Stridebox: February

Screen Shot 2014-10-12 at 9.11.18 PMIt’s time for another Stridebox review! Stridebox is a $15 monthly subscription box that contains samples of all things running related- nutrition, gear, and fun extras. I have now tried everything that was in my February box (with a little help from my hubby) and I am ready to review the items I received.

FullSizeRender

FullSizeRender-2

Kevin and I gave this month’s box 2 thumbs up! Here’s everything I received this month and my review of it all!

FullSizeRender-1

Nuun Energy (Wild Berry): This wasn’t on my Stride Guide Card so I think it was an extra item, which is fine because I’m a big fan of Nuun! Last month I received the cherry limeade flavor which I liked a lot, and this month I got wild berry- which I’ve had before and also love. These little tablets contain electrolytes, B vitamins and no added sugars. They have added a little bit of caffeine too, which I definitely appreciate. I like to drink Nuun after a sweaty long run, and sometimes in the summer I drink it while running as well. Retail: $8.00/10 tabs ($0.80 each).

Picky Bar Energy Bar (Cookie Doughpness): I was so excited to see a Picky Bar in my Stridebox because I have been wanting to try one for a long time! I was also excited about the cookie dough flavor. It definitely did not disappoint. It tasted delicious and kept me full for a few hours. I really like the short ingredient list that consists of things that I can pronounce, and the fact that these bars are gluten, dairy, and soy free. I’m a big fan of elite runner Lauren Fleshman who is one of the creators of these bars AND the company is located in Bend, Oregon where some of my family lives- one of my favorite places ever! I will definitely be repurchasing these in the future, and I hope I can try more types too.  Retail: $27.50/10 pouches ($2.75 each).

Skratch Labs – Apples & Cinnamon: I wasn’t 100% sure about this powdered recovery drink mix because I received another flavor in a previous Stridebox and didn’t love it. This one was actually made to be mixed with hot water though, and I love apples & cinnamon so I was intrigued. I drank this after a longer 7 mile run when I was feeling a little chilled, and it did taste pretty good! My only complaint was that it started to separate from the water after only a few minutes. I had to keep restirring it and it was different to fully dissolve the powder. However, it was a definite improvement over the last flavor I tried (Matcha Green Tea & Lemon). Retail: $1.95/pouch.

Chike – High Protein Iced Coffee: I passed this one onto my husband because it contained dairy and he is a big iced coffee fan. Here is what he had to say about it: “This iced coffee was very flavorful and tasted like an iced latte. I couldn’t tell at all that it has protein in it, unlike some other protein drinks that taste chalky. I would definitely buy this again.”  Retail: $32.95/12 pouches ($2.75 each).

Vitalyte – Chia Surge Gel (Orange Pineapple): I wasn’t sure how I would like this gel because I’m not a big orange fan. I was hoping the pineapple would help with that, and thankfully it did! I took this gel halfway through a longer run and I liked it. I’m usually weird with certain textures, but the chia seeds didn’t bother me very much. I’m not sure it would be the first energy gel I would choose to buy on my own, but I’m glad I tried it! Retail: $7.00/4 packets ($1.75 each).

Joshua Tree – Organic Lip Balm:  Anyone that knows me knows that I don’t go anywhere without my chapstick. I’m a loyal Burts Bees user, but that doesn’t mean I won’t try others! I liked this one and I’m glad to have another chapstick to add to my emergency stash 🙂 Retail: $4.50.

Stridebox – Tech-Friendly Running Gloves: I was so happy to receive these gloves in my box! We had a really cold winter, and I’ve been loving my heavy duty warm Mizuno gloves. However, now that it’s beginning to warm up a little I needed something lighter. It was an added bonus that they are ‘tech-friendly’ which means I can wear them and still use my iPhone. Retail: $8.99.

Running Sticker. Always love this cute monthly addition to my box!

FullSizeRender-4

I really enjoyed my February Stridebox! Last month I complained that most of the products in my box were whey-based or had dairy in them.  Not a huge deal to most people, but as someone who is sensitive to dairy it definitely was a little bit of a downer. This month I was very happy to see that there was only one that contained dairy, so I could try everything else myself. It was a good month for me!

I just received my March box and took a video of the unboxing, like I did a couple months ago. I have already started trying what I received too! I’ll be back in a few weeks with another review 🙂

Previous Stridebox reviews:

Disclaimer: I am in no way affiliated with Stridebox (I wish I was! LOL). I purchased this subscription myself and all opinions are my own.

One response to “Stridebox: February

  1. Pingback: Stridebox: March | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

