Baby 2.0 – 29 Weeks

Ahhh! I seriously cannot believe this is my last week in the 20s. Next week I’ll be 30 weeks- where does the time go? This week was less eventful than last week, but still memorable in many ways. Read on for details!

Grow baby grow! Same outfit from 19 to 28 weeks!

Grow baby grow! Same outfit from 19 to 28 weeks!

Baby

This week baby is the size of an acorn squash! He now weighs at least 2.5 pounds and is over 15 inches from head to heels. Between now and birth (in about 11 weeks!) he will triple in weight! The head is currently getting bigger to accommodate his growing brain, and his muscles and lungs are continuing to develop and mature. He is starting to get cramped as he runs out of room, and at the same time he has fat deposits under it’s skin which causes him to have surges of energy. So he’s moving all the time but has less room to move – which feels REALLY weird most of the time and causes my stomach to morph into weird shapes.

FullSizeRender  FullSizeRender-1

Body

I felt pretty good this week physically. I started taking the recommended dosage of iron a little over a week ago (3 pills two times a day) based on how anemic I was in my blood test. After a couple days I noticed a difference in how I felt and my energy levels. It’s actually pretty amazing! I was worried that too much iron would cause some unpleasant side effects like constipation and nausea, but the brand my midwives recommended (MegaFood Blood Builder) is great and easy on the digestive system because its a “whole food supplement”. It also contains Vitamin C, Folate, B12 and beet root for better absorption and an extra boost. The only downside is that they taste awful, so it’s a little tricky to get them down at first. I’ve gotten used to it though!

DSCN4050 DSCN4052

I continued to get pretty good sleep for the most part this week. The majority of the nights I was able to get 7-9 hours, which is huge! I did have a few bad nights but that’s to be expected at this point. Kyler likes to randomly have dance parties when I’m trying to fall asleep and then again around 3:30-4:00 a.m. He is so active that it actually wakes me up! I also woke up to a pretty bad leg cramp one night. I think it happened when I stretched my leg out. This was something I experienced last time as well, and I know it tends to be normal in pregnancy. My leg felt pretty sore for a few hours but it eventually went away.

DSCN4053 DSCN4054

Mind

I had kind of a rough week in terms of work stress, but it was nicely balanced out with 2 more snow days and a 2 hour delay! These extra days at home with Kevin have been SUCH a blessing. I’m so happy to be able to spend more time with him before another little one comes along. We had a lot of fun this week playing with blocks and trains, coloring and practicing making circles, and making fun meals like Olaf pancakes with a new waffle maker my aunt gave us. I am cherishing these special days with my first born 🙂

Screen Shot 2015-03-02 at 9.45.35 AM

10982237_10108247894639914_9066531500582738540_n

Another part of this week that made me really happy was finally getting to go home to Pennsylvania to see my family and friends. We haven’t been back since Thanksgiving! I never go that long between visits! We packed a lot of fun things into our short weekend trip- quality time with my sister and dad, my best friends and my aunt and uncle. I also got an amazing 7 mile run in around my hometown, which always makes me happy. This was our last long trip until after baby is here, so it was a little strange knowing the next time we travel or come to PA we’ll have another little one with us.

1546066_10108239496410034_2662268915299072203_n

Snuggling with Aunt Yaya (my sister)

Food

Our food plans were a little challenging to keep up with this week due to our oven/stove breaking. I never realized how often we used that thing! It broke on Sunday night and we ordered a new set of appliances on Monday. They told us delivery would be the following Monday, which wasn’t ideal but it was fine because our neighbors offered to let us use their kitchen since they work in the evenings. This was a huge blessing since we had already bought groceries for the week and didn’t want to throw our meal plan out the window. On Friday we went to Pennsylvania for the weekend, where I let myself have some of my favorite things but definitely did not go overboard at all like in Myrtle Beach. I was proud of that! It is now Monday, and we just received word that our delivery has been pushed back to Wednesday. We’re a little frustrated but we will just have to make it work until then!

Fitness

I’m definitely at the point in pregnancy where running and staying active feels like a roller coaster of highs and lows, and I go back and forth between good and difficult runs. I had one really tough 4 mile run on Wednesday, where I felt really heavy and slow and couldn’t find my groove. I pushed through anyway and was proud when I finished, but it was a little discouraging. My runs the rest of the week were fine though, despite some of them being mentally hard because they were on the treadmill. Then on Saturday my 7 mile outdoor long run felt great and at times I didn’t even feel pregnant. Even more surprisingly, I forgot to wear my maternity support belt but I didn’t even miss it or feel uncomfortable. I really appreciate the good runs lately because I don’t know how long they will last! This is the first week of my entire pregnancy that my weekly mileage has dipped below 20 miles, but I feel okay with that at this point. I ended February with 84 miles, which I am very proud of!

  • Monday – Rest Day
  • Tuesday – 1 mile @ 11:10 pace (with the kids at my school’s running club)
  • Wednesday – ​4 miles @ 10:38 pace
  • Thursday – Body Pump + 2 miles @ 10:26 pace
  • Friday – 3 miles @ 10:21
  • Saturday – 7 miles @ 10:29 pace
  • Sunday – Rest Day
  • Run – 17 miles
  • Strength – 1x

IMG_5417

Week 29 Summary

  • Weight gained this week: + 1.0 lbs.
  • Total weight gained: +19.6 lbs.
  • Linea negra status: getting a little darker week by week, but I still can only really see it in photos
  • Stretch mark status: none yet!
  • Belly button status: definitely more shallow at this point than it was last time. It never actually popped last time but got close. We’ll see!
  • Favorite part of the week: going home to Pennsylvania!
  • Looking forward to: Truthfully- the Bachelor Women Tell All episode tonight. LOL! I have ice cream and everything! Can’t wait for the drama 🙂
  • # of days until my next appointment: 8

29 weeks last time around!​

Leave a Reply

