Runner’s World Run Streak: Week 6

runstreak3

Week 6 was the final official week of the Runner’s World Summer Run Streak, and it was a great one. I had a lot of memorable runs, including a few on vacation at the beach, and an amazing 5K that gave me a new PR (and I finally beat my hubby!).

blog2

Here is a recap of how my week went, followed by Kevin’s account of his week. Brace yourself, it’s a long one! I have a lot to share!

blog

Katie’s Miles (6/30 – 7/6)

  • Monday: 4 miles @ 9:11. It felt so good outside this morning, which was a great way to start a new week. I wanted to do a route I hadn’t done in a while even though I knew it was a little challenging. The first 2 miles were mostly uphill, which really pushed me, but the views coming back down made it worth it.
  • Tuesday: 3 miles @ ?. I met my friend Gina at the track for a fun workout on this day! After warming up a few times around the track, we sprinted the long sides and walked the curves. We really pushed ourselves to the limits on our short sprints. It was tough! Afterwards we did a mini-Tabata style workout using body weight and some resistance bands. Gina is actually the instructor who teaches the Tabata Bootcamp class that I’ve been loving at the gym, so it was so fun to get to do our own little session. After that we did bench step-ups- 10 step ups on the bench, run across the grass to the bench on the other side of the track, and repeat until we did 3 on each side. I finished off by running around the track to cool down. Whew!!! I left my Garmin running and when we were done I was at almost 3 miles, so I ran back to my car to round it out since I’m OCD with numbers like that. The whole workout lasted a little over an hour and was tons of fun. Can’t wait until next time!
  • Wednesday: 4 miles @ 9:09. That moment when you realize the trash truck is running the same route you are… That’s all I have to say about this run.
  • Thursday: 3 miles @ 8:41. We traveled to Myrtle Beach late on Wednesday night and didn’t end up going to bed until 1:30 a.m. Of course little Kev was up at 6 a.m., and then we realized when we went outside that we had a nail in one of our tires and it was totally flat. Thankfully it didn’t happen while we were on the road in the middle of nowhere! The icing on the cake is that there was a hurricane making it’s way up the coast, so after dropping the car off at the shop my husband and I did a quick run before the storm got worse. I ran a mile with him and two on my own. It was raining and windy and we felt pretty badass. It was a great way to relieve some stress from the morning!
  • Friday: 3.4 miles @ 7:40. The last official day of the streak! I celebrated by running the Independence Day 5K in Myrtle Beach in 21:55, a new PR for me (7:04 average pace!), ahead of Kevin and good enough for 3rd place overall female. I still have to write my recap, but it was a super humid morning and I’m not sure where I found the strength to push so hard, but I did and I’m super proud of my effort. Also proud of my husband, and our friends Chanda and James who ran the 8K. After we were done I ran a little extra alongside Chanda before she finished. All 4 of us were participating in the streak. It was definitely a day for celebration.
  • Saturday: 4.6 miles @ 8:45 + 1 mile @ Bootcamp. I started my Saturday on vacation by running 4.6 beautiful miles along the beach, which never ever gets old. It was perfect. I felt like I was in a movie- it was so magical! I ran down to the beach, then out and back on the hard packed sand near the water. It felt great going out and was a little tougher coming back due to the wind, but really how can I complain about anything when I’m running on a beautiful beach?! After my beach run I went to Bootcamp with Chanda and her niece. OMG, what a workout. It was an hour long and after a cardio warmup we rotated through 8 stations with 10 sprints outside in between each one, then we did it all again with lunge jumps between. Followed by abs and a cool down. Chanda wore her Garmin and said we ended up running a mile total with all of our sprints! My whole body hurt later that night, including muscles I never knew I had!
  • Sunday: 10 miles @ 10:24. Today’s run was spent with Chanda again. I love this girl! I’m so happy we ended up going on vacation to the same place at the same time. We were able to run and workout together 3 days in a row! This morning we ran 10 miles around Myrtle Beach and on part of the race course from back in February. Our bodies were tired from Bootcamp yesterday so we kept our pace nice and easy, but we got it done! I’m really glad to be able to replace the memories of my marathon DNF in Myrtle Beach with some good ones.
  • Total Miles This Week: 33
  • Total Miles So Far: 174
  • Total Days Streaking: 44

blog4

Kevin’s Miles (6/30 – 7/6)

  • Monday: 2 miles @ 9:16. It felt amazing outside and I felt great!
  • Tuesday: 1.5 miles @ 8:25. I was planning to do 2 but I got 3/4 of a  mile in and I started prairie-dogging it, so I turned around early and ran back (Note from Katie- He insisted on writing this. Sorry if it’s TMI- I tried! LOL).
  • Wednesday: 2 miles @ 8:11. It was good to get a run in before a long day of work followed by a long road trip.
  • Thursday: 1 mile @ 8:39. It was fun running with Katie in the rain. I took it easy because I had the race the next day.
  • Friday: 3.1 miles @ 7:59. Independence Day 5K. It was humid and I didn’t feel good so I ended up having to walk more than I wanted to. I was defeated by my wife :(.
  • Saturday: 1 mile @ ?. Good short recovery run after the 5K.
  • Sunday: 4 miles @ 8:06. I started running and realized I felt good so I pushed myself hard and ended up running a 5K 20 seconds faster than I did on Friday. It’s amazing how two runs can be so different in only a matter of a few days. After the 5K I ran slower to cool down until I got to 4 miles.
  • Total Miles This Week: 14.6
  • Total Miles So Far: 81.8
  • Total Days Streaking: 43

blog3

As you can see, even though the streak officially ended on Friday, the 4th of July, we kept going. Kevin and I enjoyed the streak so much that we decided to continue streaking until Labor Day, which will end up being about 100 days. Woo hoo! Anyone want to join us?

rwstreakfinisher

Previous Updates

9 responses to “Runner’s World Run Streak: Week 6

  1. I googled the prairie dog thing. Whoops. Note to self: Don’t do that again.

    Congrats on the streak AND again on beating the hubby! (Sorry Kevin!)

  2. Pingback: Run Streak: Week 7 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: Run Streak: Weeks 8 & 9 | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: Run Streak: Week 10 | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: Run Streak: Week 11 | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: Run Streak: Week 12 | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: Run Streak: Week 13 | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: Run Streak: Final Recap! | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

