My 2014 Race Calendar

One of my favorite parts of beginning a new year is planning out my race schedule. Last year I wanted to run at least one race a month, but I’m taking a different approach this year. Since I have specific goals in mind, I’m being a little more selective with the races I choose and each one has a specific purpose. As you know, I will be running the Myrtle Beach Marathon in February, then I plan to step back the distance a bit and train to PR in the half marathon later this spring. After that my schedule is pretty much wide open, with the exception of a couple races that I hope to do in the summer and fall. Here is my tentative race calendar for 2014!

2/15 – Myrtle Beach Marathon (Registered). You all know about this one! It’s coming up FAST and I can’t wait! I think it will be my last full marathon for a while, so I need to make it a good one.

Screen shot 2013-12-13 at 9.12.23 PM

3/23 – Stafford Runway Runaway 5K (Registered). This is a local 5K at a small airport. It will be a little more than a month after my marathon, so I don’t expect my legs to be PR ready. I just want to enjoy a fun, flat race in the town I live in!

Screen Shot 2014-01-30 at 8.00.31 PM

4/5 – J. Brian’s Tap Room 15K (Registered). This is another local race that is new to me. I feel like I need to try the 15K distance again. My first 15K was an unorganized hot mess, and my second last year was REALLY hot and I know I can do a lot better than that. I’ll be training for a half too so it will be a good way to test my fitness. Plus there’s beer at the end! 🙂

956de6_3d1dd4b7318f3c3d22fdb345f90a58f5

5/4 – Potomac River Run Half Marathon (Registered)This is my goal half marathon race. I picked it because it’s small, flat and local. It takes place on the C & O Canal Path near Washington D.C. I really enjoy smaller races and I’m really excited to see if I can finally break my half marathon PR that I set THREE years ago!

PRRlogo2010

5/18 – Historic Half Marathon (Registration opens on 2/19)I have been wanting to do this race for a long time! It is part of the Marine Corps Marathon race series and it is in (HILLY) Fredericksburg. Two years ago I ran most of the race with my friend Amanda, who was running her first half. I wanted to do it last year but it fell on the same weekend as an out of town wedding we went to. I love Marine Corps races because they are super fun and organized. I’m looking forward to running this one with Amanda and hopefully getting her to PR!

Screen Shot 2014-01-30 at 8.46.18 PM

5/26 – Civitans 5K (Registration opens soon). I ran this race last year and really enjoyed it. It goes through historic downtown Fredericksburg on Memorial Day. This year is going to be extra special because I’ll be running “with” my husband. He declared the other day that he could beat me in a 5K, even though he hasn’t really been running lately. So I challenged him to it and this will be our goal race. He’s starting to run again next week and he’s super excited about training again. I haven’t seen him motivated to run in a while, so this should be interesting!

photo 1

5/31 – Purple Stride 5K? I really want to do this race. As I’ve talked about before, my mom passed away from Pancreatic Cancer ten years ago this April. She had 9 months from diagnosis to death, with a lot of difficulties in between including surgery, chemo, radiation, and eventually hospice. Pancreatic cancer has one of the lowest survival rates and is one of the least funded cancers, so I would love to run this to raise funds and awareness for the disease that took my mom away from me. My sister did one of the Purple Stride events last year in Philly and I want to do this one with her too. I hope it works out that we can!

Screen Shot 2014-01-30 at 9.02.29 PM

7/26 – Deschutes Dash?  We are traveling to Oregon this summer for my cousin’s wedding in Portland. Afterwards we’ll be hanging out in Bend for a week or so, which is an awesome and active town. I was looking around for any races that would be happening while we’re there and I found this one, which looks like so much fun. Kevin would love it too because he’s a HUGE fan of Deschutes Brewery (and all craft beer in general), who is sponsoring the race. There is a 5K and 10K, and some different triathlon distances too. I think it would be a lot of fun!

Screen Shot 2014-01-30 at 9.47.50 PM

10/5 – Wilson Bridge Half (Registered). I was supposed to do this half last year but it was canceled due to the government shutdown, because the course was through national parks. They rescheduled it for the same date as the OBX Marathon so I deferred to 2014. I’m looking forward to finally running this race, that was named one of the best half marathons by Runner’s World!

Screen Shot 2014-01-30 at 9.37.44 PM

10/19 – Runner’s World HalfThis is a big maybe. I really wanted to do this race last year but it didn’t work out. It’s not too far from my dad’s house in Pennsylvania and I have heard nothing but great things about this entire weekend. It would be a great half to run for fun!

Screen Shot 2014-01-30 at 9.40.21 PM

Since I’ve trained hard basically all of 2013 and will be for half of 2014 as well to PR in the full and the half marathon, I really want to take the second half of the year to run shorter races for fun. I plan to add more of those in later as the year progresses. I’m excited for what’s ahead!

Anyone out there doing any of these races? Or are there any I should add to my calendar? I’d love to connect with you!

2 responses to “My 2014 Race Calendar

  1. Looks like you’ve got a fun year ahead of you! 🙂 I’m planning to register for the Historic Half for my first 1/2 marathon. Friends who’ve done it say it’s a good one to do first, especially living in Fredericksburg. I’m a little scared of Hospital Hill, but I’m told as long as I run it a few times during my training I should be fine. I ran it once at the end of a four-mile run and it wasn’t bad but I’m sure by Mile 11 or so it will be much harder! I have a personal trainer (the best Christmas present ever, IMHO!) and I’m thinking she might encourage me to do the J Brian’s Tap Room 15K as part of my training. I ran my first 15K two weeks ago and despite the fact that I was slower than most, she says my time was great for a beginner, and maybe I can try for a PR in that one. I haven’t registered for any other races except the Sweethearts 4 Miler next weekend (they’re calling for snow–yikes), and I’ve had my eye on several this spring I would love to do; with three teenage boys we have a busy schedule and I know it’s going to be hard to pick and choose! Good luck with the Myrtle Beach marathon!!

    • I was hoping you would comment since you’re local!! I’m excited that we might be running some of the same races. I haven’t officially run the Historic Half but I’ve run the course in training before, including Hospital Hill. It won’t be bad if you train on it. Don’t worry! I think a 15K would be an awesome way to prep for the half too, to gauge how your training is going.

Leave a Reply

