Baby 2.0 – 10 Weeks

(Originally written on October 20, 2014)

This week was a big one for me because I’m finally in double digits! I don’t know why that feels so much farther along than the single digit weeks but it does. I got to hear baby’s heartbeat again, so I am super happy and feeling more relaxed. AND we announced our news to our workplaces and the public! Yay! Told you it was an exciting week!

IMG_0369.JPG

Baby

This week baby is about the size of a prune, about 1.5 inches, and weighs a quarter of an ounce. It’s bones and cartilage are starting to form, as well as the livers and kidneys. The baby is even producing some waste products which are removed by the umbilical cord and disposed of through my blood. Cool!

IMG_0927     IMG_0928

Body

Well, the belly seems to have gone down a bit this week, which I kind of expected since our trip last weekend was indulgent and I was very bloated for a few days afterwards. My weight also went down some, whew! I knew I couldn’t have actually gained two full pounds in one week!

DSCN3720   DSCN3722

My main physical symptoms this past week were more of the same- very tired, lots of headaches, very sore boobs and achy uterus. I swear every day I wake up my boobs look bigger, and Kevin has even noticed and made the same comment! I read that an extra achy uterus is normal around now, because baby is putting more pressure on my organs, veins, muscles and ligaments as everything grows and stretches.

DSCN3723  DSCN3724

I haven’t been sleeping well which I’m sure contributes to a lot of those symptoms, but this week I really made an effort to go to bed early (one night I was in bed at 8 p.m.!) and that really helped. It’s just hard to get to bed early when I still have things to get done, but I know I need to do it if I’m going to function at all the next day. There are some nights where I have a hard time falling and staying asleep even if I go to bed early, and that’s frustrating. Pregnancy insomnia has already begun I guess!

Mind

I am feeling so much calmer and at ease after a long, in-depth appointment with my midwife and hearing the baby’s heartbeat not once, but TWO times! I had an appointment this past Tuesday with a midwife who was new to the practice and I absolutely loved her. She spent a full 30 minutes with me, and when I told her I was pretty much playing the waiting game because I had seen the baby in an ultrasound a few weeks ago but wouldn’t again until November 4th, and it was too early to hear anything with a doppler- she said, well let’s try and see! And within a few seconds, we were able to hear baby’s heartbeat loud and strong at 175 beats per minute… way faster than Kev’s ever was! His was 150 max and went down from there throughout the pregnancy.

After that my friend lent me her home doppler. I tried a few times this past week to find the heartbeat myself, knowing that it wasn’t as high-tech as the one at the doctor’s office and that it was still early so I wasn’t worried. But yesterday after a lot of searching I FOUND IT! It started around 148-150 and rose up to 168 while we were listening. It was the sweetest sound 🙂 So mentally and emotionally I am feeling great this week!

Another that that made me happy this week was that we took our annual trip to our local farm/pumpkin patch. We went with our friends James and Chanda and their daughter Leighton. It was a lot of fun, and we have made great memories here over the past 3 years.

IMG_0924

FullSizeRender

The best part was taking a picture of Kevin by the growth chart they have and seeing how much he’s grown over the years. Check it out! In the below photo he was 1 month old, 1 year old, and 2 years old 🙂

IMG_0925

Finally, today when I hit 10 weeks we announced to our workplaces and to the people who didn’t know yet on Facebook. I was nervous to tell my new principal since I just started at this school about a month ago, but she was so amazingly excited and supportive. It was a huge weight off my shoulders! Once she knew I told some other people at work and we posted our announcement photo on Facebook. It was so fun to read everyone’s congratulations and sweet comments. We’re so lucky to have the friends and family that we do!

Food

I made an effort to eat cleaner and healthily this week after our weekend away last week. We planned healthy dinners, I packed salads and soups for lunch, and made sure I was truly hungry before eating. Over the weekend I did end up treating myself a bit because we spontaneously went out to eat on Friday night to one of my favorite restaurants, where I got a housemade veggie burger and fries. Then we had friends over on Sunday night and ordered pizza after our trip to the pumpkin patch. Overall though, it was a much better week. My body is thanking me for that!​

Fitness

After a nice cutback week I bumped it up a little bit again. I was able to run with my friend Laura twice during the week (those are my slower runs on Wednesday and Friday- she’s amazing and still running at 28 weeks pregnant!), with my boys on Saturday morning on a beautiful new running path that we loved, and with my running group on Sunday morning. It was a great week for fitness!

  • Monday – Rest
  • Tuesday – Body Pump
  • Wednesday – ​5 miles @ 10:57
  • Thursday – 4 miles @ 9:27
  • Friday – 3 miles @ 11:31
  • Saturday – Body Pump + 3 miles @ 9:35
  • Sunday – 10 miles @ 10:34
  • Run – 25 miles
  • Strength – 2x
10387629_10107422819162784_2455215445374527285_n
IMG_0663
Week 10 Summary
  • Weight gained this week: -0.6 lbs.
  • Total weight gained: +3.4 lbs.
  • Best thing I ate this week: Bread dipped in delicious oil & spices at Not Your Average Joe’s – my favorite!
  • # of likes on my announcement picture: 164! Whoa!
  • # of days until my next sonogram: 15

10 weeks last time around!​

Leave a Reply

