Baby 2.0 – 18 Weeks

As of today I am 18 weeks pregnant! It’s crazy to think that I’m only a couple weeks away from the halfway point. I know I keep saying this but it’s crazy how quickly time is passing lately. It’s awesome in a way but also sad since this is most likely my last pregnancy! I really need to remember to enjoy this time! Here are the details about week 18.

Family snuggle time!

Family snuggle time!

Baby

This week baby is the size of a sweet potato! That seems huge! His or her reflexes are developing more fully, and baby is now able to hiccup, yawn, suck, swallow, and move easily. Apparently baby is growing quickly at this point, which makes sense based on some of the symptoms I’ve been experiencing this week.

FullSizeRender-6   FullSizeRender-7

Body

I did so much better with sleep this week, which has really helped me get through another very busy week. It makes a huge difference when I get to bed early, even if I don’t sleep the whole night through because I have to get up to pee or something. I know I’m going to need to make this a priority for the remainder of the pregnancy, especially since I’ve also been getting up early to work out. I’ll do what I need to do in order to continue feeling good!

DSCN3878  DSCN3879

I spent the majority of the week feeling like things are changing for me physically. I was pretty achy in my stomach/uterus area and I feel like things are growing rapidly. This is also true for my boobs! They just keep growing, and the blue veins are fully visible at this point. I’m getting out of breath more easily when I walk up stairs and things like that, and I’m feeling a lot more movement in my belly so I can tell he or she is growing!

DSCN3881  DSCN3882

Little Kev had me laughing in the above pics when I took my shirt off. “Mommy nakey!”

Mind

Things are starting to wind down a bit in terms of work and life stress. I had a night event at school this past Tuesday that I had to bring little Kev to since my husband was working, and that was rough. I had to try to juggle talking with parents and watching my toddler who was overtired and not having it. But once that was over the rest of the week was pretty smooth sailing. We had an amazing weekend as a family, doing Christmasy things like riding on the Santa Train, putting up more lights and watching Christmas movies.

DSCN3875

Fun on the Santa Train!

Fun on the Santa Train!

DSCN3844 DSCN3842

I filled out my maternity leave paperwork this week and was so happy to be able to fill in “school year 2015-16” for my expected date of return. I am so excited and thankful to be able to have a longer time at home with this baby than the short 8 weeks I had with Kevin, even though some of it is going to end up being unpaid. I know it’s worth it. Maternity leave in this country is a joke! But thankfully, the timing we hoped for worked out so I’ll be able to take my maternity leave and then have the whole summer as well. Depending on when the baby is born, this will end up being 3 to 4 months. So much better than 8 weeks! This is giving me so much peace of mind.

I can tell there are some changes going on with my hormones though, because I was pretty emotional and moody this week. I found myself getting upset and/or angry at things that wouldn’t normally set me off. I am thankful to have a very patient husband and fellow pregnant/mommy friends who understand! And a little boy who loves me unconditionally 🙂

Screen Shot 2014-12-14 at 9.08.46 PM

Food

Once again, I did super well with my eating during the week and then let myself indulge a bit this weekend. It started on Friday when I met my former colleagues for happy hour at one of my favorite Mexican restaurants. I wasn’t planning on eating dinner there but I was having so much fun catching up with my friends and got hungry. I ordered veggie fajitas which were delicious, but didn’t end up mixing well with the Mexican salad I packed myself for lunch that day. Too much Mexican!!! I was up all night with a stomachache and wasn’t sure I would be able to run with my friends on Saturday morning, but it ended up being okay. Lesson learned though! Last night my neighbor brought over a huge container of homemade cookies. I haven’t craved many sweets this pregnancy but damn, these were so good! Of course I had to sample some! Being pregnant during the holidays is definitely going to cause me to gain more than the 26 pounds I gained last time I think!

10384685_10107733705249574_8039934178374368230_n

Fitness

I felt pretty sluggish on my runs this week, so I listened to my body and cut back a bit in distance and pace. I know it was necessary due to the half I ran last weekend and the fact that I’m streaking. I did get in a couple really good runs, including a 6 miler with my friends who are just as crazy as me for being willing to run at 6:30 a.m. on a freezing cold Saturday morning! I also got to take Body Pump with another friend on Sunday, followed by a 3 mile run with my boys.  After we finished my hubby went on to run 3 more (much faster) miles by himself. We officially signed up for the Myrtle Beach Half Marathon yesterday, so he’s trying to build his mileage back up. The last time we ran a half together was when I was 26 weeks pregnant in Seattle. This time I’ll be 26 weeks pregnant again, and the race is on Valentine’s Day! I’m so excited, even if we go so slow he’s shuffling beside me, at least we’ll be together 🙂

  • Monday – 2 miles @ 10:23
  • Tuesday – Body Pump+ 1 mile @ 10:11 pace
  • Wednesday – ​3 miles @ 10:18 pace
  • Thursday – 2 miles @ 10:06
  • Friday – 3 miles @ 10:20 pace
  • Saturday – 6 miles @ 10:40 pace
  • Sunday – Body Pump + 3 miles @ 10:35 pace
  • Run – 20 miles
  • Strength – 2x

10247282_10107725198227714_943467454050937195_n  10868248_10107731476341324_1638967219623454780_n

Week 18 Summary

  • Weight gained this week: +? My scale needs new batteries! Will update this later
  • Total weight gained: I think I’m at least 10 pounds up as of this week
  • This week’s guilty pleasure: The Snooki & JWoww show, although I’m embarrassed to admit that! I just find it hilarious because she has a toddler and is pregnant again. It’s crazy that I can relate to Snooki, LOL.
  • # of days until winter break: 4! I’m so excited for two wonderful weeks off!
  • # of days until our gender reveal party: 12! Eeek
  • # of times I peed in one day (yes I counted): 16. About once an hour. Yeah, that’s insane!

18 weeks last time around!​

One response to “Baby 2.0 – 18 Weeks

  1. Maternity leave in the US is a joke! i’m temporarily in Canada and its 12 months here. It should be that way everywhere!

Leave a Reply

