Baby 2.0 – 26 Weeks

Well, week 26 was definitely more eventful than week 25! It was a rollercoaster, pretty great in some ways and not-so-great in others. Read on for the details!

DSCN4010

Kisses for baby brother Kyler 🙂

Baby

This week baby is the size of a head of lettuce (umm, huge!). He is starting to soak up all of my antibodies to prepare his immune system for life on the outside. He is also starting to practice “breathing” in amniotic fluid, and is continuing to develop all 5 senses. As of this week there’s officially less than 100 days until my due date… 98 days to go. Eek!! That sounds a little scary!

FullSizeRender-1  FullSizeRender

Body

I had some more physical symptoms this week compared to last.​ It’s like my body gave me a break then decided to kick it back up again- maybe another hormonal fluctuation? Most notably this week I had a good amount of heartburn and headaches. I also had some nosebleeds, which has happened on and off throughout pregnancy but for some reason it happened quite a bit this week (maybe due to the dry air?). I’m definitely feeling pregnant lately! On the plus side, the whole family is pretty much over our congestion and coughing, which is making us all a lot happier!

DSCN4006  DSCN4007

My goal for myself this week was to focus on getting quality sleep, at least 7 hours a night. There were only 2 nights that I wasn’t able to do that and got about 6-6.5 instead. Coincidentally I was extra emotional the following days, so I’m realizing how much decent sleep affects my mood, emotions and overall feeling of well-being. My goal is to really make that a priority for the next 14ish weeks of pregnancy!

DSCN4008  DSCN4009

I found this picture from 26 weeks last time around and I thought it was interesting to compare! I’m wearing the same shirt in both pictures but obviously there are some differences. This time I’m less blonde and less tan, my belly is shaped a little differently and is positioned lower, and my butt is bigger (LOL), yet I’ve gained almost the exact same amount of weight as before… actually a little less at this point! It’s so interesting how two pregnancies can feel and look different with the same person, just two years apart!

IMG_4658

Mind

I was a little sad and emotional on some days this past week because I’m starting to realize how quickly things are changing, and will continue to change as we make the transition from 1 to 2 kids. My baby boy is turning into a big boy and I can’t sit with him in his glider to read books and rock him before bed like we used to. He’s getting too big and so is my belly, and it’s just not comfortable anymore. Soon we will have a new baby in this nursery but he’ll always be my firstborn, who taught me how to be a mommy and showed me what unconditional love is all about. It’s been the most amazing and challenging ride of my life and I know it’s still only beginning, but I feel really emotional about closing this chapter soon. This past week I got pretty upset during Kevin’s bedtime routine because I realized it was probably one of the last times I could sit with him in our chair, since it’s so uncomfortable for me now. I started crying while trying to rock him before bed and he looked up at me, put his hand on my cheek and said, “It’s okay Mommy.” Cue even MORE tears! We’ve been doing this routine every day since we brought him home from the hospital, almost 2 1/2 years ago, so to not to be able to anymore makes me very emotional. I know we are going to need to come up with a new special bedtime routine so that I can continue to have this time with him now and once the baby is here too.

10464019_10108071222871554_6805937034768961810_n

In other stressful news, we woke up one morning this week to find that someone went on a shopping spree with my husband’s debit card. This is the first time something like this has happened to us and we felt so violated. Luckily I caught it really fast and we were able to contact the bank and all of the companies that the person spent our money on, and we got it all back and canceled our card. We’ll just need to keep an extra careful eye on our accounts now to make sure nothing else pops up. Ugh, what a headache!

Food

So we are now into February and our “eat at home” challenge from January is continuing! This week’s yummy meals included pasta with lemon basil butter sauce, black bean and quinoa enchilada bake, spiced red lentil soup, homemade burrito bowls, and Mexican salads with roasted chickpeas. Talk about delicious! Dinners like that do not make me miss eating out at all!

Fitness

This week I felt pretty good on most of my runs! We went back and forth between cold and warmer weather, and this past weekend was amazing! Saturday it was 55 degrees, and Sunday got close to 70! I was LOVING it, although my “long” run of 6 miles on Sunday with my boys felt more challenging because I’m not really used to the warm weather anymore. I also was able to run with Laura on Saturday and made it to Body Pump twice this week. It was a great week for fitness!

  • Monday – Rest Day
  • Tuesday – 2 miles @ 11:17 pace
  • Wednesday – ​4 miles @ 10:26 pace
  • Thursday – Body Pump
  • Friday – 4 miles @ 10:32 pace
  • Saturday – 1 mile walk + Body Pump + 4 miles @ 10:30
  • Sunday – 6 miles @ 10:35 pace
  • Run – 20 miles
  • Walk – 1 mile
  • Strength – 2x

10403245_1536834053245179_3642543519093725647_n

Week 26 Summary

  • Weight gained this week: +0.4 lbs.
  • Total weight gained: +16.6 lbs.
  • Linea negra status: not sure, I feel like if I squint I can see it starting to come out!
  • Stretch mark status: nope
  • Belly button status: still getting shallower!
  • Favorite part of the week: spending time with my family in the beautiful weather this weekend
  • Looking forward to: Heading to Myrtle Beach for our mini-vacation on Wednesday! So soon!
  • # of days until our next race: 5! Eek!

26 weeks last time around!​

Leave a Reply

