Baby 2.0 – 16 Weeks

I am a couple days late writing my 16 week update this week! All is well, but I haven’t been sleeping enough this week for a few reasons, so I’m writing this post while trying not to doze off on the couch. I apologize in advance for the typos! Here are the details about week 16.

10698451_10107661626520924_1110593389669523152_n

Baby

This week baby is about the size of an avocado- almost 5 inches long and 3.5 ounces! At this point he or she can hear noises from the outside. Baby is also growing hair, eyelashes, and eyebrows, and forming little taste buds. He or she is also starting the prepare the lungs for breathing by expanding and contracting the chest, drawing amniotic fluid in and out of the lungs. They grow up so fast!

FullSizeRender  FullSizeRender-2

Body

Physically I’m feeling pretty good besides being a little sluggish in the energy and digestive areas after our indulgent Thanksgiving holiday. I’m already back on track with eating well this week so I know I’ll be feeling fine again soon. I know baby liked all my eating though- I’ve been feeling him or her move like crazy lately!

DSCN3805  DSCN3807

However, my sleep went from good to not so good. I’m having a hard time staying asleep for long periods of time and wake up either to pee or for no reason. I did get my Snoogle pillow in the mail this week which has helped some. I love this thing so much!!! I hope it also helps me sleep in better positions because I’ve been waking up with some lower back pain.

FullSizeRender-1

Mind

I finally had the less stressful week I’ve been waiting for! It wasn’t completely relaxing because we did travel to Pennsylvania to celebrate Thanksgiving with my family (traveling up and down 95 on a holiday weekend = craziness), but it was so much better than the stress of the last couple of months. I am already really enjoying being pregnant during the holidays since I didn’t get to experience that last time. It makes everything feel extra special! We got to spend some good time with family and friends, take some fun photos (my dad is an awesome photographer!), and of course followed through with some of the holiday traditions we love.

DSC_0649

Family photo taken by my dad!

Once we got back to Virginia, we spent Sunday morning doing fun Christmasy things! We got up, had breakfast together, headed out to get our Christmas tree, and spent the day decorating. We’ve really been playing up Christmas this year since Kevin doesn’t really remember anything from years past, and he can really fully experience and enjoy it now. He had so much fun helping pick out our tree and putting ornaments on it later. He’s totally mesmerized by the lights!

IMG_1986

IMG_2004

10308083_10107671755003364_6831309996748403948_n

We even picked up a little stocking for baby #2 🙂

Food

I’m a big believer in enjoying food that makes you happy in moderation, especially on special occasions like holidays. I’ve seen these graphics around the internet that show you how much you’d have to run/exercise to burn off different  Halloween candies or Thanksgiving foods, and they make me mad. I don’t think anyone should be made to feel guilty about enjoying some of their favorite foods on special holidays. It’s just one day and it’s not going to make or break your overall health. So yes, I definitely indulged in my family’s famous macaroni and cheese recipe, sweet potato casserole, delicious rolls, apple pie, and plenty more. I loved every bite!

DSC01422

Fitness

I haven’t mentioned it yet because I wasn’t 100% sure, but I’m going to attempt the winter Runner’s World Run Streak this year (from Thanksgiving to New Years). I did the summer one a few months ago and ended up streaking from Memorial Day to Labor Day- 101 days! I decided to streak because we’re about to enter the cold, dark months and I wanted some extra motivation to keep active.  I do plan to modify the “rules” if needed though since I am pregnant. I did a running streak two years ago when I was pregnant with Kevin and made it my goal to run or walk at least a mile every day, which I will be following this time as well. However, so far I haven’t needed any walk days. I’ve just been doing easy 1 milers in between longer runs. That may change as the weeks progress but we’ll see! Last time I did a streak pregnant I was much farther along AND it was summer, so I definitely needed more walking days. This time around my body feels really good now that I’m in the second tri. I’m excited to have a new goal, especially since some of my friends are doing it too and we like to check in with each other.

  • Monday – Rest Day
  • Tuesday – Body Pump
  • Wednesday – ​3 miles @ 9:51
  • Thursday – 3.1 miles (Turkey Trot!)
  • Friday – 4 miles @ 9:34
  • Saturday – 9 miles @ 10:03
  • Sunday – 1 mile @ 10:16
  • Run – 20.1 miles
  • Strength – 1x (I could only make it to 1 Body Pump class this week since we were out of town. My first time not making it twice a week since August!!!)
IMG_1951

Running around my hometown, all decorated for Christmas!

Week 16 Summary

  • Weight gained this week: +1.8 lbs. (Honestly surprised it’s not more because of how much I ate!!!)
  • Total weight gained: +8.6 lbs.
  • # of days until my next race: 4! I’ll be running my 2nd half marathon with this baby 🙂
  • # of days until my first appointment with our new midwives: 15! So excited for a change and for the birth center experience instead of hospital.
  • # of days until our gender reveal party: 24! AHHHHH

16 weeks last time around!​

Leave a Reply

