What I’m Loving Lately

It has been a really long time since I’ve done a “What I’m Loving Lately” post! I used to write them all the time, and did one per trimester of my last pregnancy. I thought now would be a good time to do a little round-up of all my current favorite things. Here we go!

Erin Condren Life Planner. There is just something about a planner that makes my type-A self SO happy! Especially a brand new one at the beginning of a new year. I have used these life planners since July 2013, and my old one held up really well even after a year and a half of use. I just transitioned over to my new one in January and I get great satisfaction out of filling up my monthly calendar, as well as the weekly and daily to-dos. I’ve always been a huge list maker, and even with all of today’s technology I still prefer to do most of my planning and note-taking on paper. These planners are worth every penny to me!

IMG_0048

FullSizeRender-7

FullSizeRender-8

One Line a Day. I saw this little book on the Hungry Runner Girl’s blog a while ago and put it on my Christmas list! There is one page for each day of the year, and the concept is to write a little snippet of each day- something memorable that happened, something that made you happy, something that challenged you, something you learned, etc.  As the years pass you add more to each page until you have 5 years of memories. Anyone who knows me knows that I LOVE things like this.  I started on January 1st and it’s been really great so far. I hope I can keep up with it, because it will be a great way to preserve memories and see where life ends up taking me over the next 5 years. I got my book from Amazon, but they have a few different types (including one for moms) if you search for “one line a day.”

IMG_3297

For Two Fitness. I’ve talked about For Two Fitness in my first pregnancy and now during my second, but I want to mention them again. I love them because they make maternity workout clothes that make me feel strong and beautiful as my body changes.  During pregnancy it can be difficult to find things that work with your body rather than against it, and are flattering- especially when it comes to running/workout gear. I own a pair of maternity capris, a tank top, and a short sleeved shirt and I am tempted to wash them every night so I can re wear them the next day because I love them so much! Below you can see how my “Running for Two” tank stretched along with me in my first pregnancy, and then how my capris and short-sleeved shirt are looking this time around.

Screen shot 2012-10-02 at 8.50.09 PM

Maternity capris and shirt @ 16 weeks

Maternity capris and shirt @ 16 weeks

The Bachelor.​ Oh the Bachelor… my guilty pleasure! Both the Bachelor and the Bachelorette are two shows that I made no apologies about watching regularly and loving. A new season just started with one of my favorites from last season as the star and it has made my Monday nights so much better. I always text with my sister and best friend as we watch, which is the closest I can get to being with them since they live in Pennsylvania. The only thing I’m missing this season is the wine I used to always drink while watching! It’s okay though, I’ll be able to indulge by the time the next season rolls around 🙂

Screen Shot 2015-01-13 at 8.40.22 PM

Essential Oils. My good friend/Bradley Method teacher/doula started using essential oils a while ago and was always talking about them. I wanted to learn more so she gave me a whole lesson on their benefits. and it convinced me to give them a shot. We purchased doTERRA’s Family Physician​’s kit back in November, and I’ve been adding to my collection a little bit each month. We use them all, but the ones we use the most would probably be lavender and lemon- they are the only two I’ve actually run out of and had to reorder! Lavender is great for relaxation and sleep. We put it on Kevin’s feet before bed and I diffuse it at night in our room. It’s also great for diaper rash and a million other reasons. I have been putting lemon in my water every day too, which is great for detoxification and digestion. Other than those two we like the oil blends serenity and balance for relaxation, on guard to keep sicknesses away, peppermint for heartburn and energy… I could go on and on! I would really like to do a whole post on essential oils in the future, because there’s just too much to say about them right now. But I am LOVING them and they’ve been working wonderfully for our family. Here are 150 uses for the Family Physician Kit in case you are curious!

FullSizeRender-9

Cilantro Lime Hummus. OMG. This hummus is amazing. I discovered it at Wegmans and it just satisfies all of my cravings. I like to eat it with pita chips, cucumbers, or carrots, or put it in a wrap or sandwich. I could probably eat it plain too, it’s that good! I have gotten a few friends hooked on it as well. I keep hoping Wegmans will come out with a bigger sized container of it because I go through it so fast!

Screen Shot 2015-01-13 at 8.43.07 PM

My Snoogle Pillow.​ This was one of my pregnancy favorites last time around and it is this time too. It just feels like being wrapped in a big, comfortable, supportive cloud while sleeping. Ahhh, amazing. My husband isn’t a huge fan because it takes up half of our queen size bed, but oh well. He’s not the one growing a human! 🙂

FullSizeRender-1

Reading with Kevin. One of my favorite things that I’m loving right now is reading with my boy, who is currently 2 years and 4 months old. He loves reading all throughout the day but especially before bed. He has some books that he really loves and has actually memorized them, so he’s able to “read” them to me now! Here’s a video of him reading me one of our favorites, “I Love You Through and Through.” His little voice melts my heart!

Spotify.​ I don’t really run with music since I had to painfully wean myself off of NEEDING music every single time I ran or I literally wouldn’t be able to do it (not good!) But there are two times I do enjoy running with music: on the treadmill and when I’m pregnant. Right now I’m experiencing both of those things, especially the treadmill because of ice and things like that, which makes me not comfortable running outside. I like music to take my mind off running and the monotony of being indoors. I used to use songs I downloaded but I got bored of them so fast. My husband suggested I try Spotify, which is an app that you can stream music from but also save individual songs onto personalized playlists. I love this because I get to listen to only the songs I really want to without having to skip through a bunch of songs I don’t want (which I had to do when I used Pandora). I can also change stations or playlists easily depending on my mood. It’s been awesome!

IMG_3943

The Birth Partner.​ I’m not sure if I have mentioned this on the blog yet, but one of my best friends asked me to help at her birth. She is due tomorrow (!!!) and she wants me to come as an extra support to her and her husband- not a doula since I’m not certified as one, but as a “birth coach” as she called it. She’s having a hospital birth like I did and has taken Bradley Method classes, also like I did. She’s hoping for a natural birth free of unnecessary interventions. To prepare for this new role I’ve been reading The Birth Partner. Kevin actually read this book before our birth but I never really did. It’s been really interesting to read about birth from the perspective of the ‘partner’ rather than the other actually giving birth. Reading this book has gotten me so excited and really has me thinking about eventually getting my doula certification. I honestly believe everyone, no matter what type of birth you want or are having- epidural, non-epidural, c-section, etc.- can benefit from having a doula there to support both mother and father during such an important and special time. I feel honored that she wants me to be a part of it and I can’t wait!

IMG_3655

Those are just some of the things I’ve been loving lately! What are some of your current favorites?

Previous “What I’m Loving” posts:

2 responses to “What I’m Loving Lately

  1. I have the Mom’s One Line a Day and love it! It was a shower gift and I started entering on the day my daughter is born. Since she’s 16 months now, it’s so special to see how far we’ve come in the past year. It’s easy to forget those early days and months. I’m going to be out of the country for a couple of weeks so Papa is going to take over the journaling for those days. I hope you love it as much as I do!

    • What an awesome shower gift!! I will have to keep that in mind for my friends who are expecting. It will be nice to have some journal entries from his perspective too!

Leave a Reply

