Baby 2.0 – 34 Weeks

Week 34 was amazing in many ways, thanks to being off for spring break and getting to spend quality time with my boy. But of course there’s always something to test me! I had a few emotional breakdowns from problems that are resolved or are in the process of becoming resolved now, so all is well again. Whew! Here are all the details about week 34.

11121787_1562903577304893_8179557236435752278_n

Baby

This week baby is the size of a butternut squash, wow! He should be above 4 pounds now! He’s doing a lot of listening in on the sounds that are happening around him. That is nice to hear because we have been talking to him a lot- especially little Kev who loves to put his head on my belly to feel him and talk to him. I have started to feel him hiccuping occasionally too, which is fun 🙂

FullSizeRender-1 FullSizeRender

Body

The belly is growing pretty quickly at this point! At my doctor’s appointment this past week I was measuring about a week ahead, when all along I’ve been measuring perfectly for the week I was. I knew I went through a growth spurt! I can feel him everywhere, all the time, both deep in my pelvis and up in my ribs like he’s all stretched out in there. I think that’s why my belly is shaped different this time, despite gaining the exact same amount of weight as before. I know his head is low because of the sharp pains I feel every once in a while down below, which my midwife said is probably his head on the cervix or a nerve down there. It’s also getting more uncomfortable to sit for long periods of time. He just has to space to move and doesn’t like it!

34 weeks last time vs. this time

34 weeks last time vs. this time. Pretty different!

DSCN4279

I still feel like I am in the first trimester again due to the fatigue, occasional nausea, headaches and feelings of lightheadedness. I also have been getting pretty hot at night just like in the first trimester. It is interesting how it comes full circle! Kevin has been telling me lately that I’ve been breathing more heavily, especially at night.  I looked this up and found this explanation on BabyCenter: “You need more oxygen during pregnancy, and your body adapts to meet this need in several ways. An increase in hormones, particularly progesterone, directly affects your lungs and stimulates the respiratory center in your brain. And while the number of breaths you take per minute actually changes very little during pregnancy, the amount of air you inhale and exhale with each breath increases significantly. Later in pregnancy, as your growing uterus puts pressure on your diaphragm, your breathing might feel more labored – especially if you are carrying your baby high, are carrying multiples, or have excessive amniotic fluid.” This makes a lot of sense to me, especially since I do seem to be carrying higher this time.

DSCN4281  DSCN4282

Aside from that, my once very deep belly button is getting closer to popping out. It never did last time, but I think it’s going to with baby #2. There’s already a weird little flap that sticks out and the skin around my old belly button piercing hole feels uncomfortable and tight. I think it’s only a matter of time! I still don’t see a real linea negra, which I definitely had at this point last time. Sometimes I think I see it and others I don’t… who knows! I also noticed that I’m starting to produce some colostrum, which is exciting and makes me realize how soon Kyler will be here!

Weird belly button flap! LOL

Weird belly button flap! LOL

Mind

While this was my week off from work, we stayed plenty busy in other ways! I made sure to do lots of fun things with little Kev and fully enjoy my time with him as my only child before another one joins the family.

Having fun at the playground!

Having fun at the playground!

We also stayed busy getting stuff done around the house. My husband painted Kevin’s new big boy room and we moved his bed and other things into it, and I put the nursery back together the way it was when we first had Kevin. We’re still putting finishing touches on the rooms so I don’t have any real photos yet, but I will share some once they’re done!

Waving hi to the camera from his big boy room!

Waving hi to the camera from his big boy room!

Aside from that I continued doubling our dinners each night and freezing the extra for after baby is here, we ordered some birth supplies, and attended our ‘birthday planning meeting’ at the Birth Center with the other families that are due in May. I got my TDAP vaccination and finalized who will be encapsulating my placenta after birth, like we did last time. Like I said, we got a LOT done!

Now onto the hard stuff. At my doctor’s appointment on Tuesday I opened up my chart which they give us to record our own weight and blood pressure, and I saw a note inside that said we owe them $4,500. Long story short, we had an issue with our insurance company  and the birth center not being in agreement about what was in network. I was really upset because nobody had told me that we were now considered out-of-network for the 15+ weeks that we had been going there. I was really worried we’d have to go back to my old practice and not go through the birth center anymore, but after a lot of phone calls, discussions and tears it all got resolved and is NOT costing us $4,500! Thank God! We also had another issue with Kevin’s pediatrician not wanting to sign the paperwork that says they agree to see our baby after birth, since he’s being born outside of the hospital. This one is currently being resolved, but it was another source of stress and worry this week that I didn’t need.

Food

This week it was much warmer outside, which had me craving some of my old favorites- especially smoothies! I haven’t wanted them for a long time but now I’m loving them again. Woo hoo! We’ve been doing really well sticking to our meal plan for the most part and doubling everything up to create some freezer meals. We did order pizza one night from our favorite local place which was delicious, and got ice cream another night (after my emotional breakdown). All in a balanced diet 🙂

11102728_10108442107281224_2122948104237356751_n

Kevin loves green smoothies too!

Fitness

My favorite run this week was by far my 5 mile “long run” with my running buddies on Saturday. I felt better than I have in weeks, and I know it’s all due to the 7 amazing women I ran with. We haven’t been able to coordinate a real group run in months but it somehow all worked out. We met in Fredericksburg and did a route that was beautiful and went by so fast- even though we kept our pace nice & easy for the pregnant one (me) and some of us who are recovering from injury/coming back from having babies/etc. I had absolutely NO aches or pains either. It helped that the course was pretty much flat so it didn’t stress my body too much like the hills around my house. I was in a fabulous mood after that and hopeful for a few more good runs in this pregnancy! Other than that, I did the rest of my runs “naked” or without a watch. I really like doing that because it helps me enjoy myself more and allows me to really listen to my body. I was also proud to have made it to Body Pump twice this week after missing a class last week. I am so happy that I’ve kept up with my strength training during pregnancy, which was one of my main goals!

  • Monday – Rest Day
  • Tuesday – Body Pump
  • Wednesday – ​3 miles @ ? (untimed)
  • Thursday – 2 miles @ ? (untimed)
  • Friday – 3 miles @ ? (untimed)
  • Saturday – 5 miles @ 11:29 pace
  • Sunday – Body Pump
  • Run – 13 miles
  • Strength – 2x

11110442_10108441840161534_2153635939306552849_n

Week 34 Summary

  • Weight gained this week: +1.0 lb. I’ve been gaining a pound a week pretty steadily lately.
  • Total weight gained: +24.0 lbs.
  • Belly button status: About to pop!
  • Linea negra status: I don’t know. Kevin says there’s nothing there, I feel like I can see a little something.
  • Stretch mark status: Still none, but growing fast these days so I wouldn’t be surprised to see a few pop up between now and the end!
  • Best part of the week: Seeing how excited Kevin was about his new big boy room. Melted my heart!
  • Looking forward to: Maternity photos this weekend!
  • # of days until my next appointment: 15. Then my appointments become weekly!
  • # of days until my next race: 12. I’ll be running a 5K at a local hospital!

34 weeks last time around!​

Leave a Reply

