Run Streak: Week 7

goodday

I have officially changed the name of these posts from Runner’s World Run Streak recaps to just Run Streak recaps, since the Runner’s World challenge is officially over. Kevin and I will be keeping up the streak until hopefully Labor Day, and I will continue to write weekly updates to document our runs. Here is a recap of how my week went, followed by Kevin’s account of his week.

photo 1

Katie’s Miles (7/7 – 7/13)

  • Monday: 2 miles @ 9:09. I was supposed to have a date at the track with my friend Gina again this morning, but we didn’t get home from the beach until close to 1 a.m. due to traffic (ugh!). I was exhausted and just couldn’t bring myself to wake the baby up early to take him to the track and force myself through a tough workout. Instead we took it easy all day and rested and I ran 2 quick miles in the evening after dinner. Despite having some bad heartburn from my black bean tacos it was a good run, and I felt great in my new shirt from Old Navy (see above photo!).
  • Tuesday: 4 miles @ 9:11. I went out in the morning not knowing how far I was going to run, and after a minute or so I figured it would be another short one because I felt pretty stiff and tired. Eventually I got into a good groove and the rest of the run felt awesome. It felt nice outside with lower humidity and some breeze. I ended up doing 4 miles and came home to a delicious smoothie that Kevin had made for me 🙂 Great morning!
  • Wednesday: 4 miles @ 9:23. I didn’t have time to run in the morning because I had to leave the house super early for a work training. The baby was at daycare so I ran after my training was over before I picked him up. It was about 90 degrees (!!), but it actually didn’t feel terrible until I turned around at the 2 mile mark. At that point I was wishing I had turned around at 1.5 and just done 3 miles! I ended up walking twice during the second half but left my watch going while I did. I really do believe that taking walking breaks can make you faster overall, especially in the summer. I felt better once I walked for a minute or so and was able to pick it up again afterwards more easily. I was very happy to be done once I hit 4 miles!
  • Thursday: 5 miles @ 9:22. What a perfect morning for running. Cooler, breezy and lower humidity than we have been having here. It felt so good that I decided to go a little farther than I have been during my weekday runs. It was a beautiful route, and I felt strong on the (many) hills. Lots of other friendly runners out this morning too. Great way to start the day!
  • Friday: 3 miles @ 9:16. I am getting spoiled with this beautiful mornings! Again, it was cooler with lower humidity and I felt great. I usually take a short wooded trail that takes me from my neighborhood to a commuter lot and the main road when I run, but the day before I was walking with little Kev and a snake slithered right in front of us on the trail! I got really scared, picked up Kev and ran. So needless to say, I wanted to do a different route this morning. The way I went was definitely more hilly but I felt strong on the hills again. So happy my body seems to be acclimating more to the summer weather!
  • Saturday: 12 miles @ 10:28. This was a special day for a couple reasons. #1, it was day 50 of my streak! #2, I had an amazing run with some wonderful people. I ran with Amanda and two new friends that I met through a local mommy running group, and we did 10 miles together in the shaded, beautiful Fredericksburg Battlefield. We talked the entire time and the miles really flew by, except toward the end when I REALLY had to pee. The only drawback to running in the battlefield is that there are no bathrooms nearby! Once I finished with the ladies I went in the woods to pee (LOL) then I met my boys who were also there with my husband’s running group. It worked out perfectly, and I was able to meet them as Kevin was finishing his run. I ended up doing 2 more miles, bringing me to 12 miles for the day. Then I went home and we all napped for 2 hours. Perfection!
  • Sunday: 2 miles @ 9:23. Whew, it was hot out there on this day! I ran to the gym to take Body Pump and then back home, a mile each way. It was my first time doing Body Pump 90 and WOW. My whole body was shaking at the end. It was tough but I loved it!
  • Total Miles This Week: 32
  • Total Miles So Far: 206
  • Total Days Streaking: 51
View on Thursday's run!

View on Thursday’s run!

Kevin’s Miles (7/7 – 7/13)

  • Monday: 1 mile @ 8:56. This was the day after we got home late from our vacation and I couldn’t get up in the morning to run after only a few hours of sleep. Running in the evening in the summer really sucks, but I did it anyway because I wanted to get back on track.
  • Tuesday: 2 miles @ 8:24. Back to running in the morning and it felt great!
  • Wednesday: 2 miles @ 8:49. I waited until after dinner to run and all I could do was taste my dinner. Kinda made me feel like I wanted to throw up. You’d think I would have learned my lesson from Monday’s evening run but I didn’t.
  • Thursday: 2 miles @ 8:50. Another nice morning.
  • Friday: 2 miles @ 8:35. It felt good outside this morning, but I’m getting ready for some new routes. I keep going back to the same ones because they’re easy and I can just walk out the door and run, but it’s getting boring!
  • Saturday: 5 miles @ ?. I ran with my running group at the Battlefield and pushed Kev in the stroller. This was the farthest distance I have pushed him in a while and it was tough but good. Katie had the Garmin so I don’t know how long it took me. I just asked someone in my group to let me know when we hit mile 2.5 and then I turned around.
  • Sunday: 2 miles @ 8:10. Quick 2 miles to end my weekend. I did it after Katie got back from Body Pump and it was pretty hot mid-morning.
  • Total Miles This Week: 16
  • Total Miles So Far: 97.8
  • Total Days Streaking: 50

photo 4

Next week will be exciting, because we’ll be traveling to the west coast! We will be in Oregon to see family and attend my cousin’s wedding. Oregon is probably my favorite place to run and I can’t wait! We’ll be in Portland for about 4 days and then Bend for 4 days, so if anyone has any running recommendations for those areas let me know.

Previous Updates

6 responses to “Run Streak: Week 7

  1. Pingback: Run Streak: Weeks 8 & 9 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: Run Streak: Week 10 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: Run Streak: Week 11 | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: Run Streak: Week 12 | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: Run Streak: Week 13 | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: Run Streak: Final Recap! | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

