What I Ate Thursday

It has been a long time since I’ve done a What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW) post! I planned to do it this week and then forgot, so this will actually be what I ate on Thursday 🙂 Pregnancy, running, working and chasing after a toddler has me pretty hungry these days!

7:15 a.m. After having green smoothies for breakfast for months, I am back to loving my oatmeal now that it’s gotten colder! I make it with almond milk, banana, cinnamon and blueberries. I also mix in some peanut butter at the end. It’s so yummy! I also have a small cup of coffee with breakfast every day. I can’t have very much caffeine during pregnancy so I savor every sip. I eat after my husband and little Kev leave for daycare. I really enjoy this quiet time before my work day begins.

IMG_2307

10:00 a.m.  Tummy starts growling for my mid-morning snack! I love bringing hard boiled eggs for a snack because they have a lot of protein which keeps me full until lunch time.

IMG_2310

12:15 p.m. After working some more it’s time for lunch. It’s freezing outside and in my office, so I am regretting my cold lunch choices. I decide to make a cup of decaf coffee to warm me up. I have this along with my salad (spinach, Mexican roasted chickpeas, corn, red onion, roasted red pepper, avocado, and a broken up corn tortilla shell). I use Zesty Lime Vinaigrette dressing by Kraft, and have cucumbers with cilantro jalapeño hummus on the side. I am LOVING the Mexican flavors these days 🙂

IMG_2319

IMG_2320

4:00 p.m. My work day is done and I begin my commute home. I’m usually starving by this point and today is no exception. I eat a Larabar while on the road.

IMG_2325

6:00 p.m. Dinner time! When I got home I went for a quick run then started getting dinner together for the family. We had planned grilled cheese and tomato soup, which was perfect for this cold and windy day. It was so delicious and brought me back to my childhood.

IMG_2330

9:00 p.m. Lately I have been getting hungry right before bed, and have found that if I ignore it I end up waking up starving in the middle of the night and have a hard time sleeping. I started having a late night snack which has helped a ton. I guess my body needs the extra calories right now. My go-to snack before bed is a little bowl of cereal. A bowl of different cereals mixed up with cold almond milk always sounds so good to me! On this night I had Kashi Heart to Heart and Kashi Cinnamon Wheat cereal.

IMG_2340

And that’s what I ate this past Thursday, at 17 1/2 weeks pregnant! I have been trying very hard to clean up my diet after really slacking on it during my first trimester where all I wanted were carbs. I still want carbs all day long, but I’m trying to balance them with salads, veggies & hummus rather than crackers/pretzels, choosing oats instead of pancakes or toast for breakfast, etc. I obviously still enjoy my bread and especially my cereal, but that is a-okay in my opinion 🙂

What’s the best thing you ate this week?

One response to “What I Ate Thursday

  1. I love those pb/chocolate Larabars! The best thing I ate this week was a big juicy cheeseburger! yum

Leave a Reply

