Baby 2.0 – 17 Weeks

Week 17! I feel like time is flying! I can’t believe I’m getting closer to the halfway point. We have been so busy that the weeks seem to go by in the blink of an eye, and I know that will only continue throughout the holidays. Here’s how week 17 went down!

Rocking my For Two Fitness gear at the gym!

Rocking my For Two Fitness gear at the gym!

Baby

This week baby is about the size of an onion! He or she is a little over 5 inches long and weighs about 6 ounces. The organs are now well developed and functioning- including the heart, liver and kidneys. The bones are starting to harden and from now on, baby will start putting some fat on its body. The umbilical cord is also thickening and delivering even more nutrients to baby from mama.

FullSizeRender-4 FullSizeRender-5

Body

Physically I’m feeling pretty good except for being sleep deprived. There are many times that I don’t feel pregnant at all- and then I have to pee about 20 times a day and I remember! The reason I’m sleep deprived is really my own fault and not the pregnancy. I haven’t been going to bed as early as I should because I had a lot going on and a lot that I had to do each night this week (more about that later). But things should be a lot better from now until Winter Break, which is strange to say because usually the holidays are the busiest time of year for us! We’re taking a low-key approach this year and keeping it simple, which is exactly what my tired body needs!

DSCN3854  DSCN3857

I had my last appointment with my old doctor’s office this week. Baby was doing great with a strong heartbeat in the 140s, however my appointment only confirmed my decision to switch to a birth center with midwives. I had an okay experience with them during Kevin’s pregnancy and birth, but things seem to have gone pretty downhill since then in terms of patient care, organization and professionalism. I could not be more excited to start going to my new midwives and begin preparing for a birth center/possible home birth! Ahhh!

DSCN3858  DSCN3859

Mind

After a nice, relaxing Thanksgiving break I was back to work and reality this week. I worked long days with meetings before or after school every day, and then came home to put on my Mommy hat and also prepare to throw one of my best friends a baby shower brunch. The shower was on Saturday and it went really well- but whew! I was exhausted afterwards. I’m so excited for her though. I have known her for 20 years- we went to elementary, middle, and high school together, then lived together in college, then we both moved to Virginia to teach. She’s been a great friend to me for a long time and I was so happy to be able to shower her and her baby with love this weekend!

10846137_10107687978132084_4627252927748439005_n

With all the craziness of this week we still had time to do some fun Christmasy things as well! We took some fun pictures with our tree and finished decorating the house. We also got together with our friends who are moving to Germany to go to a Christmas tree lighting event. It was on their military base so Santa came in riding in a fleet of cars, a fire truck and a tank! It was awesome.

10438124_10107693704820754_8711182752142825302_n

10846089_10107693704436524_6358057656881804338_n

On a less fun, positive note, I have realized lately that my road rage is out. of. control. It’s usually pretty bad when I’m not pregnant, but the hormones make it extra bad. I just hate everyone that is driving on the road all the time. Grrrr!!

Pardon my language :)

Pardon my language 🙂

Food

I did much better in the food department this week! I kept my meals clean and very healthy during the week, and then let myself indulge in baby shower yumminess on Saturday and then a delicious pancake breakfast after my half marathon on Sunday. It’s all about balance, right? One of the best things I ate this week was a dish my colleague made me. She’s from Pakistan and made me a rice and chickpea meal called Pulao from her home country of Pakistan. It looks very simple but the flavor is out of this world! I want more!

IMG_2111

I do think I’m not eating quite as well as I did during my first pregnancy, which is starting to become evident on the scale. I gained exactly 10 pounds at 20 weeks last time around, and I’m getting very close to that now at only 17 weeks. It’s not a TON more, but enough for me to notice a difference. I think it will be easier to keep my food choices under control once the holidays pass, but I’m enjoying it while I can and trying not to stress. I know it will all come off later!

Delicious waffle bar at the baby shower brunch

Delicious waffle bar at the baby shower brunch

Fitness

I made it through another week of the running streak and am feeling amazing. I ran my second half marathon of this pregnancy yesterday and surprised myself with how great and strong I felt. The second trimester has definitely been really good to me in terms of running and physical fitness. As hard as it is to get up early (especially at 4:15 a.m. to get to run and go to Body Pump at 5!), it’s worth it when it makes me feel great the rest of the day. And it wouldn’t be so hard to get up if I actually went to bed at a decent hour, which is my goal for this upcoming week!

  • Monday – 2 miles @ 10:46 pace
  • Tuesday – Body Pump+ 1 mile @ 9:50 pace
  • Wednesday – ​3 miles @ 10:06 pace
  • Thursday – Body Pump + 1 mile @ 9:37 pace
  • Friday – 3 miles @ 10:07 pace
  • Saturday – 1 mile @ 10:36 pace
  • Sunday – 13.1 miles @ 9:35 pace (Blue & Gray Half!)
  • Run – 24.1 miles
  • Strength – 2x

IMG_2173

Week 17 Summary

  • Weight gained this week: +0.4 lbs.
  • Total weight gained: + 9.0 lbs.
  • # of days until my first appointment with our new midwives: 7! My appointment got moved up a few days- yay!
  • # of days until our gender reveal party: 19! I seriously cannot wait!
  • Mama’s gender prediction: I still really feel like it’s a girl. I will be very surprised if I’m wrong!
  • Daddy’s gender prediction: He’s sticking with boy. He just wants to go against what I say 🙂
  • Little Kev’s gender prediction: When I ask him what’s inside mommy’s belly he says baby girl!

17 weeks last time around!​

Leave a Reply

