Potomac River Run Half Marathon Training: Week 2

PRRlogo2009

Another week of training is officially in the books! I had some really great runs this week, including an awesome 15K race which gave me yet another PR. Since my race was on Saturday, I had to alter my normal schedule and run on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. This meant I missed being able to take the Body Pump & Body Flow classes I like to take on those days. Instead I just did a whole lot of walking on the days I didn’t run. The weather was beautiful so I just couldn’t resist.

Here is my plan with including how week 2 went!

Screen Shot 2014-04-06 at 11.34.13 PM

Monday: XT – Walking (25:00). It was a beautiful day outside, which was very much needed after a weekend full of cold temperature and rain. I couldn’t wait to get home from work and go for a walk with little Kev. He LOVES his walks!

photo 2

Tuesday: Key Run #1 – Speedwork. 6 miles in 47:31 (7:55 average pace). 6 miles of speed work before 6 AM! 1 mile warmup then ladder intervals- 400 @ 6:27 pace, 600 @ 6:31, 800 @ 6:35, 1200 @ 6:44, 800 @ 6:35, 600 @ 6:31, 400 @ 6:27, all with 400 meter recovery between, then a half mile cool down. This was the kind of workout that leaves me completely empty and on top of the world at the same time. I hit all my goal paces and it felt great!

photo 1

Wednesday: XT – Walk/Run (30:00). On this day I stayed after school for our staff running/walking club. I ran with two of my friends and we covered two miles total doing a combination of running and walking. I was really tired before we went out but felt awesome and refreshed afterwards!

photo 2

Thursday: Key Run #2 – Easy Run. 5 miles in 44:54 (8:59 average pace). I had my 15K race coming up on Saturday so rather than do my usual tempo run I did an easy run instead to save my legs for the race. I was out the door by 5 a.m. and back by 5:45. It always feels so satisfying getting my workout done before most people are awake, and it always makes the day so much better! So worth the 4:45 a.m. wake up call. It was also nice to run outside rather than the treadmill!

photo 3

Friday: XT – Walking (20:00). Another beautiful evening, another walk with the family. I am loving that the sun sets later and the temperatures are warming up so we are able to do this! On this night we walked and hunted for pinecones 🙂

photo 4

Saturday: Key Run #3 – Long Run. 9.3 miles in 1:14:25 (7:59 average pace). I already wrote a recap of the J. Brian’s Tap Room 15K, but basically I had a great race and got another PR! I really pushed myself out of my comfort zone and was able to meet my goal of keeping a sub 8 minute pace (at least according to my Garmin time).

photo 1-1

Sunday: XT – Walking (30:00). Another beautiful day. We took a family walk to the store to get a few things on Sunday evening after dinner, which felt great. When I was growing up, my family always walked around the block after dinner before bedtime. I really hope to continue this tradition with my own family.

photo 2-1

Week 2 Total:

  • Run: 20.3 miles
  • Cross Training & Strength Training: just a whole lot of walking!

Obviously I need to work on better cross-training this week. Walking is great but I really need to get into more consistent strength-training and core work. This past week threw me off because of my race on Saturday, and while I could have done some home strength training or yoga I just chose to walk instead. Starting this week I’m making it my mission to get back to Body Pump, since I’ll be back to cross-training on Tuesdays and Thursdays when they offer 5 a.m. classes at my gym. I know I need to strengthen all of my muscles and my core in order to continue to get faster and stronger.

This week’s motivation… Love. This. Quote. I feel like this has been my mission over the last 18 months!

1375276_1414236212171631_1839814843_n

Previous Weekly Recaps

3 responses to “Potomac River Run Half Marathon Training: Week 2

  1. Pingback: Potomac River Run Half Marathon Training: Week 3 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: Potomac River Run Half Marathon Training: Week 4 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: Potomac River Run Half Marathon Training: Week 5 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

