Baby 2.0 – 15 Weeks

I am 15 weeks pregnant today and feeling great. I’m definitely in the sweet spot of the 2nd trimester and loving it! Here are the details about week 15.

Baby

This week baby is about the size of a naval orange! He or she is 4 inches long and weighs 2.5 ounces. I am feeling the baby move more and more, and I can definitely tell that it’s growing in there! Baby can now detect light from the outside even though the eyelids are still closed, which is kind of crazy!

FullSizeRender-3   FullSizeRender-2

Body

My mind was not really on pregnancy this week due to some last minute family issues that came up (more on that later), but more or less I’m feeing the same as last week- which is very good! I have more energy, I’m sleeping better, I’m not getting headaches everyday anymore, my appetite is great (and my digestion too- woo hoo!), and my sore throat is gone. All great things 🙂

DSCN3772 DSCN3773

I did notice growth in both my belly and my boobs this week. I also see the big, blue veins returning in my boobs. I got these last time but I think they showed up later. They are definitely here and noticeable already!

DSCN3774 DSCN3775

Mind

I said last week that I was looking forward to a less stressful week in terms of work and other life things. Unfortunately that didn’t happen. I was able to wrap up a big project at work on Tuesday which left me feeling a LOT lighter and happier, but then that evening we found out that Kevin’s grandfather passed away. We knew he wasn’t doing very well so we were planning to go see him where he lives in West Virginia next week with Kevin’s whole family for Thanksgiving. Unfortunately we didn’t make it there in time, which left my husband with a whole lot of sadness and guilt. We ended up taking off from work on Thursday and Friday and made the 5 hour drive to Charleston to be with family and attend his services. It was kind of a crazy weekend and we tried to make the best of it, but it was definitely tough. I was so proud of little Kevin who hung in there despite a ton of changes in routine and not getting to eat and sleep like usual. We came back on Saturday evening after a long day of memorial services and felt totally drained emotionally and physically.

10696295_10107601318738204_4801063160562354481_n 1454867_10107601689160874_6400934674626392200_n

We spent Sunday relaxing, running, and catching up on things around the house, and then it was back to our usual work routine this morning. One thing that made us smile (and go a little crazy too!) was that we now have the sex of our baby in an envelope. Ahhhh! This is hard for me because I have zero self control. I am planning to hand it off to a designated person ASAP so we won’t be tempted. We started planning our gender reveal that we want to do when both of our families are here for Christmas and it’s been a lot of fun. I’m really glad we decided to experience the fun of finding out before birth this time around.

IMG_1760

Food

I am so proud of myself because I really made the effort to eat better this week. I packed a salad for lunch every day and I tried to eat as well as I could while we were in West Virginia where healthy options were limited. I had oatmeal every morning for breakfast even when there were tons of yummy hotel breakfast foods in front of me, and I tried to keep my eating really clean during the day. Dinners were a little tougher because we got together with Kevin’s family, so I let myself indulge a little bit. But I ended this week feeling so much better in my tummy and I know it’s because I made a conscious effort to eat well this week. I just need to keep the momentum this week, while still enjoying Thanksgiving of course 🙂

Fitness

Wow, I felt amazing this week while running! It was super cold where I live and in West Virginia, but I actually don’t mind running in the cold. I was able to run with my friend Laura early on Wednesday morning and we felt crazy because it was 13 degrees outside! I had an amazing 6 miler in West Virginia, where I went out thinking I’d run 3 or 4 but felt so good that I kept going. Finally, on Sunday I had an awesome 10 mile long run. I did 5 miles with my boys and 5 miles on my own. We did one loop on our favorite path then I ran part of the half marathon course I’ll be running in two weeks to meet them at the grocery store where they were grocery shopping. The course includes two monster hills which I’m familiar with but haven’t run in a while. You can see part of one of them in the photo below but believe me when I say it keeps going, and going, and going!!! I surprised myself by not only running up them both without walking, but my last 3 miles were my fastest at 9:56, 9:46, and 9:30- even with the hills! You better believe I am proud of that at 15 weeks pregnant!

  • Monday – Rest Day
  • Tuesday – Body Pump
  • Wednesday – ​3 miles @ 12:52 pace
  • Thursday – Body Pump
  • Friday – 6 miles @ 9:25 pace
  • Saturday – 3 miles @ 9:57 pace
  • Sunday – 10 miles @ 9:57 pace
  • Run – 22 miles
  • Strength – 2x

IMG_1745

Week 15 Summary

  • Weight gained this week: +0.8 lbs.
  • Total weight gained: +6.8 lbs.
  • Maternity items purchased: a new Snoogle pillow (my old one got ruined by our former cat and I can’t WAIT to get it in the mail!!!)
  • # of days until my next race: 3! Kevin and I are doing a Thanksgiving Day Turkey Trot!
  • # of days until we go to visit my family: also 3 🙂 We’re heading there Thanksgiving morning after the race.

15 weeks last time around!​

Leave a Reply

