Baby 2.0 – 30 Weeks

30 weeks!!! Entering into the 30s feels so important to me! It also makes me panic a little bit because it feels like I’m running out of time to get things done. I know that I have plenty of time still, but it’s getting REAL! Check out the progression pics below from 4 weeks, 20 weeks, and 30 weeks. The transformation bodies go through during pregnancy is amazing to me!

IMG_5579

IMG_5577

Baby

This week baby is the size of a cucumber. That seems so long, but I believe it because I feel him everywhere all the time! I am starting to notice different body parts too. I can feel a little butt poking out on one side and feet on the other.  When he pushes out with his legs both sides of my belly go out at once. I also feel little tickly movements down low, which I think are his hands up by his head since that’s how he always is in the ultrasounds. So cool! Right now baby is working on developing his eyesight. His skin is smoothing out as he puts on more fat. He’s also strong enough to start grasping onto things now!

FullSizeRender-5  FullSizeRender-4

Body

I felt pretty good this week physically, despite not getting great sleep. I think my body is adapting to less sleep already to prepare me for when the baby comes. I really think that my iron supplements are helping a ton with my energy levels, so I’m thankful for that. I don’t find myself falling asleep mid-afternoon anymore and have a stable amount of energy to get me through the day which is so nice!

DSCN4068 DSCN4060

The main thing that is keeping me from getting good sleep isn’t that I’m uncomfortable or anything. Kyler does like to move more at night which makes it harder to sleep at times, but I haven’t had any more leg cramps- thank goodness! The thing that is keeping me from decent sleep is INSANE dreams. I don’t know what’s causing it- more hormones maybe- but my vivid, intense dreams are back just like in the first trimester. It’s like a movie marathon that plays in my head every night. The dreams can be like an action movie, or about something disturbing, or even sexual. It varies, but  it makes me wake up in the morning feeling like my mind didn’t have a chance to rest!

DSCN4067 DSCN4064

One interesting development I’ve been noticing is that I am already beginning to produce some colostrum. I am pretty sure this didn’t happen until after birth last time, so it’s exciting! I can only hope that breastfeeding goes a little easier with this baby than it did with Kevin. We struggled with it for a while, but I learned so much from that experience that I know I can apply with Kyler, so I’m hopeful!

Mind

What’s been on my mind this week is getting everything ready for baby. Nesting has hit me hard! I have been super busy checking off the to-do list for baby and also things that need to be done around the house that we have been putting off. This is why I haven’t had time to blog besides these weekly updates! I have so many things I want to blog about, I need to make the time! It helped that I had two more snow days this past week which meant I had more time to work around the house. Things we have accomplished include sorting through our newborn/0-3 size clothes (we have a TON thanks to baby brother!), creating a plan for our home birth when it comes to who is going to take care of Kevin, cleaning/organizing around the house, ordering a breast pump through my insurance, finally getting our new appliances installed, researching supplies for home birth, etc. Whew!! We have more on the list to do this weekend too. It feels good to check things off and be productive 🙂

FullSizeRender-2

IMG_5510

I found the hat Kevin wore right after birth and instantly cried!

Another thing I had to work on was a baby registry. I didn’t expect to have to do this with baby #2 since we have so much from Kevin, but some friends and family members are really insistent that we should celebrate Kyler and throw him a little baby sprinkle. We registered for the necessities like diapers, breastfeeding supplies, new pacifiers and bottles, and some fun stuff as well. It will be on March 29th and although I originally felt silly for having another shower when I don’t need much, I am starting to get excited instead to celebrate this new little baby with all the people that love him already!

11043246_10108243285142384_7848659278181964781_o

My friend made this for our online invitation. How cute is it?!

Food

Our food plans this week were once again a little challenging because we were without an oven and a stove. On Thursday during the big snowstorm Sears finally decided to show up with our delivery. However, they said the installation wasn’t in their orders. Oh and the fridge they brought was the wrong one and too big for the space we have. Awesome. So we couldn’t get them installed until the following night when my brother-in-law came over to help. In the meantime we kept our meals simple and did some cooking at our neighbor’s house again. I am so excited to have a working oven and stove again, and to get back to our regular meal planning and cooking! My body is already thanking me! Our new fridge should arrive this Saturday and then we’ll be complete 🙂

1907455_10108274911966974_3765336486449696992_n

Fitness

This week due to the weather I went back and forth between indoor and outdoor runs. The week started with snow and ice, then we had a few nice days, then we had more snow and ice, and then a weekend of beautiful warmer weather. The highlight of the week in terms of running was Sunday, when Laura and I were feeling extra ambitious. Despite losing an hour of sleep due to daylight savings, we met up at 7:00 a.m. to do our 7 mile long run. There was still a good amount of snow and ice around our town, and of course we took a very hilly route, but it was a GREAT run! The miles flew by, and the best part of the run were the few miles in the middle where we ran around and explored a new community they’re building near our neighborhood. Our pace was pretty slow, but it felt comfortable and we had an awesome time together.

11058407_10108282446782144_1100109059529490168_n

In other news, unfortunately the new belly band I bought to try isn’t the best for running. I really like the support it provides for walking and body pump and even daily activities, but it’s not enough for high-impact things like running- at least for me, and I have it in size extra small/small. I like my other one better because it actually lifts everything up which reduces some of the pressure. My new one just hugs everything in, so I felt a little crampy on my runs since it was lacking the lifting feature. Oh well, live and learn!

  • Monday – 3 miles @ 10:32 pace
  • Tuesday – Rest Day
  • Wednesday – ​Body Pump + 2 miles @ 10:35 pace
  • Thursday – Rest Day
  • Friday – 4 miles @ 10:32 pace
  • Saturday – Body Pump + 2 miles @ 10:42 pace
  • Sunday – 7 miles @ 11:06 pace
  • Run – 18 miles
  • Strength – 2x

FullSizeRender-3

Week 30 Summary

  • Weight gained this week: + 0.2 lbs.
  • Total weight gained: +19.8 lbs. This will be the week I surpass the 20 pound mark I’m sure!
  • Linea negra status: not as dark as it was with Kevin’s pregnancy at this point but I think there may be something there?
  • Stretch mark status: still nothing. Really hoping it stays that way.
  • Belly button status: getting shallow
  • Favorite part of the week: even more snow days followed by beautiful weather. I’m ready for spring now!
  • Looking forward to: the weekend with my little family of 3 and a group run with friends on Sunday.
  • # of days until my next race: 18! I’ll be doing a 10K with some friends on March 28th.
  • # of days until our baby sprinkle: 19. It is the next day, on March 29th 🙂

30 weeks last time around!​

Leave a Reply

