Baby 2.0 – 6 Weeks

(Originally written on September 22, 2014)

These weeks are passing quickly since we have been so busy! I don’t want to wish the pregnancy away at all, but part of me is thankful that the early weeks are going by fast. I am anxious to see my little peanut on an ultrasound soon and get past the first trimester where I can relax a little bit more. I’m also looking forward to being able to share my news with everyone, since I’m already having a hard time hiding it with this belly that’s appearing out of nowhere! More on that later 🙂

There's definitely something going on in there!

There’s definitely something going on in there! That belly was not there a few weeks ago!

Baby

This week baby’s facial features have started to develop, and little buds are forming where arms and legs will be. The heart is beating strong and hopefully we’ll be able to see it on an ultrasound next week!

photo 4

Body

The most obvious change this week is the belly. It just seems to be a lot bigger than this point last time around! It’s not just bloating that gets worse as the day goes on either. It’s even there when I wake up. I was very aware of it at Kevin’s party since we were around many people who know me and what my body usually looks like, and we haven’t told some of them about it yet. We ended up telling Kevin’s best friend later that night once they were back at our house and his girlfriend said, “I thought you were just really full!” … yeah.

DSCN3664   DSCN3665

Aside from that it’s more of the same from last week. Very hungry and thirsty, tired from not sleeping well (waking up to pee, crazy dreams, etc.). Achiness and a feeling of heaviness in my uterus, especially at the end of a long day. My skin has started breaking out more and my nails are growing like crazy! No real nausea or anything yet, which I am happy about because it started this week last time around!

Mind

This week was a lot better for me mentally and emotionally but I still had some highs and lows. One of the biggest sources of anxiety this week was starting at my new school after being destaffed a couple weeks ago from the school I was at for 6 years. However, it turned out that I really didn’t have much to worry about. I really love it here and the people I am working with are wonderful, especially the other reading teacher and my principal. It feels like a breath of fresh air! I son’t think I knew how badly I needed a change until I was forced to make one!

DSCN3666     DSCN3667

The other good news this week was that my HcG numbers were tested again and came back looking great! My levels jumped from 468 to over 2,200, which the doctor was really happy about. The next appointment I will have is for my ultrasound on October 3rd!

On another good note, we had Kevin’s 2nd birthday party over the weekend. It was a lot of work but I tried hard not to let myself stress as much as last year. I accepted help from a lot of people and just tried to enjoy the day. We had a great time.

photo 5

Along with his party came family and friends, and we decided to tell some of them that we were pregnant while they were in town. First we told Kevin’s family on Friday night. We had him wear the Big Brother shirt and saw how long it took for them to notice. Kevin’s sister noticed first, then his mom, then everyone else realized once they started screaming and crying. It was a very sweet moment.

But my favorite moment of the entire week (and this will win the prize for a while) was telling one of my best friends. I told her that I was pregnant and we hugged and got all excited… and then she told me that she was pregnant TOO!!!! Not only that, but we realized that our due dates are very close together. I’ll share more about this later since she hasn’t officially announced yet. With all of this going on, no wonder I have been an emotional mess!

Food

​Surprisingly I’ve been still eating like normal. At this point last time around I didn’t want anything to do with veggies but I’m still able to eat salads, stir frys, veggies and hummus- all my usual foods. I’m thankful for that! But I have noticed myself wanting more sweets. I don’t know if it’s because we just had Kevin’s birthday so there were lots of delicious things available to me, but hopefully that one doesn’t last long!

Fitness

I was able to get in some great runs this week and felt amazing on all of them. Fall has officially arrived and I could not be happier about that! I had a few runs with friends and an amazing 12 mile long run with one of my favorite running buddies, Amanda. We were so caught up in laughing and talking that we had no idea where we were. Thank goodness for phones with GPS! I also made it to Body Pump twice this week again. Go me!

  • Monday – 3 miles @ 9:14 pace
  • Tuesday – Body Pump
  • Wednesday – 3 miles @ 10:26 pace
  • Thursday – 4 miles @ 10:15 pace
  • Friday – 3 miles @ 10:38 pace
  • Saturday – Body Pump
  • Sunday – 12 miles @ 10:55 pace
  • Run – 25.18 miles
  • Strength – 2x
Long Run Sunday with Amanda!

Long Run Sunday with Amanda!

Week 6 Summary

  • Weight gained this week: +0.8 lbs.
  • Total weight gained: -0.2 lbs. (still under pre-pregnancy, but not for long!)
  • Best thing I ate this week: Cupcakes. Darn leftovers!!! At least they were homemade?
  • # of blood draws: 1
  • Craziest pregnancy dream: a sex dream that did not involve my husband :/ felt very guilty about that one!
  • # of days until my first sonogram: 11! (October 3rd)

6 weeks last time around!

Leave a Reply

