Stafford Runway Runaway 5K (Recap by Kevin!)

10608246_618430181620024_7287077239459349636_o

This morning Kevin ran the Stafford Runway Runaway 5K. I did this race last year and loved it, but I’m doing a 10K next weekend so Kevin decided to run this year! It has been a LONG time since he ran a race and I spectated… we’re talking years! It was really fun though and I enjoyed being on the other side. Here is the recap of the race in his own words.

DSCN4152

Coming in to this race, I wasn’t sure if I would be able to run due to a recent groin sprain that happened 2 weeks ago. I hadn’t really ran since the half marathon in Myrtle Beach, and knew it would probably be struggle with my injury and lack of running. 

DSCN4154

Waiting for daddy to start running! 

DSCN4156

Flyover before the race started

I looked at the running map right before the start and thought that it was a lollipop type race, but as I started running, I noticed that it was a double out and back… which sucked. It was a new route compared to the one last year due to safety regulations with the race being on a runway. I’m not sure how other people felt about it, but while I enjoyed the flat surface, I hated the fact that I had to run the same course twice to get to the 3.1 miles.  

DSCN4161

DSCN4162

The first place runner leading the pack 

The weather turned out to be pretty good, except for the wind on the runway. I got about 1.5 miles in before I realized I had gone out too fast (like usual), and had to slow down a little bit to catch my breath. I didn’t have a Garmin on me, so I wasn’t really aware of my time so I just went with the flow. The only good thing about out and back twice was being able to see my supporters, Katie and Kevin. It was great seeing them on the course multiple times and getting motivated to finish. 

DSCN4163

DSCN4164

On my final out and back, I had to start weaving in and out of walkers that were still on their first loop. Once I caught eyes with the finish, I pushed it and gave it all I had.

DSCN4169

DSCN4171

I finished in 25:45 (8:17 average pace). I was pretty surprised at this time due to the fact that I had not really trained and had been recently injured. Overall it was a good, local race and I’m glad I did it!

DSCN4172

I’m so proud of my hubby! He’s such a machine. I don’t know how he manages to pull off such great times without really running consistently. He really excels at the 5K and 10K distances especially (his 5K PR is 21:28!) and it’s fun to watch him race! Thanks for writing this recap, Kevin!

Leave a Reply

