Baby 2.0 – 7 Weeks

(Originally written on September 29, 2014)

Another week has gone by! I have to say, as slowly as time seems to pass sometimes it sure does feel like the weeks are passing pretty quickly overall! I am not complaining about that though, because it’s continuing to get more and more difficult to keep this pregnancy quiet as my belly keeps growing. You can see in the photo below just how much I’ve grown in the past few weeks!

IMG_0100

Baby

This week baby is the size of a blueberry. BabyCenter says, “If you could see inside your womb, you’d spot eyelid folds partially covering her peepers, which already have some color, as well as the tip of her nose and tiny veins beneath parchment-thin skin. Both hemispheres of your baby’s brain are growing, and her liver is churning out red blood cells until her bone marrow forms and takes over this role. She also has an appendix and a pancreas, which will eventually produce the hormone insulin to aid in digestion. A loop in your baby’s growing intestines is bulging into her umbilical cord, which now has distinct blood vessels to carry oxygen and nutrients to and from her tiny body.” <— So cool!

FullSizeRender

Body

This belly just keeps on growing. I can’t even believe it- this is how I looked at about 20 weeks pregnant last time! ​All of this growth has me wondering if there could be two babies in there. I know it’s common for second time moms to grow more quickly, but MAN, I feel pretty big for being only 7 weeks! Twins do run in my family on both sides too. I guess we’ll have to wait until Friday to find out! Eek!

DSCN3676  7 weeks

Aside from the belly I think I had a hormone surge this week because some of my symptoms definitely picked up. I have started feeling nauseous, shaky and lightheaded in the morning when I first wake up. I also have waves of nausea throughout the day when I have an empty stomach. My boobs and especially my nipples are super sore- it’s actually painful to wear a bra some days! I find myself getting out of breath easily when I’m running or walking up the many stairs in my new school. This happened last time too- something about increased blood volume? I’m also still having crazy dreams at night and peeing a lot, which means I’m pretty tired most days. One of the most obvious symptoms this week has been my increased sense of smell. While running with Amanda this past weekend a lost dog ran up to us, jumped on our legs and licked us like crazy everywhere. Once the owner came and got him I could NOT get the smell of dog slobber out of my nose. It took all of my strength to not puke, because the smell was all over me- especially my hands. We had to make a detour to go to Amanda’s car and get some baby wipes so I could clean myself off. I was fine after that. LOL!

Mind

We have a more relaxing week than last week, but it was still a little too much “go, go, go” for what I can handle right now. At the end of our really busy days I can tell when I overdid it because I am so exhausted and feel crampy. A good reminder to slow down a bit!

DSCN3680   DSCN3681

I’ve been VERY emotional and crying over silly things, which I think again is an effect of a hormone surge or something. For example, I’ll be at work and I’ll start thinking about how I miss little Kevin and what he’s doing at daycare, and I’ll get all teary-eyed. I’m definitely feeling extra attached to him right now, I think because my time with just him as my baby is going to come to an end next year. It definitely feels bittersweet.

Food

Sweets cravings are gone and the savory ones that I had nonstop with my last pregnancy are back! My appetite has definitely increased. Cheese and crackers (actually cheese anything), bagel & egg sandwiches, cereal, popcorn… I want it all! I actually made Kevin stop on the way home from work to get me some microwave popcorn because it was all I could think about. I was excited to eat it as a snack after dinner and before bed, but for 3 nights in a row I ended up feeling too full and not wanting to eat it. I finally had some the other night and it was amazing! Craving satisfied.

These almonds are currently rocking my world!

These almonds are currently rocking my world!

One weird thing is that I’ve been craving meat a little bit. While we were running on Saturday I smelled someone grilled hotdogs and had a crazy urge to eat one. Then I drove past Chick-Fil-A the next day and found myself wanting a crispy chicken sandwich. WTF?? I have not had the desire to eat a bite of meat for over 4 years- in fact, the main reason I went vegetarian was because I was having intense aversions toward meat. So it’s very strange to feel like I want to eat it again. I think it’s probably just a protein issue, so I’m going to bump up my vegetarian protein intake and see if that helps at all. If not, I may be giving in!

Fitness

I was actually able to run with people every time I ran this week! What a treat! On Monday Kevin and I joined Team RWB for their usual evening run, I ran with Laura Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, and my long run group met to support Amanda in her 20 miler on Saturday. On the days I didn’t run I did Body Pump. Woo hoo!

  • Monday – 3 miles @ 9:13 pace
  • Tuesday – Body Pump
  • Wednesday – 4 miles @ 10:00
  • Thursday – 3 miles @ 10:21
  • Friday – 3 miles @ 10:21
  • Saturday – 12 miles @ 11:03
  • Sunday – Body Pump
  • Run – 25 miles
  • Strength – 2x

10653735_10107267569160034_4495942503637675231_n

10348539_10201766764690897_1682139083021526938_n

Week 7 Summary

  • Weight gained this week: +1.8 lbs. Hello weight gain! I’ve been soooo hungry (clearly!)
  • Total weight gained: +1.6 lbs.
  • # of times I fell asleep on the couch: 4
  • # of times I wanted to get Kev from his crib because I missed him: 7 (told you I was emotional)
  • # of days until I turn 28: 2! (October 1st)
  • # of days until my first sonogram: 4 (October 3rd)! I cannot wait!

7 weeks last time around!

Leave a Reply

