Baby 2.0 – 13 Weeks

13 weeks! I have officially entered the second trimester- at least, according to my doctor even though technically it should be 13 weeks 3 days. But oh well! I’m excited!

13 weeks last time & this time!

13 weeks last time & this time! Just a tad bigger, huh? 🙂

Baby

This week baby is about the size of a peach- almost 3 inches long! The proportions of the baby are starting to even out and the head is now 1/3 the size of the body rather than 1/2.  Baby is starting to form teeth, bones, vocal cords, and tiny fingerprints!

FullSizeRender  FullSizeRender-2

Body

I feel like my stomach really popped out this week! I swear I woke up one day and it was obviously sticking out more and a lot more round that it had been previously. Growth spurt maybe? Even people at school noticed! As you can tell in the picture at the top of this post, I’m a lot bigger than my first pregnancy at this point, which is exciting 🙂

FullSizeRender-1

In other bodily news, my headaches have gotten a lot better and I’ve been continuing to feel better overall physically, thank goodness! I’m still tired but not nearly as much. I’ve been trying to focus on getting good quality sleep and taking naps when I need to, which is helping a lot. Another thing that has been helping is the essential oils we’ve been experimenting with. My friend has recently gotten into them and taught us about them. We bought a Family Physician’s Kit from doTERRA and over the past week I’ve been playing around with the ones that are pregnancy safe. We’ve been diffusing lavender at night in our room and putting it on our feet before bed. I’ve also been drinking lemon in my water which helps with energy and cleansing the body. I have used peppermint for a quick energy boost as well. I’ve used ginger for heartburn and indigestion, and frankincense for the one headache I did get this week. It’s been fun experimenting and I’m looking forward to discovering more uses for these amazing oils!

DSCN3750  DSCN3752

Mind

The best part of this week by far was seeing our baby again in an ultrasound and learning that our genetic testing has all come back negative so far! We opted to get the NT Scan along with the MaterniT21 blood test and cystic fibrosis blood test, since all 3 are covered by insurance and non-invasive. We are at the type of people that would rather have the information we need to be prepared than to not have it. At the ultrasound the baby was measuring 4 days ahead (it was only 1 day ahead at my first ultrasound at 7.5 weeks!) and the heart was beating strong at 158 BPM. I was amazed at how much it looked like a real baby already- with a little facial profile and everything! It took a while to get the measurement we needed but eventually baby cooperated, and all the measurements came back normal. We also received the results of the cystic fibrosis gene mutation screening and it came back negative. I haven’t received the MaterniT21 results yet but should get them in the next few days.

10519203_10107519872232654_1135605487659754036_n

This positive experience at the doctor was really uplifting and just what I needed to get through a tough week at work. I have been having some difficulty adjusting to my new school and the people that work there. There are a few people there that really test me, and I was pushed to my limits this week. I got in my car on Friday and just cried on my way home. Once I was home though, I sat down with my family and put it all into perspective, remembering what really matters. I don’t want to pass any stress like that onto the little baby that I’m trying hard to take care of, so when I feel like I’m going to lose it I think of that and it definitely helps.

10626480_10107545166083574_4079614906827000752_n

Food

After a very indulgent Halloween (and the days following) I was able to get back on track this past week with eating much better. We made sure to stick to our meal plan and didn’t let ourselves give into too much temptation… and surprise, surprise- I’m feeling a LOT better as a result! Although you can’t really tell I ate cleaner based on this growing belly!

DSCN3753   DSCN3754

Fitness

I did a few solo runs this week because my regular morning running buddy is 31 weeks pregnant and having some running issues at this point. I’m so sad and missed her a lot, but I’m proud of her for listening to her body. This second pregnancy has been harder on her than the first, and she’s disappointed that she most likely won’t be able to run until the end like she did with her first. Seeing her go through this though was a good reminder that I need to appreciate every single run I go on during this pregnancy, because there’s no guarantee I’ll be able to keep going until the end!

  • Monday – 3 miles @ 9:55
  • Tuesday – Body Pump
  • Wednesday – ​4 miles @ 11:34
  • Thursday – 3 miles @ 10:05
  • Friday – 4 miles @ 10:56
  • Saturday – Body Pump + 4 miles @ 9:41
  • Sunday – 8 miles @ 10:31
  • Run – 26 miles
  • Strength – 2x

10425105_10107542235765954_955403835748442860_n

Week 13 Summary

  • Weight gained this week: +0.8 lbs.
  • Total weight gained: +4.8 lbs. I gained 3.5 pounds in the first trimester last pregnancy so I’m gaining a little more so far, but not too far off.
  • # of headaches: only 1 or 2!
  • # of naps taken: at least 3 that I can remember- so nice!
  • Maternity items bought: a new shirt and maternity capris from For Two Fitness and some maternity clothes from Old Navy!
  • # of days until we tour the Birth Center we may be switching our care to: 1! Yay!

13 weeks last time around!​

Leave a Reply

