WIAW: Snow Day!

I have been wanting to do a “What I Ate Wednesday” post for a while now, but I always remember when it’s too late and I’ve already eaten a bunch of food. Today I had another snow day (I haven’t been to school since last Friday- and we are off tomorrow too!) so I decided today would be the perfect day.

This is more of a what WE ate post, since I was able to spend the whole day with my sweet boy. The temperatures were below zero so we just hung out inside in our PJs all day and kept things low-key. Life has been pretty crazy lately so this was the BEST kind of day and just what I needed.

Here is what we ate today!

Breakfast

I went downstairs to start making breakfast while little Kevin was still asleep. I decided to make a big batch of pancakes, some for him to eat today and some to freeze. We love to cheat and use the Kodiak Cake pancake mix. They are whole grain, have a short list of ingredients and all you have to do is add water. Best of all, they really taste homemade! I also had some coffee while I made the pancakes.

photo 1-2 photo 2-2

While I finished up the pancakes little Kevin woke up. My husband Kevin went up to get him and brought him down before he left for work. He immediately said, “yum yum” when he saw the pancakes- he loves them! He ate almost 2, and I froze 8 more for later. He also had a cup of whole milk.

photo 3-2 photo 4-1

While he ate his pancakes I made a green smoothie. I have been loving having these for breakfast lately! I made a little extra so Kevin could have some too. He’s really been enjoying green smoothies too, which makes me so happy!

photo 1-1

photo 2

We brought our smoothies into the living room to drink them and relax. After playing for a while it was time for Kevin’s nap. I brought him upstairs, rocked him for a few minutes and put him down. Once he was asleep I went back to the kitchen to make part 2 of my breakfast: peanut butter and honey toast with 2 hard boiled eggs. I’ve been really trying to front load my day with more calories so that I’m not so hungry at night. I’m also making sure to get a lot of protein. It has definitely helped.

photo 3

After eating I decided to roast some chickpeas for us to have later. I used a recipe for Tamari Roasted Chickpeas from the cookbook Eat, Drink and Be Vegan. You can find the recipe here. My whole family loves these chickpeas. We use them in wraps, salads, pasta, stir fries, or just as a snack.

photo 1

Morning Snack

Since I ate my “second” breakfast kind of late, I wasn’t hungry for a morning snack. Kevin always eats one though, and when he woke up from his nap I gave him the rest of his green smoothie. While drinking it he stared longingly at the snow outside. He’s been sick this week though, so I didn’t think it was best to take him out in sub-zero temperatures. Instead I decided to bring the snow into him! He LOVED it! He did eat some of it too, so I guess it counts for WIAW :).

1013453_10105876792437734_1405969634_n 1497160_10105876793241124_1081647221_n

Lunch

Kevin loves PB & J, so I made him a half of a sandwich for lunch, with some mandarin orange and a cheese stick on the side. He also had some more milk. Basically 4 of his favorite foods. He was in heaven! He ate all the oranges and cheese, and left a few bites of his sandwich (mainly the crust). I was so happy to see him eat so much. He hasn’t had much of an appetite since he has been sick!

photo 2-1 photo 3-1

While Kevin ate I made my own lunch- a big spinach salad with onion, bell pepper, carrots, avocado, and chickpeas. I used a Zesty Lime Vinaigrette dressing by Kraft, which I really like!

photo 4

Afternoon Snack

When Kevin woke up from his second nap he snacked on some roasted chickpeas. I had a Cashew Cookie Larabar.

photo 1-3 photo

Dinner

Later on while making dinner, I snacked on some leftover cornbread from dinner the night before. I gave Kevin a few bites too. Is there anything better than warm cornbread with butter? Mmmmmm.

photo 2-3

For dinner tonight we were having homemade black bean burgers again (recipe can be found in this post). I ended up having enough to make 4 adult-sized patties and 1 kid-sized. We had the burgers on whole wheat buns with sautéed veggies on the side. When I made our meal plan for the week we actually planned to grill all of this, but then the snowstorm and freezing temperatures came so we cooked it all inside instead.

photo 3-3 photo 4-2

Little Kevin had his own black bean burger, some veggies and corn. He didn’t eat as much as he did at breakfast and lunch, but that’s okay- he still got a lot of good food in today!

photo 5

Late-Night Snack

After putting the baby to bed I did an at-home strength training workout, basically replicating a bunch of Body Pump moves and trying to hit all areas of my body. After finishing I felt a little hungry, and since I hate going to bed with a growling stomach I had a small bowl of cereal. It hit the spot! I think I’ve had cereal for my late-night snack in every WIAW I’ve ever done… haha! I really don’t eat it every single night though.

photo 6

And that’s what we ate today! I had such a fun, relaxing day with my boy, and tomorrow we get to do it all over again! Woo hoo!

2 responses to “WIAW: Snow Day!

  1. do you peel off the mandarin for Kevin?

  2. Pingback: 2014: A Year in Review | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

