Currently

It’s been over 7 months since I’ve done a “Currently” post so I thought it was time for an updated one! Here we go!

Current book:

I have been reading Kristin Armstrong’s Mile Markers and I LOVE it. Every woman who runs need to read this book! She is so relatable and I feel like I’m on a long run with an old friend when I read it.

photo-2

Current music:

I wrote a post recently about some of my favorite running songs and that’s what I’ve been listening to on many of my runs. My favorite song on that playlist is the one below- 300 Violin Orchestra by Jorge Quintero. It’s actually an instrumental song, which I don’t normally listen to, but something about this song is SO motivating. I listened to it on repeat during the last few miles of my 20 miler last weekend.

Current guilty pleasure:

Well I don’t know if I would call this a ‘guilty’ pleasure because I don’t feel guilty about it, but I have been loving wine lately. It is just so nice to sit down with a glass (one is all I need!) after a long day when the baby is asleep. My husband is really into craft beer, so it’s nice to have a drink with him sometimes to relax and unwind together.

Current nail color:

Nothing. I am pretty boring when it comes to nails. It’s hard to keep them nicely painted when I am the mom of a toddler and also a teacher who has to wash my hands constantly to avoid yucky kindergarten germs. But this question reminded me that my Secret Santa at work got me a gift certificate to a nail salon, so I need to go get them done!!!

Current drink:

I am loving green smoothies. I got pretty sick of my standard oatmeal every day, so we’ve been having smoothies most mornings instead (even though it’s freezing outside!). Lately I have been adding almond butter to add some healthy fat, which helps me stay full for longer.

photo 1-1

Current food:

Well tonight for dinner we made pizza on naan bread, and this is how it turned out… RIP pizza 😦 Not my finest cooking moment! This was actually Kevin’s pizza, and somehow mine ended up okay. I tried to make him eat mine instead but he wouldn’t. I felt so bad!

1797462_10105965577796164_1566075358_n

Current favorite show:

Hmm… I kind of don’t want to admit this, but I love the Bachelor. It’s always full of drama, but this season has been especially controversial. Even though some of the things that have happened have bothered me, I can’t stop watching!! It’s like a car accident on the side of the road!

bachelor-juan-pablo-galavis

Current wish list:

I really want this shirt from Gone For a Run. It would be a great Valentine’s Day gift… *HINT HINT* Kevin 🙂

Screen Shot 2014-02-08 at 9.11.06 AM

Current need:

To go to bed… both of my boys have been asleep for a little while now. I’m tapering so I know sleep is more important than ever right now in order to let my body recover from training and prepare for the big race. I got a solid 9 hours last night and hopefully the boys will sleep in a bit tomorrow too!

sleep

Current indulgence:

Reese’s peanut butter cup ice cream. Kevin randomly came home with it last week and it’s SO GOOD! We just finished it last night and I’m pretty sad about it. I am trying to keep my diet clean for the next week until the race but then there will definitely be more ice cream in my future!

0007756722480_500X500

Current blessing:

All of this SNOW that we’ve had lately, which has given me many snow days to spend with my sweet boy! We’ve had 8 so far this year, plus a couple of 2 hour delays. I am grateful for every single additional day I get to spend with him instead of at work. He’s growing and changing so quickly these days and I don’t want to miss a thing.

1551579_10105777993521554_50079721_n

Current outfit:

Recently I have gotten into skinny jeans and boots. I never thought skinny jeans looked good on me, but I went shopping with my aunt and she convinced me that they did. Kevin got me an awesome pair of boots for Christmas and I have a couple other pairs as well. I am having fun experimenting with different looks!

photo

Current excitement:

I am most excited about the Myrtle Beach Marathon! We are heading there on Thursday!

Last year after the half in Myrtle Beach!

Last year after the half in Myrtle Beach!

Your turn! What are some of your current favorite things?

My previous “Currently” post – June 2013

Leave a Reply

