Day in the Life with a 21 Month Old: Summer Break!

It’s Day in the Life time! Our days lately have been very different than my last DITL post since I am currently at home with Kevin on my summer break. Yay! He is definitely in toddler-mode now, and while 85% of our day is fun, we do have the meltdowns and occasional trips to the time-out chair. Here is a snapshot of what life is like with Kevin at 21 1/2 months old.

photo 1-2

6:00 a.m. Our alarm goes off. My husband gets up, gets dressed and leaves for his run. I lay in bed for a few minutes and eventually get up and get dressed to run too, since I will go after he gets back. Once I’m dressed I go downstairs to pack his lunch.

6:30 a.m. He’s back and like a relay race, he hands me the Garmin and the water bottle and I run out the door. I wanted to run 4 miles this morning, and surprisingly felt pretty good despite it being warm and humid. I noticed as my watch beeps for each mile that I was getting faster, so I decided to push it my last mile to finish it off strong. An accidental progression run :).

image

7:05 a.m.  I get back home and my husband is in the living room with little Kev who got up around 6:45. They are both drinking their green smoothies, and I grab mine that he made for me and put in the fridge. I drink it while I stretch for a few minutes and get tackled by the baby over and over again. When I’m on the floor he automatically thinks it’s time to wrestle!

7:15 a.m. I go upstairs to shower and get dressed.

7:35 a.m. My husband leaves for work. I drink coffee and watch the Today Show while Kevin plays. He’s pretty good at playing independently in the mornings but after I finish my coffee I join him. He loves showing me his block creations and brings me books to read to him.

photo 3

8:30 a.m. We take a trip to the time-out chair, because he wouldn’t listen to me when I told him not to jump on the couch. Clearly, it’s a VERY effective punishment… sigh.

photo

8:45 a.m. Breakfast part 2 for Kevin: toast and oranges (kid loves his fruit!). While he eats I unload and reload the dishwasher.

photo 4

9:15 a.m. We go upstairs for nap time. I’ve been trying to get him to drop his morning nap and just take one longer one in the afternoon, but he was showing signs of needing one (yawning, rubbing eyes, getting cranky) so I decided to put him down. I sit with him in the glider and enjoy these moments where he still wants to cuddle with me :).

photo

9:35 a.m. He is asleep. I start cleaning up our bedroom and organizing, two things that are long overdue! I’ve been waiting all school year to have time to do a long list of projects around the house, and have been trying to accomplish a couple things a day. I also eat a snack during all of my hard work! This is currently my favorite KIND bar. Yum!

photo 1-1

10:55 a.m. Kevin’s awake and actually ended up sleeping later than I wanted him to because I lost track of time. We get dressed to go to the pool and pack up all of our stuff. Kevin climbed into this laundry basket and said “bot” (boat). I guess he was ready to be in the water!

photo 2

11:25 a.m. Pool time! Kevin had a blast, although we are trying to get him to be more confident in the water. He was very hesitant at first and didn’t want me to leave his side or let go of him. Toward the end though, he was walking around the kiddie pool by himself and playing with friends. I hope he continues to grow his confidence before we start swim lessons next month!

photo 5-1

1:10 p.m. We make it home from the pool after a meltdown when it was time to go. Transitions are tough for little Kev these days. We eat some lunch which makes him feel better. He has some rice, chickpeas, pineapple and avocado, and I have a black bean burger with avocado on whole wheat bread, with some cucumbers and carrots with hummus. We both devour it all- swimming works up quite the appetite!

photo 3-1  photo 4-1

1:45 p.m. Kevin’s yawning, time to take him up for a diaper change and nap #2.

2:05 p.m. I put him down in his crib and he is suddenly not interested in sleeping. He’s rolling around, singing, playing with his stuffed animals and talking to himself. I continue working on my cleaning and projects and he eventually falls asleep.

4:10 p.m. He’s up. I go in his room and discover a diaper mess. I put him down with just a t-shirt and a diaper on and clearly that was the wrong choice. He pooped and then tried to take the diaper off. Yeah, I will let you imagine the scene that caused. Anyway, I spent some time cleaning all of that up and then we went downstairs.

4:30 p.m. Kev has a cheese stick for a snack and I start prepping dinner. He won’t leave my side and keeps saying, “Help mommy cook?” (his only 3 word phrase so far). It is adorable, so I let him help me get the potatoes ready to roast. After I washed them I handed them to him to put on the towel, then I chopped them and gave them to him to put in the bowl. I let him try to stir them around with olive oil, then he put a few on the baking sheet for me and spread them around with my help. He was so proud of himself!

photo 2-1

5:00 p.m. While the potatoes are roasting we go into the living room to play some more.

5:45 p.m. Daddy’s home! I finish making dinner and we eat. We’re having breakfast for dinner tonight- veggie omelets with roasted potatoes. I totally forgot to take a picture but we all loved it and cleaned our plates.

6:15 p.m. After dinner Daddy and Kevin had some play time together. This is their special time since he doesn’t get to see him all day.

photo 3-2

6:50 p.m. Daddy takes him up for his bath and bedtime routine.

7:25 p.m. My husband tries putting Kevin to sleep and he doesn’t want anything to do with him anymore and is calling for me. This is weird because he’s been going down fine with his Daddy since he has stopped nursing 2 weeks ago. I took over and rocked him for a little bit, while my hubby started some laundry and cleaned up the kitchen.

7:40 p.m. I put him down in his crib and he goes right to sleep.

8:00 p.m. My hubby and I watch Big Brother. He got me into this show a few summers ago and now I love it! Any other Big Brother fans out there? I was planning to have a glass of wine after my busy day, but wasn’t feeling it anymore once I finally sat down. Kevin’s had a little cold the last couple of days and I finally caught it. I’ve been congested and sneezing and would rather just go to bed! I feel old.

9:00 p.m. Type this blog post!

9:30 p.m. Bedtime! I have to get my sleep because I’m headed to an early Body Pump class in the morning!

That’s life for us these days, busy and fun and full of special little moments that make motherhood and life in general so rewarding. I wouldn’t change a thing- well, except the poop situation after nap time. I could have done without that :).

Previous “Day in the Life” posts:

3 responses to “Day in the Life with a 21 Month Old: Summer Break!

  1. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 22 Month Old | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 2 Year Old | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: 2014: A Year in Review | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

