Baby 2.0 – 20 Weeks

Ahhh! 20 weeks! Halfway there (maybe!). I’ve been enjoying a very busy and fun winter break, and thankfully still have another week at home before I have to go back to work. A lot of new and exciting things happened this week so it was definitely a memorable one. Here are all the details about week 20.

IMG_2856

Baby

This week baby is the size of a banana- that seems gigantic! At 6.5 inches long and weighing over 10 ounces, baby is definitely growing! His taste buds are now working and he has started to practice swallowing. As you can see by the picture below, at this point the gender of the baby is usually obvious to find out, and ours is indeed a BOY [Here’s our gender reveal if you missed it]. It’s crazy that I can start referring to our baby as a “he” now! Baby is moving and grooving in there a lot lately too. At the point with my first pregnancy I was only starting to feel little flutters, but those started weeks ago this time. Now I am feeling full rolls and jabs all the time. It’s so strong that my husband was even able to feel it on Christmas night! It was such an amazing Christmas gift! I think this little boy is going to be a big one based on how much I’m already feeling him!

FullSizeRender-1  FullSizeRender-3

Body

I have been sleeping much better this week- thank goodness! I know this is because I’m on winter break and not needing to get up at 5 a.m. or earlier to get my run in before work. I can sleep later and still run as long as I’m back before my husband has to leave at 7:30. So nice!!! I also haven’t had to stay up late every night doing Christmas prep because it was all done. It’s amazing how good decent sleep feels!

Other physical symptoms basically include more belly growth and heartburn after I eat certain foods. I can tell baby’s already pushing everything up inside which is causing me to continue tasting my food for a long time after I eat. Blech. Other than that though, I’m feeling pretty good. I’m not as emotional/upset about my body changes as I was last week, I think because we found out we’re having a little boy- which just makes it feel so much more real. Of course it’s always felt real, but being able to put a little face to what is making me grow and change puts things into perspective for sure!

DSCN3936  DSCN3938

Mind

As I said above, I’m feeling less emotional that I was last week overall, but still got to a point where I was a bit overwhelmed with the holidays and all the craziness that comes with it. We made some amazing memories but I’m ready for life to slow down a bit now. We have literally no weekend plans in January yet except for one 5K race. I’m so excited about that- I need some downtime! PS. My stomach looks weird and blotchy in the below picture because I had just woken up from sleeping hard! Haha.

DSCN3941  DSCN3943

Along with the holidays came financial stress as well- like always! To help us bounce back from the hit our bank accounts took in December we decided to have a “no spending” rule in January. Of course we will still pay our bills like usual and buy things like gas and groceries- but no extras. No eating out, no shopping (we don’t NEED anything anyway!), nothing besides the basics. I’m weirdly excited about this challenge!

Last but most importantly, I’m feeling super happy and excited to know that we are going to be having another little boy! Before our no spend January begins I couldn’t resist buying this little onesie in the store. We honestly don’t need anything for this baby since it’s a boy, but I thought he deserved something of his own 🙂 I’m excited to be able to start bonding with this little boy and trying out the name that we think will be his to see if it’s a good fit 🙂

FullSizeRender-2

Food

Let’s just say I had a big sigh of relief yesterday when our last holiday-related meal was over. I am so ready to get back to my usual way of eating. As part of our no spend January, Kevin and I planned all our meals out for the entire month of January. We really tried to mix it up to keep it delicious, healthy, and interesting so we won’t be tempted to eat out at all. I know we’re ordering out on New Years Eve with some friends but then that’s the last time until February. I know my body is definitely going to thank me for that!

Fitness

For the most part I had a really good week in terms of fitness! I did a few runs on the treadmill due to yucky weather, but was able to keep a little bit of a faster pace than I have been recently. I’m almost finished with the winter running streak and I can’t believe I’ve actually been able to run every day since Thanksgiving! My long run on Saturday was the only one that was a little rough. Kevin and I got to run stroller free thanks to my dad and sister who are visiting. It was such a nice treat, but I was only able to do about half with him rather than the whole thing because his knee was bothering him. I also didn’t feel my best due to having to pee constantly (despite peeing a lot before going out, and a pee stop at the halfway point- sigh…) and just feeling the effects of the holidays on my body. But I’m still glad I got it done and was able to run with my hubby!

  • Monday – 3 miles @ 9:52 pace
  • Tuesday – Body Pump+ 2 miles @ 9:42 pace
  • Wednesday – ​4 miles @ 9:45 pace
  • Thursday – 3 miles @ 9:52 pace
  • Friday – 4 miles @ 10:17 pace
  • Saturday – 7 miles @ 10:36 pace
  • Sunday – Body Pump + 2 miles @ 9:41 pace
  • Run – 25 miles
  • Strength – 2x

FullSizeRender-4

10888636_1519288348333083_1605904029033500827_n

Week 20 Summary

  • Weight gained this week: I’m not sure how much I gained this week since the scale’s been broken, I just know my total so far (below).
  • Total weight gained: +13.0. At week 20 last time I had gained 10, so it’s a little more than that this time around.
  • # of baby items bought: Only the onesie! I’m pretty proud of myself, but we really don’t need much!
  • # of days until my anatomy scan: 1. Fingers crossed all goes well!
  • # of days until my next race: 6! I’ll be running the Frozen 5K on Sunday and I can’t wait!

20 weeks last time around!​

Leave a Reply

