Stridebox: November

Screen Shot 2014-10-12 at 9.11.18 PMIt’s finally time for another Stridebox review! Yes, I know that it’s almost January- I am so behind on so many things right now! But in case you missed last month’s post, Stridebox is a $15 monthly subscription box for all things running related. For some reason it’s taken me a long time to get through November’s box, but I finally did and I’m ready to talk about all of the items I have received.

IMG_1511

So I dug into this box and started using the items before I remembered to take a picture of everything. The below picture doesn’t include Gu Chomps and a PowerBar PowerGel I received, because we had already used them, so I inserted pictures of those from their websites to show you what they look like. This box definitely had some winners and some not-so-good ones in my opinion. Here are the details!

IMG_1755-1

Screen Shot 2014-12-23 at 7.11.28 AM Screen Shot 2014-12-23 at 7.12.10 AM

RUNA Tea Sampler: I loved this tea! It is made from Guayusa, which is an Amazonian “super-leaf” that provides clean energy and as much caffeine as a cup of coffee, which is all I can really have in a day now that I’m pregnant. I received four flavors to try: Mint Guayusa, Ginger-Citrus Guayusa, Traditional Guayusa, and Cinnamon Lemongrass Guayusa. I have tried a couple flavors so far, and especially loved the Ginger-Citrus. I didn’t have it before a run, but drank it as a mid-day work break for a little energy boost. Kevin had the mint flavor and agreed. He said, “The run tea was very tasty. I had the mint flavor and it was on point. I didn’t use it for a run, but to keep me focused at work and it did it’s job.” We both would definitely purchase this again. I also saw on the info card that they make other products like bottled teas and energy drinks, so I’d be interested in trying those too. Retail: $5.79/16 bags ($0.36 each)

Run Gum- Performance Gum (Fruit & Mint): I have TMJ and I’m not supposed to chew gum, so I passed these onto Kevin. The idea is to eat one piece before a run and one piece afterwards for optimal performance and recovery. The energy boost comes from a mixture of caffeine, taurine and B vitamins. Here is what he said: “I didn’t really feel any difference when I chewed this gum. The mint was better tasting than the fruit. The gum’s lifespan was very short as it hardened up after only about 2 minutes of chewing.” Retail: $18.00/12 packets ($1.50 each)

ProMax LS- Low Sugar Protein Bar (Honey Peanut): OMG you guys. I honestly don’t know what to say about this bar except I took one bite and had to spit it out immediately. Blech. Not a fan. It was really dry and had a terrible taste. Nothing like honeys or peanuts. I’m sorry to say this was a big fat fail for me 😦 Retail: $1.89/bar

SWORD Performance Hydration Drink (Berry):  I had high hopes for this powdered drink mix that is all natural with no artificial flavors or colors, especially when I mixed it up after Kevin and I went for a run and it smelled really good. Unfortunately, the taste did not match the smell at all. It tasted almost sour and left a bad aftertaste in my mouth. I thought maybe my taste buds have just been super sensitive lately due to pregnancy, but I had Kevin try it and he agreed. Another one bites the dust! Retail: $25.00/10 pouches ($2.50 each)

GU Chomps Energy Chews (Black Cherry):  This was the first item that I used from the box. I brought them with me to Richmond when I ran the last 8 miles with my friend Amanda during her marathon. I loved the black cherry flavor! However, if I’m going to eat chews I really prefer Honey Stinger Chews because of how easy they are to chew. I have found that some chews like the Gu Chomps and Clif Shot Bloks are chewier and tougher to get down. I still enjoyed these though and they provided me with the energy I needed during the race. Retail: $31.75/16 packets ($1.98 each)

PowerBar PowerGel (Orange Dream):  Like I have said before, I’m not a fan of oranges or anything orange-flavored, so I passed this energy gel onto Kevin. Here are his thoughts: “The PowerGel was tasty, but not something I would look forward to having during a run. A little over sweet in my opinion.” Retail: $32.40/24 pouches ($1.35 each)

StrideBox Light-Up Armband: I was excited to receive this in my box because I have been doing most of my runs in the dark lately before the sun comes up. I am lacking in good reflective gear, which I know is not good! This is just a simple armband made of reflective material. It stayed on well on top of the jacket I was wearing and didn’t move, and it gave me piece of mind that I was well seen at 5:30 a.m. I do wonder how well it would stay on my arm if I were wearing a short-sleeved shirt or tank top, but I’ll have to wait to test that out until after winter! Retail: $9.99 each

Running Sticker:  I really love this little bonus item in my box each week 🙂 This month’s sticker said, “Long-short, fast-slow, early-late, just GO!” Love that!

FullSizeRender-15

I received my December box a couple weeks ago and have already tried a few of the items. I actually made a video of myself unboxing everything for the first time, so look forward to that and my awkward commentary (LOL)! I promise I won’t make you wait so long for that review. I am so behind on blog posts since I’ve been so busy, so I’m hoping to catch up with everything over my wonderful two week Christmas Break!

Disclaimer: I am in no way affiliated with Stridebox (I wish I was! LOL). I purchased this subscription myself and all opinions are my own.

One response to “Stridebox: November

  1. Pingback: Stridebox: December | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

