Baby 2.0 – 19 Weeks

Oops, I am a few days late writing this post! I’ve been on winter break since Friday and enjoying every minute of this crazy, family and friend-filled, festive time! We have been busy doing all of our special traditions and spending time with the people we love. Here are the details about week 19.

FullSizeRender-17

Baby

This week baby is the size of a mango- 6 inches long and weighs almost half a pound. I believe that, I’m feeling a TON more movement lately and I can tell he or she has gotten a lot bigger! Baby is now able to smile and frown, and has even formed their own unique fingerprints! He or she is also working on developing the 5 senses and those nerve cells are developing in the brain.

FullSizeRender-16  FullSizeRender-18

Body

After having a week of good sleep, this week I went downhill again. I blame it on the holidays and having so much to do, and I am definitely paying for it now. When I did get to sleep I was woken up a lot this week by crazy dreams. I had a lot of these in early pregnancy but then they died down for a little bit. This week they were back in full force and so realistic. In one dream I was helping to deliver my friend’s baby, in another I woke up in a panic because I overslept for a big race… they were so real that it was like I was experiencing them in real life. The worst one was when I dreamt I woke up, went into the bathroom to put on my running clothes like every morning, and when my eyes adjusted to the light I noticed that my ENTIRE BODY was covered in bright, red stretch marks. So realistic and so scary! LOL. I woke up and it was time to go run anyway, and I was so relieved to see that wasn’t true!

DSCN3930   DSCN3932

Speaking of stretch marks… I may be dreaming of them because my boobs and belly are growing so quickly I’m pretty sure I will get them this time! My boobs especially are seeming extra huge to me lately. During my last pregnancy, my sister gave some of her bras that she could no longer wear after losing 40 pounds. I was wearing these bras (which are a D cup) at the end of my pregnant last time. I am already wearing them this time and they fit perfectly. That means I grew from barely a B to a D. Eek!

Thinking about how much I’m changing so quickly this time and how different it’s been compared to my last pregnancy had me feeling a little down earlier this week when it comes to body image. I am always honest on here and this is something I want to be honest about as well. I felt amazing during my first pregnancy- confident, beautiful, and loved my changing body. I’m having a harder time dealing with the different ways my body is changing with this pregnancy. I feel and look so much bigger and I’m gaining weight in different places than before (all through my mid-section rather than just in front, in my face, butt/thighs, etc.). I know it’s all worth it obviously BUT it doesn’t feel very good right now. I definitely did not feel this way the first time and it makes me sad because I want to fully enjoy this pregnancy, since it’s possibly my last.  I think I also need to stop looking at my pictures from last time and comparing myself now to then. It’s so important to think of the big picture and keep everything in perspective. I know these body changes are just temporary and so worth it, and everything will get back to normal just like it did before. I’m just hearing comments about how big I am already and feeling uncomfortable in some of my maternity clothes and it’s hard.  I talked to some of my friends who are first and second time moms (and one who’s pregnant with her 4th!) and they all helped me realize that what I’m feeling is normal. I also think I had a hormonal surge this week because I was (and still am) super emotional and it goes both ways- happy and sad. Whew… that was a long rant but it feels good to get it all out!

IMG_2810

4 weeks vs. 19 weeks (same outfit)

Mind

What is on my mind? Aside from the previously mentioned body image issues, I felt relatively good the rest of the week. First of all, I had my first official midwife appointment early in the week which was AMAZING and helped me feel really confident in our decision to switch to a birth center. The appointment was almost an hour long with a midwife and a student midwife. They were so patient, so willing to just sit and talk and ask me questions about my life and my first pregnancy and birth, and what I hope for this one. The quality of care was amazing. I never felt rushed, stressed, or uncomfortable. I am so happy and relieved to find what seems to be a great fit for us! At the appointment we heard the baby’s heartbeat and she measured my belly. She said that my uterus is about a half inch above my belly button already. I know that it usually hits the belly button around 20 weeks, but that’s normal for 2nd time moms. I can’t help but think this baby is going to be giant though!

DSCN3934 DSCN3935

While I was at the midwife she wrote me an order to get my 20 week anatomy scan, since they do not do ultrasounds in the office. I made my appointment for next Tuesday and I’m really excited but also anxious, since this is the ultrasound where they check out all the organs and body parts to see if they are developing correctly. This is also where they check the sex of the baby, but we already have confirmation of that from our MaterniT21 blood test that we did a couple months ago. The results of that test all came back normal and the baby’s sex went in an envelope that then went to a designated person. On Saturday we will finally find out if this little one is a boy or a girl along with both of our families at our reveal party! I cannot wait!

10850299_10107765595750754_5451594639863726791_n

Some of the old wives tales plus our predictions. What do you think?!

The holidays are also making me super happy this week. We were able to continue with some of our favorite traditions, like taking Kevin to see Santa at the mall. He was a little apprehensive at first, telling me “No want him!” But eventually he came around once he watched other kids and Santa waved and winked at him. We also got to see Santa come to our neighborhood on a firetruck, and we went to the Festival of Lights like we do every year. We did a lot of these things with Kevin’s best little friend Leighton and her parents James and Chanda, who we sadly said goodbye to on Sunday after the Festival of Lights. They’re moving to Germany for 3 years with the military and we’re going to miss them so much!

20141217164821_0001_1

10885438_10107774208560614_8919797241412160481_n

DSCN3925

DSCN3929

10850218_10107765181031854_6361374295398451673_n

Food

I mentioned before that the holidays have made it tough to eat as healthy as I would like to, but I think I’m doing a good job of balancing the healthy with the not so healthy, eating out more, more treats, all with regular exercise. I LOVE the holidays and all that comes with them, and I am not going to deprive myself. However, I did refrain from eating any cookie dough because of the raw eggs. Wahhh, pregnancy problems 🙂

Fitness

I had another roller coaster week in terms of running. Some days I feel great (including an amazing 10 miler with my friend Chanda) and some I feel slow and heavy, even on an easy 1, 2, or 3 miler. I think I might need to start supporting the belly in a couple weeks, even though it’s way earlier than I did last time. But other than that I’m still streaking, and have a little over a week left! I’m so glad I decided to do the streak, especially over the holiday season which usually makes me lazy!

  • Monday – 2 miles @ 10:46 pace
  • Tuesday – Body Pump+ 1 mile @ 10:02
  • Wednesday – ​4 miles @ 10:27 pace
  • Thursday – 1 mile @ 10:34 pace
  • Friday – 3 miles @ 10:27 pace
  • Saturday – 10 miles @ 10:36 pace
  • Sunday – Body Pump + 1 mile @ 10:21 pace
  • Run – 22 miles
  • Strength – 2x
10849887_10107763671227514_7316333322873346247_n

Last time running with Chanda for a while 😦

Week 19 Summary

  • Weight gained this week: ? Scale is still out of batteries and with my recent body issues, I think I might not rush to replace them anytime soon.
  • Total weight gained: Not sure but at least 10 at this point.
  • # of gifts left to wrap: 3! Almost done!
  • # of times I have missed wine and beer during this holiday season: at least 10! But it’s okay, I’ll eat cookies instead 🙂
  • # of days until our gender reveal party: 3!! I can’t wait!

19 weeks last time around!​

Leave a Reply

