Baby 2.0 – 8 Weeks

(Originally written on October 6, 2014)

Whew- what a week. I definitely can say I felt pregnant this week. Certain symptoms hit me like a ton of bricks! We also had some really special moments, like our first sonogram (!!!), my 28th birthday, and my first half marathon of this pregnancy. Read on for details!

Baby

This week baby is about the size of a raspberry or jelly bean, and growing about a millimeter per day (that seems crazy!). It’s brain is developing rapidly and the neural tube has closed to form it’s spinal column by now. It’s growing it’s tiny legs and arms, and even a little nose and upper lip.

IMG_0334

Body

Well, the belly continues to be large and in charge and I’m already in maternity pants most of the time. My regular pants just feel too uncomfortable around the waist. At this point I’m just accepting it. I waited so long for a bump of any sort to emerge last time (it took 17 weeks to start really showing at all, and even then it wasn’t much!), so this time I’m just going to enjoy it. The hard part is embracing the bump before we share our news with too many people. We keep going back and forth with when to share, especially now that we’ve seen the baby and know everything is fine (more about that later). But part of me still wants to wait until our next ultrasound at 12 weeks just to make sure. We will figure it out and do what feels right.

DSCN3702   DSCN3703

My main physical symptoms this week are lots of headaches, occasional waves of nausea and feeling “off” (lightheaded, shaky, foggy), especially in the mornings. The fatigue I am experiencing is unreal. I spend most of the day so tired. It’s harder to get up in the morning and I find myself practially falling asleep mid-afternoon between 2-4. I have zero motivation to get things done at work and at home. I’ve been trying to go to sleep earlier which has helped in the mornings, but I still can’t break the afternoon slump. I had to eat spicy almonds and take frequent breaks to force myself to stay awake during an afternoon staff meeting last week!

Overall though when I think about this pregnancy compared to last, I really do feel a lot better this time around. I am definitely thankful for that! It has definitely been interesting to read my old pregnancy updates and see how this pregnancy is similar or different. I’m so happy I took the time to blog about it each week, and I hope I can keep it up this time too!

8 weeks: first pregnancy vs. second pregnancy

8 weeks: first pregnancy vs. second pregnancy

Mind

Even though I said I was going to slow down last week I really didn’t. We were so busy from Monday-Thursday, with meetings before work, then work itself, and then something after work every night. By the time Friday rolled around I was pretty much a zombie. Kevin and I had planned to attend our daycare’s Parents Night Out event but canceled because I just needed a night to come home and do nothing.

DSCN3704   DSCN3705

In other news, I turned 28 this week! We celebrated my birthday on Wednesday by going on to dinner with a bunch of friends and family. It was really nice and made me feel very special. I can’t believe I’m 28 now, but I’m right where I thought I would be around this age so I’m very content :).

The biggest thing that really put my mind at ease was getting our first sonogram this past Friday. It started off a little crazy and emotional but all ended okay. I had a 9:00 AM appointment, which should have been the first one of the day. I got there early and Kevin managed to even get off work to be there too. I had to pee really badly but the woman at the desk wasn’t sure if I needed to have a full bladder or not. She said we would wait for the sonographer to show up to ask. Well, the sonographer never showed up. Eventually I did go to the bathroom and they told me around 10:00 AM that there was a miscommunication with scheduling and the sonographer would only be there in the afternoon. I was very upset, because both Kevin and I had wasted what little sick leave we have and I was already anxious to see my baby and it’s heartbeat. They told me I could come back on Tuesday. After waiting 3 weeks for this appointment another 3 days felt like an eternity. We finally ended up figuring out I could come later that day at 4:30. I somehow got through the rest of my day, and Kevin was able to convince his boss to let him leave work again for the appointment. In the end it was all worth it. We saw our beautiful gummy-bear shaped baby and it’s beautiful heartbeat!

FullSizeRender-1

The sonographer was very nice and apologetic for the mistake that her company made in scheduling. She spent a lot of time showing us the baby (even a 3D shot!), my uterus- making sure there was only ONE baby, my ovaries (and how the egg had been released from the right side- which I had thought because I felt the ovulation pain on that side!), and she even showed us how my bladder was filling back up. It was a really special moment, and I was so happy that Kevin was able to be there. He never got to see my first ultrasound with little Kevin, so this was extra special for him to experience.

IMG_0143

The baby was measuring perfectly and even 1 day ahead- at 7 weeks 5 days- which confirmed my due date as May 18th. Yay!

Our baby in 3D- kinda looks like a potato 🙂

Food

Certain foods are definitely not sounding as good to me anymore. Every morning when I pack lunch it’s a struggle, because nothing seems to interest me. The morning is when I feel a little queasy too so I think that’s why. Usually by the time lunch rolls around I’m fine. I’m still eating most veggies, although carrots sound disgusting even though I usually eat them with hummus everyday. At this point last time around I wasn’t able to eat much of anything besides carbs, carbs and more carbs, so I’m happy that hasn’t hit me (yet). I also haven’t really craved meat at all this week so I think increasing my vegetarian protein intake was a good idea.

Fitness

It was an amazing week for my fitness. I ran a half marathon and got a new pregnancy PR of 1:56:20! I blogged about the race this week but obviously didn’t mention the pregnancy since I haven’t announced it publicly yet. I did 4 half marathons the last time I was pregnant and I hope to do 2-3 this time around. It will be trickier since I’ll be pregnant during the winter this time so my options are limited. Either way, I want to continue staying active no matter what!

  • Monday – 2 miles @ 9:33 pace (w/ Team RWB)
  • Tuesday – Body Pump
  • Wednesday – 4 miles @ 9:45 pace
  • Thursday – 4 miles @ 9:23 pace
  • Friday – 3 miles @ 10:23 pace
  • Saturday – Body Pump
  • Sunday – WIlson Bridge Half Marathon (13.1 miles @ 8:53 pace)
  • Run – 26.1 miles
  • Strength – 2x
IMG_0312
10421111_10201800200606774_5302603578551183194_n
Week 7 Summary
  • Weight gained this week: +0.4 lbs
  • Total weight gained: +2.0 lbs.
  • Best thing I ate this week: A bagel with cream cheese and scrambled eggs on the side after my half marathon. It tasted so amazing!
  • Early gender predictions: I think it’s a girl, based on how this pregnancy is already different than my first. Kevin says he doesn’t know yet. We most likely are going to wait until baby’s born to find out again!
  • Baby names chosen: 1 boy name and 1 girl name. We’re 95% set on this decision and it actually was very easy to agree. Each one incorporates my side of the family in some way, since little Kev’s name has been passed down from his daddy’s side. I’m in love with both of the names!
  • # of days until my favorite fall tradition- FRENCH CREEK!: 3!

8 weeks last time around!​

Leave a Reply

