Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 6

Screen shot 2013-12-13 at 9.12.23 PM

Like I said last week, marathon training is such a roller coaster. After a few downs in week 5 I’m back on top in week 6! Whew, what a crazy ride.

Screen Shot 2014-01-20 at 8.12.56 AM

Here is how the week went.

Monday: Plank work. Because of my 365 Days of Fitness challenge I am trying to be active in some way each day, even on my ‘rest’ days. On this night I decided to work on my planks while watching TV during commercials. I have been working to get my core strength back after baby and it has been rough. When I first started I could barely hold a plank for 10 seconds… sad but true. On this night I did a few, but my best time was 1 minute and 16 seconds- with good form the whole time (I had Kevin checking and timing me). Progress!!!

photo 1

Tuesday: XT – Body Pump (1:00:00). I made it to Body Pump at 5 a.m.! Even after staying up late to watch the Bachelor and drinking a (large) glass of wine! It’s a miracle. It was an awesome class. I really challenged myself and I felt strong. It feels so good to be consistently strength training again. It’s been 6 weeks now that I’ve gone 1-2x a week and I love it!

photo 2-1

Wednesday: Key Run #1 – Speedwork. 5 miles in 40:53 (8:11 average pace). On my plan for speedwork this week was a mile repeat workout that I did during week 2 of training: 1 mile warm up, 3 x 1 mile with .25 mile recovery between, cool down. My goal for the miles was under 7:22 and I did them all in 7:19. This is a workout that I couldn’t complete 4 weeks ago. I only did two repeats at that time and had to stop early. It definitely wasn’t easy this time but I felt a lot stronger. I was dripping with sweat at the end. Yeah!!!

photo 2

Thursday: XT – Body Pump (1:00:00). My second 5 a.m. Body Pump class this week. It’s so hard to get up when the clock says 4 something, but so worth it to have my evenings back again! I also love the energy boost that morning exercise gives me during the day!

photo 1-1

Friday: Key Run #2 – Tempo Run. 10 miles in 1:22:23 (8:14 average pace). When I saw that this week’s tempo run called for 10 miles at an 8:22 pace, I laughed and figured I would have to change it up. 10 miles before work at that pace? No way could I do that! But then I started to think that I could. Why was I limiting myself? I had to at least try. So I got myself to bed before 9 and set my alarm for 4 a.m. I got up, had some quick coffee and a piece of toast with peanut butter and honey, and headed out. I ended up blowing my expectations out of the water and had one of my strongest runs ever. I even beat my goal pace by 8 seconds per mile, finished at an average pace of 8:14. This run was actually only a minute and 10 seconds slower than my 10 mile PR! I have just started to learn that I need to BELIEVE I can do hard things and not underestimate myself!

photo 3

Saturday: Body Flow (1:00:00). I decided to try a new class called Body Flow. It’s a combination of tai chi, yoga, and pilates in a low lit studio with nice music, and I absolutely LOVED it! I can’t remember the last time my body felt this balanced, stretched, and relaxed. I can’t wait to go back!

photo 4

Sunday: Key Run #3 – Long Run. 18 miles in 2:55:02 (9:43 average pace). My friend asked me to run with her during her long run of 11 miles. I had to do 18 so I did 5 before, 11 more with her and 2 after she left. I was going to do all 7 miles before but I ran out of time. My plan said to do my 18 miles at MP +15, but since I had a great 10 miler at marathon pace on Friday I wasn’t too worried about the pace of this run. I just went with my friend’s pace and enjoyed myself. It was her longest run to date and she did an awesome job on a hilly route. She will be running her first half marathon in Myrtle Beach while I run the full! While running I kept thinking of Meg Menzies, and dedicated my 18 miles to her. I saw a beautiful sunrise during the first solo portion of the run, and it made me teary eyed when I thought of her and how she’ll never get to experience the magic of running while the sun comes up again. When I got home I immediately gave my baby a big hug too. It’s just so heartbreaking, and a good reminder to never take anything for granted.

photo 5

Week 6 Total:

  • Run: 33 miles
  • Cross-Training & Strength-Training: 2 Body Pump classes, 1 Body Flow class

I am so happy to have had such a great, confidence boosting week. I also met my goal to get up in the morning to do my workouts, rather than saving them for the evening.  It wasn’t easy but I think it made a huge difference in the quality of my workouts, my energy levels throughout the day, and how well I slept at night. I hope to continue this over the next weeks too. Another goal that I finally accomplished was getting to a yoga class! It felt so amazing and I NEED to make it part of my routine! It’s hard to believe that next week is my peak week already. I have my 20 miler and then it’s taper time. Less than a month until I run marathon #9!

Thought for the week… this is what motivated me to attempt the tempo run I thought I couldn’t do on Friday.

1545749_651576118218593_98611297_n

My pictures were taken with the FitSnap app- check it out!

5 responses to “Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 6

  1. congrats on a great week, I love reading your weekly marathon updates! I’m living through you as I am 20 weeks prego with baby#2 and I miss training!!

    • Thank you so much!! I mostly write them so that I have a record of training for myself, so it’s great to hear that someone else enjoys reading them too. I remember reading about other people’s training when I was pregnant and daydreaming about doing it again- it will come soon enough and you’ll be even better than you were!! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 7 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 8 | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 9 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

