Baby 2.0 – 25 Weeks

Hello week 25! Apparently I have no notes about this week! I guess that means it was relatively uneventful, which I’m actually happy about because the last few weeks (and months) have been crazy! Looking back on the week now, there are definitely some things worth mentioning, but a lot of it is more of the same. Read on for all the details!

FullSizeRender

Baby

This week baby is the size of a cauliflower. He is now at least 13.5 inches from head to heels and weighs about 1.5 – 2.5 pounds. He is starting to fill out and fatten up, and will continue to do so for the next 15(ish) weeks. Something cool I learned is that he can now tell which way is up and down as he develops his sense of equilibrium. He is also starting to grow nails, grasp his hands, and wiggle his fingers and toes!

FullSizeRender-1  FullSizeRender-2

Body

I didn’t have as much belly discomfort this week so I think I’m past the growth spurt or whatever that was in week 24. I’ve been having some of the same typical symptoms though, mostly heartburn, even hours after eating, and peeing a little bit when I sneeze… you know, the usual 🙂

DSCN3999  DSCN4000

We’ve all been dealing with a touch of sickness this week. Nothing terrible, just a little cough and congestion. Other than that I’ve felt pretty good for the most part. My energy level was a LOT better than last week and that’s made all the difference.

DSCN4002  DSCN4003

Other than that, just a whole lot of movement happening in there! I can actually see it from the outside at this point. I keep trying to get it on video but of course once I start it he stops moving. I’ll catch it one of these days!

Mind

All of our low key weekends lately and another snow day have feeling pretty relaxed lately! I am so glad we decided to not plan anything big for a while after the holidays. It’s been so nice. We’ve been able to take it easy but also get some much needed things done around the house. I figured out how many weekends we have left until my due date, and picked one ‘project’ for each of them. This makes all the things we’ve been wanting to do before baby #2 comes so much more manageable! Some of the projects are small and some are a little more time intensive, but we’ve been working together a little bit both days of the weekend to get them done. This past weekend our project was organizing the extra room in the basement that currently contains a whole lot of stuff. We didn’t get totally finished with it, but my hubby did bring up some of the baby stuff we had down there. WOW, it definitely brought back memories! And made me so happy that I don’t have to buy it all again!

1549476_10108042398600624_1764900284599433582_n

In other exciting news, we decided on a name for our little man! We’ve had this name in mind for a while (even before we knew it was another boy) but we wanted to try it out for a while to see if it was a good fit. We now feel 100% confident in our decision. Our baby will be named Kyler James Spaulding 🙂 My hubby actually suggested Kyler, which we love because it’s not super common but not too unusual. It actually has Dutch origin, and my grandma was born and grew up in the Netherlands. James is my dad’s name. We think it’s perfect because Kevin is named after my hubby’s side (he’s Kevin Troy Spaulding III), and we wanted this baby to be named after my side. I am LOVING being able to call him by his name!

10959839_10108037855480074_3852993259842839411_n

10336589_10108049687728154_8807173849340503723_n

Kevin loves talking to Baby Kyler too 🙂

I can tell my hormones are in full pregnant mode because I found myself crying at pretty much every Superbowl commercial yesterday. I just couldn’t handle them. Puppies, daddies, running ‪#‎likeagirl‬, domestic violence, kids getting into household accidents… to name a few. Pass the tissues please!

Food

I was still hungry this week but not RAVENOUS like last week. We followed through with the last week of our January meal plan and I’m so proud of us for meeting our goal to not eat out all month. I’m really feeling good physically and “clean” inside because of the food choices we’ve been making. However, I’m definitely excited to go out to eat soon! We did plan out meals for February, but we will be heading to Myrtle Beach for a mini vacation to visit my in-laws next week so we’re ‘saving’ our meals out for then. I can’t wait to eat some pre-race pizza from Mellow Mushroom (our favorite) and then go out for a Valentine’s Day dinner after our half marathon!

Fitness

All of my runs felt awesome this week! Yeah! So thankful to be able to say that. I am aware of the varicose veins in the back of my right leg but they don’t feel painful, just a little uncomfortable and “full” after a longer run. Wearing compression and elevating when I can definitely helps. My favorite runs this week were on Saturday and Sunday, because I got to run with Laura again!!! Laura is my friend that just had her second baby 3 weeks ago. She’s already feeling great and has been starting to run again. We ran 3 miles on Saturday and then I did part of my long run with her on Sunday. I really missed her!

  • Monday – Rest Day
  • Tuesday – 4 miles @ 10:24 pace
  • Wednesday – ​3 miles @ 10:18 pace
  • Thursday – Body Pump + 1 mile @ 10:34 pace
  • Friday – 3 miles @ 10:17 pace
  • Saturday – Body Pump + 3 miles @ 10:54 pace
  • Sunday – 7 miles @ 10:42 pace
  • Run – 21 miles
  • Strength – 2x

10957883_10108042389558744_4487534484284455034_n

Week 25 Summary

  • Weight gained this week: +1.2 lbs.
  • Total weight gained: 16.2 lbs.
  • Linea negra status: nope
  • Stretch mark status: nope
  • Belly button status: still getting shallower!
  • Favorite part of the week: my snow day with my boy!
  • Looking forward to: Heading to Myrtle Beach for our mini-vacation next Wednesday!
  • # of days until our next race: 12! Our Valentine’s Day half marathon is coming up soon 🙂

25 weeks last time around!​

Leave a Reply

