Baby 2.0 – 4 Weeks

(Originally written on September 8, 2014)

Here we go again! Time for weekly pregnancy updates. Yay! I am so happy that I blogged about each week of my pregnancy last time around. It’s nice to look back on what I was feeling and experiencing, and how my body was changing during such an exciting time. I plan to do the same thing with this pregnancy. So let’s get into it!

Baby

This week the baby is the size of a poppy seed! According to BabyCenter, week 4 begins the embryonic period for the baby which lasts until week 10. He or she will start developing organs this week and according to The Bump, the neural tube, which is the building block of the spine and brain has already been formed. The amniotic sac is also now in place, and the placenta is developing and getting ready to begin nourishing the baby.

photo 2

Body

This is the week I found out I was pregnant, but I had multiple signs that I was before I got a positive test. I have heard that pregnancy symptoms can be worse the second time around and so far that seems to be true. I am so tired, my boobs are so sore (and they feel fuller and heavier- already!), my headaches are worse, I feel overly emotional, I’m so hungry, I go back and forth between feeling really hot and really cold, my skin is breaking out, and I notice more achiness in my uterus. All of these symptoms didn’t happen until later on in my first pregnancy. Maybe it’s because I’ve been through it once before so I know what to look out for, but I am hoping this trend doesn’t continue! If it does I’m in for a much more difficult pregnancy than last time, that’s for sure! Yesterday I totally passed out on the couch for almost 2 hours because I was so tired. And it’s only week 4!

DSCN3433   4weeks

I also feel like I’m full of water and air. I’m super gassy and burping all the time, which was also something that happened with my first pregnancy. The other night I had the WORST gas pain in my stomach. It really freaked me out and took my breath away, it was so painful. Eventually it went away when I worked on massaging it out of my stomach. I’ve also noticed my stomach getting progressively more bloated as the day goes on. By the time I go to bed I look like I’m a few months pregnant! It’s crazy.

Mind

I tried very hard to minimize my stress level this week but it’s been difficult. I was thrown two huge pieces of news this week. First, on Friday I found out I was being destaffed from my school which was a huge shock because I was starting my 7th year there. The next day is the day I found out I was pregnant. Talk about an extreme low followed by an extreme high. In both cases I’m trying not to worry too much. There’s a lot of unknowns about which school and position I will end up in, and of course there are a lot of unkowns during the first few months of pregnancy. I’m focusing on enjoying the present day rather than worry about what’s to come. So far I think I’m doing a good job, but it’s not easy.

10478686_10107174513219884_1387129629113652631_n

I’ll feel better once I get my blood tested to find out what my hCG and progesterone levels are tomorrow. My doctor recommended I do that when I get a positive test, since I was seeing signs of low progesterone in my cycle (very short luteal phase of 7-10 days, a lot of spotting before my period, etc.). Progesterone is very important, especially in the first few weeks before the placenta starts making it on it’s own. If it’s not at an optimal level I’ll need to supplement it so I don’t lose the baby. Obviously I also am interested in my hCG level (pregnancy hormone) so I can make sure it’s rising appropriately. I also need to get my thyroid levels checked, because they also changed pretty quickly once I got pregnant last time and I may have to have my medication adjusted. Whew! It’s a lot to think about.

DSCN3435   DSCN3436

Another thing that’s been on my mind is that we have actually shared our news with a lot more people that we did at this point last time around. This is mostly because more people knew we were trying. We haven’t told family yet because we’re waiting until we see them in person in a couple weeks, but we have shared with close friends. The first person I told was obviously Kevin. Then I told my friend Laura, who already pretty much knew because I run with her almost every day and she was getting the play-by-play. She also charted her cycle using the same method I did, so I would ask her a ton of questions as the days went by. I also told one of my best friends from home because we have been trying to get pregnant at the same time and have been sharing stories/symptoms. I told the girls I run with every weekend and my former Bradley teacher/doula who had become a close friend of mine. I was hesistant to share with this many people at first but then I realized that if something were to happen, these are the people I would tell anyway and who would support me. So why hold back our happiness and excitement?

Food

Ummm… what am I NOT eating this week? I find myself feeling shaky and lightheaded when I need to eat (which is happening more often lately- every 2 hours or so). I’ve been even waking up at night hungry, which was one of the first signs that made me wonder if I was pregnant since that’s what happened last time. Despite all my eating I actually lost a little weight this week. I can tell my metabolism is working hard to grow this little poppy-seed sized baby. I’m still able to eat pretty healthily and haven’t really had any aversions or cravings. We’ll see how long that lasts!

How I told Kevin about Baby #2!

How I told Kevin about Baby #2!

Fitness

One of my goals when we started trying to get pregnant was to increase my mileage so I had a good fitness base going into pregnancy like last time, and also to keep a more consistent strength training routine. My goals are to run 20-30 miles a week and strength train twice a week. I’ll cut my mileage down from there when it starts to be too much. This week my pace was all over the place because I did speedwork early in the week before knowing I was pregnant, and it was a really hot all week long which had me slowing down after that (so excited for fall weather!). I’m happy to meet both of my goals despite being very, very tired. However, going to bed at 8 p.m. has helped me wake up bright and early and ready to work out. I feel best in the mornings right now so I know I need to make the most of that time.

  • Monday – 4 miles @ 7:58 pace (speedwork before knowing I was pregnant!)
  • Tuesday – 3 miles @ 10:07 pace
  • Wednesday – 4 miles @ 9:20 pace
  • Thursday – Body Pump
  • Friday – 3 miles @ 10:18 pace
  • Saturday – Body Pump + Arlington Memorial 5K  @ 10:44 pace
  • Sunday – 12 miles @ 10:46 pace
  • Run – 29 miles
  • Strength – 2x

photo

Week 4 Summary

  • Weight gained this week: -0.2 lbs.
  • Total weight gained: -0.2 lbs.
  • Pregnancy tests taken: 4
  • Days until bloodwork done: 1
  • # of crying episodes: at least 5- happy and sad tears.
  • # of naps taken: 3
  • Maternity items bought: a “big brother” shirt for Kevin 🙂

4 weeks last time around!

Leave a Reply

