Mom & Baby: 20/21 Months

Well hello 21 months. I realized that I never wrote a 20 month update, and now all of a sudden here we are at month 21. I am going to combine Kevin’s 20 & 21 month updates into one this time. A LOT has happened and I can sum it up in two words: language and independence. WOW!

10418155_10106515553899644_1590036871552893975_n

Baby

I don’t know how big Kevin is now officially but he’s getting close to 30 pounds. I know he has grown because I’ve had to buy him all new size clothes. He is wearing 2T tops and most of his pants are 3T (!!!) because he is just SO tall. He also got another haircut and this one really makes him look more grown up. We’ve had many people who don’t know him ask his age and guess that he is around 3. He’s not even 2 yet!!!

10411225_10106510157678714_1897251783979300970_n   10313845_10106510158072924_7962720049499083265_n

Here are the monthly comparison shots: 1 month to 21 months.

               DSCN8365 DSCN8866 DSCN9329 DSCN9676

               DSCN9841 DSCN0196 DSCN0334 DSCN0636

               DSCN1015 DSCN1211 11 DSCN1676

               DSCN1890 DSCN2071 DSCN2225 DSCN2239

DSCN2266 DSCN2353 DSCN2427 DSCN2690

DSCN3114

His favorite foods this month are… everything!!! Seriously, this kid loves his food. He is always asking for more and will try to eat off our plates even when he says he is all done. His current favorites include his daily green smoothies in the morning, pancakes, cheese, all fruit and eggs. He still loves to “dip” his food into marinara sauce, ketchup, dressing, peanut butter, applesauce, hummus, BBQ sauce, yogurt… the possibilities are endless and it works like a charm. It can be messy but it’s fun for him and worth it if it means he actually eats a full meal. I’m sure this is an old trick for veteran parents but for us it was eye-opening. It’s a surefire way to get him to eat almost anything. He also has a sweet tooth already and is obsessed with lollipops (“pops”) and his gummy vitamins (“candy”).

10320548_10106517013843904_5565512019793134504_n

I can now say with confidence that Kevin has officially weaned himself. On the day he turned 21 months old, he refused to nurse before bed. He cuddled with me for a few minutes in the rocking chair and then went to sleep without it. I thought it might be a fluke, but then it continued to happen every night afterwards. It’s been a week now and he’s not interested in it at all and hasn’t asked once. Although it’s sad to end this chapter after 21 months, it’s definitely bittersweet. I am ready to move on and give my body a break. Kevin took this picture a couple weeks ago when I was feeling like the end was near. It will always be special to me, and I’m proud that I kept going and waited until he was done on his own terms.

DSCN2697

Even though he has not wanted to nurse, he’s been fighting sleep recently. It has been taking him longer to fall asleep at night and he goes back and forth between 1 and 2 naps during the day. I’m planning to do some experimenting this summer when I am home with him (tomorrow is my last day!) to hopefully get him down to one nap. Sometimes he fights his second nap but then is miserable way before bedtime and will end up falling asleep while playing. It is tricky!  I would love for him to take one longer nap because it’s easier to plan around, but I also want him to wait until he is ready. Clearly, I don’t think he is. See Exhibit A, B, and C below. He fought his nap and ended up passing out in random places later on, even with a little finger puppet in his mouth in the car!

10154111_10106375833330784_7590979805554618509_n    1509841_10106423363155634_149484371047190668_n

10360254_10106503895188794_2093086614301385425_n

By far the biggest development this month is his language. I can’t even keep track of all the words he knows at this point. I swear he says something new that surprises us every day. He’s always walking around and pointing at things and saying what they are. I have no idea where he learns some of the words he knows! He’s also starting saying two and three word phrases like “help mommy cook,” “mommy go bye bye,” and “hi daddy.” We’ve gotten to the point where we need to be careful with what we say and do around him, because he loves to copy us. Through watching us he learned how to take my chapstick and put it on (something he sees me do about a thousand times a day), yell at cars while we are driving (we really need to tone down the road rage I guess), and fake sneeze. He thinks all of these things are hilarious!

1557696_10106283292448454_9194491593676773415_n

Even though he’s learning a lot of words he still uses his signs regularly. He learned two new ones over the last couple of months- I love you and book. Other than that he probably uses the signs for more, please and help the most.

He LOVES his books. Drinking his morning smoothie while I got ready for work :)

He LOVES his books. Drinking his morning smoothie while I got ready for work 🙂

These last couple of months he has learned a ton of animal sounds, and he loves practicing them. He also likes to read animal books and do the sound of the animal when he sees it. It’s really entertaining when we are driving in the car :).

One of the coolest things to me is that he’s remembering people and their names. He can recognize his Papaw and Mamaw (Kevin’s parents), Poppy (my dad), Yaya (my sister Lauren- he can’t say that so we went for Lala and that’s what we got), Bobo (our family friend Coco), Nanny and Manda (from daycare), some of his daycare friends and of course Mommy and Daddy. He loves to call people by their names, and he even knows that his name is Kevin. If we ask him where Kevin is he will point to himself. It’s too cute!  The only thing we need to work is that he calls every runner he sees Mommy, regardless if they are a male or a female. LOL!

With Aunt Yaya at Trader Joe's where she works

With Aunt Yaya at Trader Joe’s where she works

He really blows my mind with the things he’s learning. The other day I got this picture sent to me from daycare. They were having a snack of colored goldfish and he had sorted them all by himself by color. We’ve been sorting things at home like blocks, but he’s never done it himself until now. I was so proud, and so was he!

photo 3-1

He loves music, especially dancing and singing. One night I was putting him to bed and he started singing something. I realized it was the song “Happy” and I almost fell off my chair, it was too cute. He’ll also sing and hum to the tune of the ABC song, which he learned at daycare.

10410628_10106503754760214_282122680685240403_n

We are not actively potty training, but he has shown interest in the potty and peed on it a few times now both at daycare and at home. We bought him some underwear so that he can practice wearing them, and we will sometimes put them on before bed to give him a break from the diaper. I bought Elmo ones because he is obsessed with Elmo. He doesn’t get the concept that we don’t pee in underwear quite yet so we’ve had many accidents- which is fine. I don’t want to rush anything!

Wearing his big boy underwear and practicing sitting on the potty

Wearing his big boy underwear and practicing sitting on the potty

Kevin started to get his final teeth this month- all four of his 2 year molars all the way in the back starting cutting through. I can tell mainly because he is wanting to chew (and bite) everything. Other than that though, it doesn’t seem to bother him, which is crazy because those teeth are huge! I think he is just used to it at this point. I’m so ready for a break in the teething madness!

Ice cream helps sore gums :)

Ice cream helps sore gums 🙂

He still absolutely loves going to daycare and spending time with his “nanny” and his friends. Even though I am off for the summer, I am planning to send him to daycare once a week when we are not traveling. It will give him a chance to see his friends and his nanny, and keep the familiarity so it’s not too hard for him to go back in late August. I think it will also be good for me too, because let’s face it, mommy’s going to need some time for herself! I have some trainings to do for work, and also would love to be able to take a class at at the gym during the day or meet friends for lunch. I think it will be a good thing for both of us!

10294350_1430013020584960_1420532265692243740_n

I have become very aware that Kevin is getting closer to turning two. Most of the time he is super sweet, loving and affectionate, and loves showering us with hugs and kisses. He is very independent and wants to do things for himself most of the time, like picking out his clothes, eating, and playing with certain toys.

Picked out his own outfit and he chose an Elmo bib and my race medal- LOL

Picked out his own outfit and he chose an Elmo bib and my race medal- LOL

But he also still loves doing things with us too. He loves to bring us a book and sit on our laps so we can read it to him, and he still wants to be held and rocked to sleep most of the time. When we are outside he wants to hold both mine and Kevin’s hands while he walks. I love these moments because it gives me a glimpse into the baby he used to be before he grew into a bigger, more independent little boy. I hope he does those sweet things for a long time!

10277354_10106476973485104_8740227271919963525_n

With that being said, he can flip to the dark side very quickly. With trying to be more independent, he gets frustrated and has meltdowns more easily. He does his fair share of screaming, saying NO and temper tantrums- both at home and in public. We’re trying to teach him to ask for help before he gets too frustrated, and we’re doing better at learning what triggers him so we can avoid these situations.

Our failed attempt at a Father's Day picture

Our failed attempt at a Father’s Day picture

Being outside is his favorite thing and we try to get out at least once a day. Most of the time we let him run free in our backyard or cul-de-sac, but we’ve been running and walking a lot with him in the stroller and he loves it.

10390972_10106499670220664_7674332997785108305_n 10407969_10106517012341914_5709086278142220097_n

Kevin did have one pretty bad sickness this month. He randomly developed a very high fever one day after his nap and it got all the way up to 104.3 degrees. He was very tired, warm and lethargic and it was very scary because he has never had a fever that high before. He didn’t want to eat either. I was worried because my husband had high fever seizures when he was little, so I took him to the doctor. He ended up having strep throat, which made me feel terrible because I know I brought it home from school. He went on antibiotics for it but then developed a horrible reaction and rash from the Amoxicillan, which was also scary. He has been healthy since then (knocking on wood), and I’m hoping a summer at home and away from some of those nasty germs will help!

10271545_10106361678452274_5016262765164252858_n

LOVES: books, pointing and naming things around him, balls, being outside, Elmo, trucks and cars (“beep beeps”), climbing on everything in sight, puppies and all other animals, hugging trees, being tickled, the bath, jumping on everything in sight, lollipops, music, his ‘babies’ (stuffed animals).

10174941_10106295417664424_8347432229165534929_n

photo 1-2

HATES: diaper changes, thunderstorms, being constricted for too long, being tired, the voice on the baby monitor telling him to lie down (Daddy- LOL)

What I had to do to convince him to let me change his diaper...

What I had to do to convince him to let me change his diaper…

Body

The past two months I worked hard on losing the weight I gained during marathon training this past winter.  I always gain some weight over the months of marathon training- 5 pounds or so. I don’t stress about it because I’m so hungry during training and it usually comes off once the race is over. But this time around it’s been a lot harder to lose afterwards. I had been feeling frustrated lately wondering why it was so difficult to lose only a little bit of weight. It doesn’t seem like much but on my body those pounds made my clothes fit differently and I could feel every one of them.  We stopped eating out as much (only about twice a month now) and really worked on cleaning up our diets and getting out to exercise every day. Kevin has lost 16 pounds and I’m back at my regular weight. I don’t really want to lose anymore weight now, I really want to focus on toning everything up and maintaining it.

photo 4

In other body news, I started charting my cycle again using the Fertility Awareness Method. This is what we used to conceive Kevin, and while we aren’t trying to get pregnant right now I do want to know what my body is doing in terms of ovulation and everything. My last two cycles were only 23 days, so it’s been interesting to track my fertility signs and see what’s going on. I’m hoping to get it all figured out soon so we can start thinking about baby #2 within the next year or so.

photo 1-1

Mind

The last two months have been very stressful as I finished up the school year. I stayed late at work almost every night, Kevin was coaching middle school baseball and I started working as a running coach on the side. I also did a lot of traveling and celebrating some important milestones in my friends’ lives. We celebrated a couple of holidays (Easter, Mother’s Day, Memorial Day). I’m ready for life to slow down a bit now as summer break begins!

Easter Fun!

Easter Fun!

Mother's Day

Mother’s Day

Even though summer will be a ‘break’ we are still doing a lot. We’ll be going to Myrtle Beach to visit Kevin’s family over the 4th of July, then heading across the country to visit family and see my cousin get married in Oregon a couple weeks later. I am super excited and nervous about traveling that far with little Kev! We’ll also be spending some time with my family in Pennsylvania in August. Even though we’ll be busy I’m really excited to make some special memories. Life is great right now.

photo 2-1

I love you so much my sweet big boy! It’s hard to believe you’ll be two in September!

photo 2-2

Since I did two months in one post, here are a few more pictures that I want to include to remember Kevin at this fun age.

With his cousin Austin who is 6 months younger than him

With his cousin Austin who is 6 months younger than him

Swinging with Leighton, another Bradley baby :)

Swinging with Leighton, another Bradley Method baby 🙂

Playing with his new puppet theater- a gift from a friend!

Playing with his new puppet theater- a gift from a friend!

Reading books all by himself... upside down :)

Reading books all by himself… upside down 🙂

Love that smile and those blue eyes!

Love that smile and those blue eyes!

With our Bradley Method Birth class family!

With our Bradley Method Birth class family!

Look how much I've grown!

Look how much I’ve grown!

Previous Mom & Baby posts:

2 responses to “Mom & Baby: 20/21 Months

  1. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 22 Months | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 23/24 Months | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

