Day in the Life with a 22 Month Old

It’s Day in the Life time! I’m still on summer break and loving my time at home with Kevin (most days). I’m realizing more and more that he is learning a TON and soaking everything up like a sponge. Here’s how our day went on Wednesday, July 30th when Kevin was 22.5 months old (and I’m finally now getting around to blogging about it!).

5:30 a.m. My alarm goes off and I get up and get dressed. I’m meeting my friend who lives down the street for a run. I love having a running buddy who lives so close by! Yes, those are long sleeves I am wearing. It was a nice, cool summer morning!

photo 1-1

5:50 – 6:50 a.m. Running! 5 miles total- 3 with my running buddy, and 2 out and back to our meeting point. It felt great!

photo 2-1

6:50 a.m. I get home, stretch, and head upstairs to shower, and Kevin makes us smoothies.

photo 3-2

7:30 a.m. Kevin leaves for work. I drink some coffee and start making pancakes for little Kev, who is still sleeping (yeah!!!). I like to make a big batch and then freeze the ones he doesn’t eat for later in the week.

photo

8:00 a.m. I sit down, drink the smoothie Kevin made me and relax for a few minutes.

8:25 a.m. Kev’s awake! I change his diaper and give him his smoothie to drink and we play.

photo 1-4

9:00 a.m. Another diaper change- this one poopy. Fun!

9:10 a.m. Kevin’s breakfast: part 2! He eats a bunch of pancakes and I freeze the rest. He also drinks a cup of milk.

photo 2-2

 

9:30 a.m. More playtime 🙂

10:20 a.m. We get dressed and ready to run some errands. He picked his own outfit out AND brushed his hair and teeth. Such a big boy. Another diaper change too!

photo 1-3

10:45 a.m. Leave for the store. Guess which one? Yes, we cannot enter Target without stopping to sit on the big red ball first.

photo 2-3

11:35 a.m. We’re back home and ready for lunch. He didn’t want to eat much, but had about half of a peanut butter and honey sandwich and some fruit.

photo 3-3

11:45 a.m. He started saying, “potty, potty” so I got him in the bathroom to try to go, but no luck. He has successfully gone 2-3 times (all initiated by him) but we aren’t pushing it!

11:55 a.m. Nap time! We go upstairs and I rock him to sleep. Still can’t give up doing this even though he’s almost 2. It’s our special time and reminds of the book Love You Forever 🙂

12:12 p.m. He’s out. I go downstairs to make lunch for myself.  I have an egg salad sandwich with some carrots and hummus. I’ve been LOVING egg salad lately. I eat and relax for a bit.

photo 4-1

1:30 p.m. Since we have a late afternoon playdate today, I get started on making dinner so it will be ready to eat when we get home. We’re making one of our favorites- Red Lentil Enchiladas from the Peas and Thank You cookbook. My hubby requests this meal often, plus it makes leftovers which is always a bonus for us! I also make a small cup of coffee for an afternoon pick-me-up.

photo 5-1

2:25 p.m. Right as I put dinner in the oven I hear Kev making noise upstairs. I go up to get him ready for our playdate to the playground and the pool.

3:00 p.m. Dinner’s out of the oven and cooling, and we are both ready to go! We have a fantastic time playing with my friend Chanda and her daughter Leighton.

photo 2

photo 3   photo 1

photo 1-2 photo 3-1

6:10 p.m. We get back home and are hungry! I’m definitely glad I prepped dinner ahead of time. I quickly make a side salad to go with the enchiladas, and I prep Kev’s dinner: a cheese quesadilla and avocado. My husband got home from work a little bit before us and went out to run, and he got back right as I finished the salad. We all eat!

photo 2-4   photo 1-5

7:00 p.m. Kev is really tired from all of his playing, so we get him up for a bath and to get ready for bed.

photo 3-4

7:30 p.m. Bedtime! I rock him to sleep again and my husband starts laundry.

7:55 p.m. I put him down in his crib and head downstairs. It’s Wednesday, which means Big Brother is on (our favorite summer show!). We relax and watch it while drinking a beer. I forget which one this was, but it was good! My hubby has taught me so much about craft beer in the last couple of years and it has really helped me develop an appreciation for it.

photo 4-2

9:45 p.m. We head upstairs to sleep and rest up for another busy and fun day tomorrow!

Previous “Day in the Life” posts:

2 responses to “Day in the Life with a 22 Month Old

  1. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 2 Year Old | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: 2014: A Year in Review | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

