weekend or the weekend after that! I would love to wear my Running for Two shirt one more time 🙂

4 responses to “Stafford Hospital 5K

  1. That’s amazing – you are awesome!

  2. Pingback: Baby 2.0 – 36 Weeks | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: Running in the 3rd Trimester | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: 9 Races in 9 Months (again!) | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

