Day in the Life with a 15 Month Old

Kevin will turn 16 months on Sunday and I’ve been meaning to write this post for weeks now! I actually took these pictures and recorded what we did on Sunday, December 29th.  I just haven’t had time to sit down and put it together. Better late than never though! Here’s how a day in our life went when Kevin was 15 1/2 months old during my Winter Break.

6:50 a.m. Baby wakes up and starts talking to himself. We give it a few minutes then Kevin goes to get him and changes his diaper. I nurse him and we all snuggle in bed for a while.

7:30 a.m. We head downstairs to have breakfast. I make pancakes for baby Kevin and he has them with banana and milk. Three of his favorite foods! My husband Kevin has a green smoothie and I drink some coffee.

photo 2

8:15 a.m. Playtime in the living room. I try to figure out when I want to run.  It’s raining really hard outside, to the point where there are huge puddles covering the ground. I am not sure if I want to wait it out so that I can run outside or do my 12 miles on the dreadmill. I also woke up with a little cold, so I’m thinking it’s not best to run outside in that.

photo 1   photo 2-1

8:30 a.m. I finally decide to run earlier rather than later, so I make myself a small breakfast of of peanut butter & honey toast. I’m trying to get away from eating energy bars before long runs and instead eating more “real” food. I was just getting really sick of them and wanted a change. I’m loving it so far!

9:00 a.m. It’s naptime for baby, so I take him upstairs and change his diaper. Daddy rocks him and puts him down.

9:15 a.m. He is asleep. I fold laundry and get dressed to run while letting my food digest a bit.

10:05 a.m. I arrive at the gym and start running. It is TOUGH. Treadmill runs (especially long ones) always test me mentally and physically. I didn’t feel great and had a hard time keeping my goal pace. It didn’t help that I was next to a guy who was wearing sweatpants, a sweatshirt (with the hood up) and a winter hat. He was sweating up a storm and smelled soooooooo bad. It made my stomach turn.

Crazy man

Crazy man

Meanwhile, back at home… Kevin got up from his nap at 10:15, had a cheese stick for a snack, made a fort with daddy, got a diaper change, and played. 

photo 1-2

12:20 p.m. I arrive back home after finishing my 12 miles in 1:47:55, cooling down and stretching for a bit. Because my husband is awesome and knew I had a tough run, he had a delicious smoothie waiting for me when I got home. I relaxed while drinking it and spent some time with the baby while he ate lunch. He had a PB&J with mandarin oranges and more milk.

photo 4   photo 1-1

12:50 p.m. I take Kevin upstairs, change his diaper, and rock him for a bit before his second nap.

1:05 p.m. I put Kevin down in his crib and he falls asleep right away. I hop in the shower.

photo 1-3

1:30 p.m. I go back downstairs, have a snack of hard boiled eggs and play around on my new computer a little bit. Then I use my stick roller on my legs and read some of my new book Mile Markers. Love it!

photo 3-1

2:20 p.m. Kevin tells me it’s happy hour :).

photo 4-1

3:15 p.m. Kevin’s awake so we go up to get him. After a diaper change we go back downstairs and give him a snack- yogurt and some crackers.

3:40 p.m. On weekends this is normally when we would go outside or run an errand, since we have a longer stretch between his nap and dinner time. However, the weather is still terrible so we’re stuck inside. We resort to more fort building (Kevin’s new favorite thing), playing in his new kitchen, and watching a movie.

Inside our fort

Inside our fort

5:40 p.m. We have dinner. We decide to order Chinese since we haven’t had it in months! I have veggies with garlic sauce. It is sooooo yummy.

photo 2-2

6:45 p.m. Daddy and Kevin take a bath together (LOL at this picture- He’s was watching a “very important football game on the IPad) and we get him ready for bed.

photo 5-1

7;10 p.m. I nurse Kevin. He is on and off with nursing- sometimes he nurses forever and sometimes he’s only on for a couple minutes. I know our time is probably going to end soon so I really try to soak up the moment and enjoy it while it lasts.

7:40 p.m. I put him down in his crib and he’s out instantly. I go downstairs to plan our meals for the week and make a grocery list. I also write a blog post and have some peanut butter pretzels as a snack.

photo 2-3

9:10 p.m.  I am TIRED. My long run took a lot out of me. I head up to bed and read for a little bit.

10:10 p.m. We sleep!

7:00 a.m. Baby wakes up at 7:00 on the dot, after almost 9 glorious hours of uninterrupted sleep… ahhh, it feels so good! Especially since I’m still on Winter Break and don’t have to go to work. Another day begins…

 

24 Hour Totals

  • # of feedings: nursed 2x (AM + PM) + 3 meals & 2 snacks, about 16 oz. of whole milk
  • # of diaper changes: 6
  • # of outfit changes: 1 (He wore PJs all day- oops. He only changed into a new pair at bedtime)
  • # of hours of sleep for mom: ~9 hours… YAY!
  • # of hours of sleep for baby: ~14 hours (3 hours daytime + ~11 hours nighttime)
  • # of hours spent nursing: ~ 45 minutes
  • # of hours spent pumping: ZERO.
  • # of formula ounces eaten: ZERO.
  • # of breast milk ounces eaten: Whatever little bit he had directly from me. He’s mostly comfort nursing at this point I think.

Previous “Day in the Life” posts:

7 responses to “Day in the Life with a 15 Month Old

  1. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 16 Month Old (A Picture an Hour!) | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 17 Month Old (A Picture an Hour!) | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 18 Month Old | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 19 Month Old | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 21 Month Old: Summer Break! | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 22 Month Old | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 2 Year Old | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

