Stridebox: January

Screen Shot 2014-10-12 at 9.11.18 PMIt’s time for another Stridebox review! In case you haven’t heard, Stridebox is a $15 monthly subscription box for all things running related. As of today I have tried everything that was in my January box (with a little help from my hubby) and I am ready to review the items I received.

FullSizeRender-8

To celebrate the new year, Stridebox unveiled a new look. They had a new box design, a different “Stride Guide” and the box was loaded with stuff- not just food, but gear and other fun stuff too!

IMG_3997

FullSizeRender-9

Here’s everything I received this month and my review of it all!

FullSizeRender-10

Detour – Smart Bar (Blueberry): I can’t believe these filling little bars have only 130 calories and 10 grams of protein! It tasted pretty good too! They are gluten-free and made of organic whole grains, oatmeal, whey protein and natural sweeteners. I also noticed real pieces of blueberries and apple when I ate it. I’ve just started seeing them in grocery stores around me, so I might pick up another one some day. Although I do try to choose bars that do not contain dairy or whey protein because my body doesn’t digest it well.  Retail: $14.85/9 bars ($1.65 each).

G Endurance – Gatorlytes:  This teeny tiny packet contains an electrolyte blend especially for salty sweaters and athletes who tend to get cramps. My husband and I both fall into this category, so we thought this would be a great product to try. However, we missed the memo that you are supposed to mix this with regular Gatorade or another type of sports drink. We just mixed it with water and my hubby took one sip and spit it out. He said it just tasted like salty water and didn’t understand how people could drink it. Duh, note to self: read the directions more carefully next time! We’ll have to give this another shot and do it the proper way. Retail: $14.99/20 pouches ($0.75 each).

Designer Whey – Protein2Go (Lemonade):  Another whey-based product. I passed it onto Kevin who doesn’t have any dairy sensitivity. He mixed it with water after a long run and said it was just okay. He said it tasted like watered down lemonade and he didn’t think it was worth the pretty steep price, over $3.00 for one pouch. We wouldn’t purchase this one again unfortunately. Retail: $15.90/5 pouches ($3.18 each).

GU Energy – Brew Recovery Drink (Chocolate Smoothie): I passed this one onto my husband because again, it was a dairy-based drink mix and I knew my stomach would hate me if I had it. He was super excited because he loves anything and everything chocolate. He mixed the packet into a smoothie with banana and ice and said it was delicious. However, like the lemonade protein mix the price per packet is a little steep, and Kevin said he’d be more inclined to buy a large container of protein powder instead because it costs less.  Retail: $36.00/12 packets ($3.00 each).

Nuun Energy (Cherry Limeade): I’m a big fan of Nuun so I was excited to see this in my box! Especially because it was cherry limeade, a flavor I haven’t tried before. These little tablets contain electrolytes, B vitamins and no added sugars. They have recently added a little bit of caffeine too, which I definitely appreciate. I like to drink Nuun after a sweaty long run, and sometimes in the summer I drink it while running as well. It always does the trick for me 🙂 Retail: $8.00/10 tabs ($0.80 each).

2Toms – Blister Shield: Okay, so I lied earlier. I said I had tried everything in this box and then I realized I hadn’t tried this yet. That is mostly because I tend to get blisters more in the summer when it’s really hot and I sweat a ton, so I want to save it for then. This is a pretty interesting product- it’s a powder that you pour into your shoe, sock or glove that prevents friction and blisters. It then washes out with soap and water. I’ll be interested to try this and see how it works in the summer! Retail: $1.50/pouch.

Stridebox – Mini Training Log: This cute little training log contains 13 weeks, plus a section for training notes, and a race tracker. I have used Daily Mile to track my running for years, but I’m a paper and pencil girl at heart so I love this (which is why I love my Erin Condren Life Planner!).  Retail: $5.99.

Stridebox Safety – StrideLights: Since many of my runs lately have been in the early morning darkness, I am all about the safety products these days! These little lights are motion-activated and lace into each shoe. The battery is good for over 150,000 strides and is actually really bright. This is definitely a great addition to my gear to ensure my safety in the dark! Retails: $9.99.

Fun Extras – Running sticker, Stridebox temporary tattoo, and Rundana coupon. Who doesn’t love stuff like this?! 🙂

FullSizeRender-7

My only criticism of this month’s box was that it contained a lot of products that were whey-based or had dairy in them. In the past my boxes have maybe had 1 or 2 items that did, but this month the majority of the nutrition-related items were dairy-based. Not a huge deal to most people I’m sure, but as someone who is sensitive to dairy it definitely put a little bit of a damper on this box.  Oh well, can’t win them all! I do like the new look of the box and the way they notate on the Stride Guide whether the product is best used before, during and/or after your workout. My February box has shipped but I haven’t received it yet. I can’t wait to see what’s inside!

Previous Stridebox reviews:

Disclaimer: I am in no way affiliated with Stridebox (I wish I was! LOL). I purchased this subscription myself and all opinions are my own.

3 responses to “Stridebox: January

  1. Pingback: Stridebox: February | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: Stridebox: March | Run Inspired

  3. Hallo, i need your help.
    I’m interested in buying mini training log by stride box but i live in Italy and stride box doesn’ ship to my country.
    Can you help me ?
    Can you buy it for me and send il to me with a mark up ?
    waiting for a repoly,
    best regrads
    stefano chesi

Leave a Reply

