Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 7

Screen shot 2013-12-13 at 9.12.23 PM

Here we go on the roller coaster again. This week brought with it a lot of challenges that I couldn’t control, mainly due to winter weather and a trip we were taking over the weekend. I had to do my runs on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday because of our weekend travel, which meant I had to cross-train on Wednesday and Friday and missed my Body Pump classes. I had to get to a bit creative and my workouts didn’t all go as planned, but it’s all good now. Read on for details!

Here is how the week went.

Screen Shot 2014-01-29 at 9.48.34 PM

Monday: XT – Body Flow (1:00:00). I couldn’t wait another week to go back to Body Flow so I went the day after my long run. It felt AMAZING! My favorite part is the relaxation section at the end, where we literally just lay there, meditate, and relax every part of our bodies. I think I’m addicted!

photo 2-1

Tuesday: Key Run #1 – 6.25 miles in 52:48 (8:27 average pace). We had a snow day so I went to the gym early to get my run in before the storm hit. Normally this is a cross-training day but I did my run instead because of our travel plans. I had speedwork to do- 10 x 400 @ 6:40 pace (that’s 9.0 on the treadmill!) with 400 meter recovery. When I started my legs still felt tired from my long run on Sunday, and also since I did this run a day earlier than I usually do. After the first repeat I really didn’t think I would be able to do all 10 at that pace, but somehow I did. A quarter mile doesn’t seem like much but it is when you are practically sprinting. I was really proud for doing them all at my goal pace!

photo 1

On my drive home… the snow was coming!

Wednesday: XT – At-Home Strength Workout (30:00). Since I was going to miss my Body Pump classes this week I really wanted to get some type of strength workout in. I was stuck inside due to yet another snow day, so I couldn’t get to the gym either. I decided to do an at-home strength workout and basically followed the order of class, doing various exercises to work all of my major muscle groups (squats, chest, back, biceps, triceps, lunges, shoulders, abs). I did some planks too and brought my new record to 1 minute and 27 seconds. It definitely wasn’t as good of a workout as Body Pump would’ve been, but better than nothing I guess.

photo 3-1

Thursday: Key Run #2 – Tempo Run. 8 miles in 1:06:14 (8:17 average pace). Another snow day, so I did my 8 mile tempo run on the treadmill in the evening when Kevin got home from work (it was too icy to drive in the morning). I don’t mind snow, but I don’t mess with ice! My goal was to run at “marathon pace”, which was 8:22/mile. I ended up finishing at an 8:16 pace, and it actually felt good thanks to my new shoes. I really needed them!

photo 2

Friday: Stretching. My plan was to do some cross-training this day, but another icy morning meant I couldn’t drive to the gym, and we traveled to visit my family in Pennsylvania after work. The only activity I really did besides teaching was a few stretches once we arrived in PA. My muscles were super tight after sitting in the car for a while so it felt good to stretch them out for a few minutes before bed.

Saturday: Key Run #3 – Long Run (CUT SHORT). 3 miles in 28:17 (9:26 average pace). This was supposed to be my 20 miler and the peak of my training before beginning my 3 week taper. Where my dad lives in PA got a lot more snow and ice than we did, but I underestimated how the roads would be. They’re used to that kind of weather there, so I assumed the sidewalks and roads would be treated and fine. Well, I made it 3 miles before calling it quits. As runners, there’s a fine line between knowing when to push through and when to call it a day. The roads just were not safe to run on- the sidewalks and back roads were sheets of ice and the main roads had no shoulder due to the plows pushing the snow there. I was running super slow and terrified the whole time, and it wasn’t worth risking injury. I also had some other signs that I should stop: my phone dying out of nowhere (it was at 85% when I left the house), the tube to my Camelbak froze and it started snowing more (and sticking!). Strangely, when I made the decision to stop I wasn’t mad or upset. I knew it was the right choice and there wasn’t much I could do about it. I considered my options, which were 1) do 17 more on my dad’s treadmill (NO thank you- plus I didn’t bring any light running clothes, only winter gear), 2) try again the next day when we went back to Virginia, or 3) call this week a cutback week and do my 20 miler next weekend. I ended up going with option 3. I haven’t had a cutback week at all this training cycle so I knew it wouldn’t be the worst thing, and I felt like my body really needed it after 7 very challenging weeks of training.

photo 3

Sunday: SNOW! So I know this doesn’t really count as official cross-training, but we went outside with Kevin while he played in the snow for the first time ever and had a BLAST! It was so much fun and made me really happy.  Chasing him around was like a mini-workout, so I’m counting it towards my 365 days of fitness :).

photo 1-1

Week 7 Total:

  • Run: 17.25 miles
  • Cross-Training & Strength-Training: 1 Body Flow class, 1 at-home strength workout, stretching and playing in the snow!

Even though this week wasn’t my ideal “peak week” I am at peace with it. Like I said, I think my body really needed a break anyway. This is the first time ever that I’ve only had a 2 week taper, but I will be okay. I’m going to take it a little easier during those last 2 weeks just to give my legs a break and make sure they’re fresh and ready to go on race day! Right now I’m focusing on this weekend’s 20 miler, and really hoping I get the confidence boosting run that I need before this marathon!

Love this quote of the week. Every run- good or bad- teaches me something and adds to my physical and/or mental strength. Stronger than yesterday!

photo

My pictures were taken with the FitSnap app- check it out!

2 responses to “Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 7

  1. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 8 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 9 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

