Baby 2.0 – 9 Weeks

(Originally written on October 13, 2014)

This week passed super quickly! We took our annual fall trip to French Creek with family and friends, where I was able to disconnect and relax with people who all knew I was pregnant so I didn’t have to hide anything. It felt great! Details about week 9 below!

IMG_0561

Baby

This week baby is officially a fetus and no longer an embryo. Yay! It is about the size of a green grape or olive- almost an inch long. It’s tongue, lips, and nose are continuing to develop, and the eyes now have tiny eyelids. The baby is also starting to move his or her legs and arms. I can’t wait to eventually feel those movements again!

IMG_0605

Body

Well, the belly looks extra big this week but I think it’s more of a food baby than a real baby thanks to our indulgent weekend away. I ran a ton while we were gone (17 miles total for the weekend), but traditionally French Creek is always a weekend where I let myself eat what I want. Oh well, I am not worried about it.  I’ll have to see if the belly ends up going down at all as the week goes on and the bloating (?) goes away. Either way, something is definitely growing!

DSCN3708   DSCN3710

I am pretty sure I had a big growth spurt and/or hormone surge this week. I was extra tired, extra hungry, and extra achy in my lower abdomen. I also had some bad breakouts on my face. Along with those symptoms I was extra irritable, bitchy, and emotional. I lost my temper a couple of times, including toward a woman in the gym parking lot at 5 a.m. I was pulling into one of the many open spots and a lady raced around to pull through her spot and into the one I was trying to park in. After staring each other down for about 10 seconds I finally backed out and parked somewhere else. She got out of the car, smiled at me and said, “Sorry, I drove all the way around to pull through that spot.” …. really? Needless to say I was annoyed, especially with the way she was smiling smugly at me. I said, “I’m sorry, that must have been so hard for you,” and walked into the gym, not holding the door for her even though she was right behind me. Major. Bitch. I did feel guilty afterwards for about 2 seconds but then I got over it. I don’t have the energy for people like that right now!

I also lost my mind when we were at French Creek and Kevin choked on a piece of apple someone gave him. I was cooking at the stove when my friend told me something was wrong with him. I looked over and saw his face turning colors, and him trying to breathe but he couldn’t. I ran over as fast as I could and tried to think what to do. I started smacking his back and eventually it came out. Once it did I burst into tears and could not stop. I couldn’t get the image of his scared face out of my mind and I felt like a horrible mother because I didn’t know what to do- even though I have taken all the courses that are supposed to prepare you for situations like that. I locked myself in my room and cried for a while. I’m pretty sure my friends thought I was psycho, but I was just so overwhelmed with emotion, scared, and happy he was okay all at the same time. So yeah… lots of hormones happening this week.

Mind

Even though we were preparing to go out of town on Thursday night, our week wasn’t as busy as last week- thankfully! It was so nice to go away for a long weekend and be totally disconnected from the outside world (we have no cell service there). ​Aside from the random emotional outbursts I mentioned above I ended up finishing this week feeling very happy after spending some quality time with family and friends.

DSCN3711   DSCN3712

The other thing on my mind is that I’m still itching to share our news. This past week an old college friend of mine announced on Facebook that she was expecting her 4th baby, and is due the same day as me on May 18th. Kevin says he’s fine with sharing the news when I am, but part of me really wants to wait until our November 4th sonogram. My friend is letting me borrow her doppler soon, so I may be okay with sharing sooner than that if I can find the heartbeat. She said she found hers at 9.5 weeks, but I know with Kevin they had a hard time finding it even at 12 weeks because of where my placenta was positioned. We’ll see!  Either way, I’ll enjoy keeping our little secret a little bit longer 🙂

Food

What didn’t I eat this week? I kept it pretty healthy before we went out of town but then I let it go once we were at our cabin in the woods. We did have some healthy meals- whole grain pancakes, eggs, soup, salads, sandwiches, veggies & hummus, etc. But there were some indulgences as well- chips, (too much) dairy which is leading to some uncomfortable water retention and constipation- ugh!, cookies, s’mores, fries, etc. It was all so delicious but my body (and the scale) is feeling it today. I’m looking forward to getting back our normal way of eating this week.

It’s all about balance- red lentil & kale soup, then ICE CREAM! 🙂

IMG_0342  IMG_0345

Fitness

I took a bit of a step back this week to let my body rest a little after my half. I was feeling pretty tired so I know I needed a cutback week. I’m feeling a LOT better now! I actually signed up for two races, a Thanksgiving Day 5K and a local half marathon in early December. Hopefully things continue the way they are and I can run them both. I’m hoping to do a race every month of my pregnancy like last time to keep me motivated!

  • Monday – Walk with Team RWB (25 minutes)
  • Tuesday – Body Pump
  • Wednesday – 3 miles @ 9:40 pace
  • Thursday – Body Pump
  • Friday – 4 miles @ 9:39 pace
  • Saturday – 10 miles @ 9:28 pace
  • Sunday – 3 miles @ 9:13 pace
  • Run – 20 miles
  • Strength – 2x
10710947_10107376954575784_2113474443950644872_n
Week 9 Summary
  • Weight gained this week: +2.0 pounds (Blech! This is pretty terrible, but I am pretty sure it’s water/bloating/constipation because I didn’t eat enough to gain this much weight over one weekend, especially considering I also ran 17 miles over the course of the weekend too!)
  • Total weight gained: + 4.0 pounds.
  • # of bitchy/emotional meltdowns: at least 6
  • # of naps taken: 3
  • # of days until my next doctor appointment: 1!
  • # of days until my next sonogram: 22 (too long!)

9 weeks last time around!​

Leave a Reply

