What I Ate Wednesday

It has been a while since I’ve done a What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW) post, so I decided now was a good time for another one! I actually remembered to take photos of most of my food yesterday too, which is kind of a miracle 🙂 Here’s what I ate on April 7, 2015 at 34 weeks 1 day pregnant.

After running club with the kids at school!

After running club with the kids at school!

6:30 a.m. ​I always start my day with coffee. I’m allowed about 200 mg of caffeine a day while pregnant, so a cup in the morning is all I need. I am so thankful for it though- it definitely helps me get through the day!

7:15 a.m. I have been loving my green smoothies again lately! I got away from them for a while when it was colder but have started having them again recently. I still use pretty much the same recipe as the one I posted a while back, except now I add about 1.5 tablespoons of ground flaxseed to it for an extra nutritional boost. Other than that it’s basically one fresh banana, a cup of frozen fruit (I used a blend of strawberries, peaches, mango and pineapple), 1 scoop SunWarrior vanilla protein powder, 1 cup almond milk, 1 cup water, 1.5 – 2.0 tablespoons of almond butter and a big handful of spinach. Yum! I like having a smoothie for breakfast because it’s light and refreshing but still keeps me full. I drank this on my way to work since I had to be there early to help with our kids’ running club!

IMG_6398

10:15 a.m. ​I usually find myself needing a snack around this time, especially if I have been active in the morning like I was at running club. I keep it simple with 2 hard boiled eggs. I got into the habit of eating hard boiled eggs during my last pregnancy and it’s stuck ever since. They’re so yummy and the protein/fat combo keeps me full until lunch.

IMG_6405

12:20 p.m. It was kind of a rainy and dreary day, so I thought leftover Tortilla Soup that we made over the weekend would be perfect! This recipe is from one of my favorite vegetarian cookbooks, More Peas, Thank You. I brought an avocado to cut up and put on top, along with a half sandwich- whole wheat bread with hummus.

IMG_6408

4:05 p.m. The rest of my busy afternoon flies by and before I know it I have to head off to our staff meeting. Usually I can leave school at 4:00, but on staff meeting days we stay until 5:00. I am very thankful for my snack to hold me over until dinner! I brought a chocolate chip peanut butter Larabar and enjoy every delicious bite while trying not to fall asleep during the meeting 🙂

FullSizeRender-3

6:10 p.m. I make it home from work around the same time that my hubby gets home with little Kevin. I throw some broccoli in the oven to roast and pull out the dinner I made last night, Vegetable Lasagna, since we still had a ton leftover! I always try to make something that produces leftovers for nights when I get home later due to a staff meeting or something like that. It’s definitely a huge time and energy saver! Both Kevin and I love this lasagna that is packed with veggies and flavor. Little Kevin has some of his own pasta and broccoli, which he loves!

IMG_6416  IMG_6422

8:30 p.m. ​After dinner my hubby helps me get Kevin ready for bed and then heads to his second job at the brewery. I lay down with Kevin and get him to sleep and pretty much fall asleep next to him- that’s the norm these days! I force myself to get up because I have some things I need to get done before I go to bed. I eat a mini Twix egg for some energy and a sweet treat. I also ended up eating the crumbled up chips at the bottom of the bag too but don’t have a picture of that. Just keeping it real over here! 🙂 I ended up taking my tired pregnant self to bed around 10:30… way later than I wanted but my long to-do list was haunting me!

FullSizeRender-2

And that’s what I ate yesterday! A pretty typical day. On days that I work out or run more I usually try to eat a little more, but I felt perfectly satisfied all day so that’s good! What was the best thing you ate recently?

Leave a Reply

